We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome food...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Priyamali Gedara

Priyamali Gedara
1595 Bandiwewa | Jayanthipura, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Polonnaruwa
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply awesome food...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I visited this place twice with my whole family for dinner. The food was awesome and the “Priyamali Gedara” family members were very busy running around making sure everyone was happy. I love this place most of all because of the incredible flavor with natural ingredients as well. Highly recommend for both locals and foreigners.

Located just inside the village. If you want to locate the exact place, use this Latitude and Longitude combination (Ex. Google Map) 7.9669500, 80.9804200

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    14
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great traditional sri lankan lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you have time then come here for lunch. Traditional home cooking in a fabulous outdoor setting. Good selection of dishes in a buffet. Lots of food and the family kept asking if we wanted more. Try the curd desert with honey, made from buffalo milk. The family are very friendly and welcoming. At 700 rupees it is great value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We and our party had an authentic home cooked meal; which we helped with cooking which was thrilling for the kids with us. the food was served on lotus leaves and we ate with our hands. the family were welcoming and showed us a glimpse of how it is to live and eat in Sri Lanka. the food was really good and the kids all tried something. we enjoyed it very much

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Really nice Sri Lankan food in beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My tour-guide Dushan took me there after we visited the the ancient Polonnaruwa and it was awesome. The traditional Sri lankan food was served in lotus leaf was very delicious. The atmosphere was very familiar. After the invitation for a tea we enjoyed the view of the rice fields. It was a nice experience and I hope I can visit them again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Sri Lankan Lunch Overlooking Paddy Fields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a lovely experience, eating outdoors in a traditional style at this unique small family run restaurant. There is no menu, instead you are presented with a large selection of freshly prepared cooked Sri Lankan food, more than you can possibly eat. You help yourself to the food and enjoy it on banana leaf plates. The premises and toilets are very clean. This kind of experience may not be suitable for young children or those unwilling to try something different. This was exceptionally good value for money and a true authentic experience created by a lovely welcoming family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Priyamali Gedara also viewed

Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
Polonnaruwa, North Central Province
 

Been to Priyamali Gedara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priyamali Gedara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.