We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Samagi Guest House & Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Samagi Guest House & Cottage to your Saves list
Samagi Guest House & Cottage
49 Lakeview Garden, Church Road, Polonnaruwa 00000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We waited over 30 minutes for the owner to arrive and show us the guest house. When he finally showed up,we said "hello" and the owner said nothing! He proceeded to open the room door and the first thing I noticed was that the room was very small and very dark. There were only two beds,no table,no chairs,no nightstand,no kitchen and no room to move around. When I politely asked about the kitchen,because most guest houses come with a kitchen,he became very aggressive,started yelling and screaming at the top of his voice telling me that I only paid $40 and for that price he will never provide a kitchen. We were appalled by his behavior. We felt that it was strange,rude and unacceptable.
On top of it all,the room was full of ants and there is a big wall next to the window. NO LIGHT! Like a jail cell!!
The shared bathroom had ants and cockroaches.If you want to enjoy yourself and don't want to feel like you're being punished,then avoid this place! The owner is vile,spiteful and the room was despicable!! HE'S THE WORST!!!! Don't waste your money and wreck your harmony.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
This review is NOT related with our guest house.

To.a guest
It seems you've mistaken.
Such an incident has not occurred at our guest house.
Please confirm again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The rooms are located in a cottage 5 minutes’ drive away from the main street. The rooms and bathrooms were large and very clean. The location is very quiet. Attached to the cottage, there is a nice private garden. The food served is nice (lunch and breakfast) and cheap. The landlord is very helpful. Jeeps and bicycles can be rented from the guesthouse to go and visit the Polonnaruwa sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad to hear you've enjoed our stay.
Your compliment gave our staffs and I many power to work.
We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went to this place on 23rd December with few of my friends and had experienced the worst service I have ever got in my traveling life after paying considerable amount of money to this place .specially the person who owns this place dose not posses any idea of how treating their guests .he is most of the time unreachable for the people who have booked this place .always we had to wait for long time if we request anything ,food was terrible ,bed tea was the worst .nothing were systemize here .no proper booking method that they have .they got confused with the date after reserving the place by paying in advance .funniest thing was that when we were about to off to this place we had called these people and they said that the booking was placed in November 23rd not the December 23rd .how come they go wrong in this way .do these people have any proper system for booking where people will not be misled ??finally people end up with unnecessary argument which is really embarrassing .Specially i want to warn people if they have any idea of going to this place since the owner who is named (Manju ) is totally a crook .we should not let him to cheat people in this way .he kept our advance payment which we forgot to deduct while settling the final bill and he promised to send the money back .Rs 5000 is not a big thing but people should have ethical behaviors when running a guest house .specially he caters to the foreigners and I feel sorry about the people who would go to this place in future .i highly recommend people to not to go to this place since it is not a good place to stay and it is not worth while at all for the money that you pay . Be careful if anyone has an intention to go to this place. don’t get you money and time ruined by making a wrong decision to go to this place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
This is NOT a fair review.
This local guest canceled one night on the day to stay, that's why we did not repay based on the cancellation policy.
It is very regrettable as a same Sri Lankan that you put a negative review intentionally with your anger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

DON,T EVER go to samagi villa polonnaruwa.Most unpleasant experience with samagi villa and manju(owner) the main man in the episode i paid required advance of Rs.5000/= one and half months prior to our departure.Bookd form 24th Dec to 27th Dec i Kept checking with manju at samagi villa and was advised that everything was under control.I called on the morning of 22nd Dec and manju informed there was a problem due to an online booking and we could stay two night.He said he would put us at another place, We proceeded to samagi villa Stayed 2 nights and opted to leave as we were tatally dissatisfied service was NIL, food was horrible and never on time.

One of two chinese ladies in the villa opposite came knocking on our door asking what to do, they did not even have Water in their room and manju could not be cantacted....

I forgot the adavance i had paid and settled the whole bill. While going ,i remembered the advance and called manju.He said to send my bank a/c number,he would bank the money.I waited for one week nothing came . I then sent someone personally on four occasions to manju'shome for the money. On each occasion manju avoided him. Once he was asked to come at 6.30am he went ,but manju was missing.

No advance upto date and unable cantact manju. His phone not answered my number now.This CON MAN must not be allowed to TRICK innocent people and foreigners must be warned about him.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
This is NOT a fair review.
This local guests canceled one night on the day to stay, that's why we did not repay based on the cancellation policy. Morever they booked earlier on Nov but it was no show without notice. I never promised to payback.
It is very regrettable as a same Sri Lankan that you put a negative review intentionally with your anger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We arrived in Polonnaruwa off the bus at 10pm: tired, hungry and nowhere to sleep.
Unbeknown to us, the bus conductor had called ahead to Manjula, who pounced on us as we decended the bus. Given our lack of options, we agreed to look at the room (agreed a rate of 1500) and if we did not like it he would tuk tuk us back to town.
I have to say the standard of the bungalow is excellent: the most westernised place we stayed all trip, with excellent beds, towels etc. We had the place to ourselves and it was heavenly!

We were too late for dinner but they brought us a fruit plate (450) and two beers (350 each)
Next day we hired bikes: Possibly the crapper ones from his collection of 500... (350 each)
The most important thing to note is no matter what bargain price you agree, any services you partake of during your stay will incur the 10% service charge.This is the one and only time this happened throughout our trip.
The owner (Manjula) was very welcoming, but unlike anyone I had come across on our trip, we found him to be rather intense and having now read some other reviews, I am not the only one!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review.
10% is a service charge and tax by Sri Lankan government. This is legal.
It was our fault not to expalin in advance well.
Unfortunately, the different contents from tha fact is included in a review.
We are trying to reply the view of our guest house as much as possible for the guest's better understanding. It is happy for us that guest can judge the review correctly as well as they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a had a huge bungalow with three rooms for ourselves. It was clean and modern, just the cable TV wasn´t working but it wasn´t important to us (we were offered to move but we didn´t want to). The dinner was very nice, rice and curry, but the breakfast was disappointing for the price it costs.
The owner tries to provide an excellent service but for us he was too pushy. We didn´t feel comfortable with his permanent offers like ayurvedic massage, special places in the area and so on. In the evening while we had dinner he entered the bungalow without knocking at the door before which is an absolutely no go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review.
It will be useful for the future better improvement in service.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed there for a single night after visiting archeological site. We were the only guests in three-bedroom villa. The building is brand new, very clean, with good spacious bathroom, well-equipped living room with TV, the kitchen was under construction.

We had great dinner: rotti and avocado salad were delicious. Breakfast was very good and well served - one of the best during our journey (3 weeks). We also took the ayurvedic massage offered by the owner and it was interesting experience (note: massage center is 20 mins drive away from hotel)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samagivillasafari, オーナー at Samagi Guest House & Cottage, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We are very glad to hear you've enjoed our meal and stay.
Avocado and Mango Salad is very popular dish loved by many guests.
Especially, mango is very good season at your visit. So it makes salad more deliciaus one.
We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samagi Guest House & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samagi Guest House & Cottage

Address: 49 Lakeview Garden, Church Road, Polonnaruwa 00000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cottage offers more individual accommodation for up to 8-10 persons and contains 2or3 bedrooms with two single size beds (2 persons), a living room with sofa and 42"LCD-TV and Internet, a dining area with table and chairs, a fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom with hot shower. All rooms has AC and fan. Everything is very new build in 2012/March. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Samagi Guest House & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samagi Guest House & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.