We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Citadel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch at Citadel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been waiting to visit this hotel for sometime. Due to the facts i have gathered through the internet this place was once owned by a kandyan chief. When Last King Sri Wickrama Rajasinghe did the official visits to various location this was a stopover and he used bathe in Mahaweli river. That itself has attracted me. Apart from the ancient value , as usual Cinnamon hotels are well known for scrumptious food and warm hospitality. The scenic beauty of Mahaweli river was a soothing experience.

One thing i would like to suggest is that to change the uniform of male staff and some of them can be bit more friendly and professional when dealing with the customers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor following your recent visit to cinnamon citadel Kandy.
It was so nice to read your lovely comments on our history, Location & food. Thank you once again & we look forward to see you again for stay over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    584
    158
    45
    29
See reviews for
323
702
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed two nights as part of a tour of a Hayes and Jarvis Classic Tour package. Well appointed hotel by the river, a little out of town but an adventurous Tuc Tuc ride at £2.50 each way soon gets you into the heart of the city.
Staff were good, food very good (variety and standard)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality.
Guest satisfaction is our main goal at citadel. While thanking you again for your comments we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August. It's a lovely hotel but needs to improve . The hotel is by the river and mosquito s are in abundance here so having a good mosquito repellent is a must. Maybe the hotel could do more about this problem with repellent sprays and smoking in the mornings and evenings. We travelled around Sri Lanka and stayed in 4 hotels on our trip and this was the only hotel I was bitten in.
The hotel was quite noisy . In the morning the staff cleaning the rooms were about early which is understandable but they are contacted but telephones which when it rings is loud and wakes the guests up. The room was really clean and this was done twice a day thre cleaning staff made an effort.
The restaurant was lovely but there was again room for improvment. On the first morning I asked for decaff coffee and was told they didn't have any as I have a medical problem and cant have normal coffee this was a huge disapointment at breakfast time. There was decaff coffee the next morning but there seemed to be a lot of chatting between staff about it and it took 30 minutes to get the coffee this carried on for the rest of our stay. The food was good but the staff in the restaurant seemed to be clickig their heels when there was jobs to be done, with customers waiting with requests. On our last morning the staff were very attentive in fact it was over powering and not genuine then we got handed a guest questionnaire. Nice hotel but need improvment.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room its a lovely view with the river and jungle in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your constructive & honest feedback following your recent stay at our resort.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Concerns areas were discussed lengthy and action had taken on the spot.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel although unable to make the most of the facilities as we were out and about all day - when we did have time to relax by the lovely pool a tropical rainstorm ensued! Room was comfortable and well equipped, free wifi was available and the air conditioning was good. One gripe would be the lack of a lift down to the lower floors - I pitied the poor staff member who had to carry my very heavy cases up the two flights of stairs! Food was excellent - an air conditioned room for the salads and desserts and a wide range of choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lift access and better views - try to get one overlooking the pool area/ river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at cinnamon Citadel Kandy.

I and the entire team were very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the pool, the food and most of all the personalized service of our team.

It would be our honor to have you back with us for another memorable experience at Citadel. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance in setting up your next trip to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had 2 nights here. Our rooms were really nice, with a lovely view over the river and the pool. Food was lovely, although the restaurant did get very busy. Had a great fridge room to keep the salad etc fresh. Pool area was pleasant and worth a visit. We did a load of washing whilst we were here, it was a good price and the service was very efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Thank you for your comments on food & location.
Please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higher Kinnerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Good location for visiting the Pinnawela Elephants, Tea Plantation (but the best one is 40km away), Spice Gardens, Temple of the Tooth, Royal Botanical Gardens, Haymachandra Gem Factory plus others.

We stayed for 1 night at the end of July just before the start of the Perahera Festival in Kandy.

The hotel was very nice but had the feel of a stop-over hotel with a lot of people moving around checking in and out. We put this down to the fact that it was the start of the festival. The food was very good with a wide selection including curries (of course!). We were told that due to the Perahera no alcohol would be served for the next 10 days which was OK for us as we were checking out in the morning but we did wonder if the other guests staying longer actually knew about this at the time of booking.

Very unfortunately we had a problem with our room. We had a bad infestation of ants prompting us to ask for another room – they were in many places including in the bed and on the pillows. There was also a massive beetle which was really quite scary. We were told that the hotel was fully booked so we had to rely on housekeeping to deal with them. Housekeeping did his best with sprays etc. (even he flinched at the beetle) but it was past 10:30pm before we could settle for the night in the fog of insecticide. When we checked out we explained this to reception expecting an explanation or apology but there was none as if ant infestations are the norm. OK, the room is on the edge of the river and perhaps you should occasionally expect problems like this but the hotel should have dealt with the ants before we checked in. I always give hotels the chance to comment or explain before including negative aspects of my stay in any review but in this case there was no concern shown hence my dissatisfaction.

To conclude, a good hotel only let down by lack of concern to what most of us would see as a serious problem.

Room Tip: High floor room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. Constructive criticism is always appreciated as it helps us to better our product and service offerings, so we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us.
Concerning the issue with regard to the ants we have already taken necessary steps to avoid such issues by undertaking the routine pest control, will certainly be considered as areas of improvement. Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our resort for a more memorable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stunning riverside location overlooking the jungle/rainforest. The sound of birds calling was beautiful. We took a 1 hour boat trip for around £20 for four of us using the hotel's boat. We really enjoyed seeing the life along the river - human, birds, animals and vegetation. We saw monitor lizards, kingfishers, cormorants and fruit bats which were hanging from trees. A highlight of our trip was sitting on our balcony watching the fruit bats fly along the river at dusk - this spectacle went on for over half an hour. Thousands of huge fruit bats soared above us - a unique experience for us all.
The hotel rooms were functional but sated as mentioned elsewhere. However the location, wildlife and the quality of restaurant food and the attractive bar and pool area more than compensated for the rooms.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.