We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, not the food though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, not the food though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Well..we stayed here for 2 days. Awesome rooms, awesome everything..staff was extra friendly esp the manager. We had an issue with the booking of the small room which they changed to a deluxe one without charging anything.
The bar staff was friendly too.
Regarding the food, we were 3 and we all got seriously ill cuz of it. Maybe it might be the srilankan water or the hotel food that did not suit us.idk.. still..this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. While thanking your positive & negative feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    494
    136
    41
    26
See reviews for
280
602
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockenheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the best hotel on our tour through the country! It was very clean and the staff was more than friendly (especially the ones at the bar ;))
We loved how the design of the hotel, the nice couches in the lobby, the pool and the very pretty rooms!
The food was great - breakfast selections were awesome (the even offered gluten free bread and muffins) and dinner at cafe c was outstanding.

All in all a very very nice hotel and not that expensive either! I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments on trip ad visor following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are more than happy to note that you totally enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments concerning our location, food & the service that we rented to our guest is well noted.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your next holiday at cinnamon citadel Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I try to go to the Cinnamon Citadel and have been several times now. The rooms are great but the service and staff are exceptional! Food is served quickly and is really good. Everyone from the security to the waiters greet you with a smile and are quick to ask how they can help. At one point when I had a slight issue with a bill one of the managers, Arshad, took care of it so quickly and efficiently with a minimum of fuss. Really great service. I warmly recommend this hotel - you can sit and watch the river and enjoy excellent food - great Sunday destination for a relaxed and chilled out day.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely convey Your comments regarding our manager Arashad. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had nice time staying here. Some of the staff were really nice. Fabulous food. Really Tasty and there were lot of varieties. Although from your room, you can clearly here outside, place is really calm.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in-front of cleaning storage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for comments on food & service. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nothing special. Wash room were meant to flooded. It wasn't made in a way where water can drain properly. I had food poisoning. Not sure about others or it is just me..

Any way food wasn't good in buffet despite there are several items. I don't recommend full board. instead try to settle with local foods nearby

There are mosquito in that area.

Room Tip: Don't take the full board option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the wash room did not meet your expectations.
Rest assured we will take necessary measures to rectify the issues highlighted. Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I would encourage you to avoid this hotel! Overcharged because of a mistake made when booking hotel room through agoda and then when we politely complained staff were extremely rude and obstructive. We were clearly being talked about in Sinhala right in front of us when they eventually conceded. Room was average, food was average, staff were uncaring in particular front staff and reception staff were rude. They almost accused us of eating peanuts in the end in order to charge us more! Not the standard you would expect from a five star hotel and very expensive. Also miles away from kandy city centre so difficult to explore the city!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to cinnamon citadel Kandy..

We were extremely sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as per your expectations. Your feedback has been taken very seriously and rest assured that we have taken measures to rectify some of the issues you brought to our attention.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me if I may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night.
When we got the room it smelt moldy and wasn't very clean (a lot of dead, and living, bugs). We asked the staff to clean it, and they did, but the room still smelt moldy...
The staff were fine, but less caring and attentive than in other places in Sri Lanka.
The food was fine.
The view from the lobby is really amazing, especially from the pool. The rest of the hotel looked a little run down, especially the corridors leading to the rooms.
We were a bit disappointed, but this is an OK hotel. If we're ever back in Kandy, we'll probably stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.
We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.