We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous River-side Kandy Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marvellous River-side Kandy Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Everything was perfect.
Away from the main city hustle-bustle
Check-in, welcome drinks, river-facing clean spacious rooms
Delicious big-spread of breakfast - catering to all palates and diets - Chef TDS Gamini caters to any special requests pronto
Live music in the evenings in the lobby while enjoying the ambience
Free wifi! - good reception and speed in all places!
Pool overlooking the river!
Tour desk staff is very helpful
Check-out hassle-free
Staff very courteous and attentive
Absolutely no complaints!

Room Tip: Facing the Mahaweli River, lower or upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for selecting our Hotel for your holiday, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    494
    137
    41
    26
See reviews for
282
602
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is a considerable distance out of the city but is most impressive with comfortable spacious rooms overlooking the river and/or large pool. The air conditioning was most efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The dinners were excellent with a wide choice of dishes. Likewise there was an enormous choice at breakfast.
There are lots of stairs so people with mobility issues may need to think carefully before selecting this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for selecting our Hotel for your holiday, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lovely rooms with the opportunity of eating privately on your own patio which we did overlooking the river.
Food was lovely and lots of choice.
The pool and bar area very clean,
Lots of stairs throughout the hotel so not sure it would suite the less mobile but I'm sure lifts must be available .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cinnamon for three nights from 4-6 August. The hotel is generally very good but unfortunately I picked up a nasty stomach bug during my stay which lasted well over a week. I needed antibiotics to shift it. The staff were helpful and anxious to help at all times.
The views are lovely and pool is great but the food was only average and may have given me the bug!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are quite alarmed by the unpleasant experience you had with the food and do apologize for any inconvenience caused. We constantly strive to improve our food and quality standards and your feedback is undoubtedly deeply valued by us. While thanking you for selecting our Hotel for your holiday, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on two separate occasions with a few days in between on our tour of Sri Lanka. Both rooms were comfortable, modern and very clean. The service was mostly very good although coffee was a bit slow to be served at breakfast. The breakfast Buffett however was excellent with a really nice variety. I particularly liked the cold room! We had one dinner at the hotel buffet and one room service meal. The buffet was excellent and the food good from room service although the portion size was rather meagre. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Kandy. It has lovely views over the river, nice swimming pool and bar area, but be aware that it is a little way out of the town.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at Citadel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my 2nd time at the Citadel. On both occasions I stayed only one night but the experience from start to finish was very good. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with everything you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Always ask for a room with a view of the river. It beautiful to wake up early and go onto the balcony and listen to the birds and look out over the Mahaweli River. The beds are very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had fantastic shower and separate bath if you like. Lots of the usual complimentary bathroom accessories are provided. The super deluxe rooms can have two single beds or one large super king size bed. The price including buffet breakfast is not cheap but then you are paying for a very high standard. The buffet breakfast has a fantastic range of Sri Lanka, continental Europe, and English foods. There is a cook to make eggs, hoppers, etc. lots of choice and very tasty foods. There is also a fruit and dessert glass room to prevent any insects landing on the food that also had a lot of did fence choices. The breakfast area also has a great view of the river and worth getting a window table if you can. On the downside this hotel is about 15 minutes outside of Kandy but apart from that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room with good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
We were happy to read that you were pleased with the location of the hotel, which is only a 10 minute drive from Kandy. Your comments on the food and the spacious rooms are as well noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having read some of the poor reviews for this hotel we were braced for the worst.......I wonder if these bad reviews were fr another hotel?
However - the hotel is amazing. Wonderful location, superb room, amazing buffet and outstanding staff.
Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and you had a memorable holiday. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.