We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Save Saved
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in Kandy
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this place & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Right from check in to check out, the hotel impressed us with their excellent service. No waiting at the reception desk to check in, you're seated in the lobby & served welcome drinks while they complete a minimal, hassle free check in. You meanwhile can soak in the splendid view of the pool & the Mahaweli river with the mountains creating a picteresque backdrop!
Our room too had a lovely view of the river & the pool and was very comfortable. They have a wonderful poolside dining area and we loved the food - found the menu options were limited though. The breakfast buffet however was splendid and once again, the views from The Panorama restaurant are simply breathtaking.
Do note that the hotel is a bit off the main Kandy city & hence takes a while getting to - but totally worth the distance for the peace & liesure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor give an unhindered view of the hills & the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Cinnamon Citadel. We are elated to know that you had a most enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Your comments regarding the food have been well noted and we will certainly ensure that we imporve our buffet spread. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    406
    112
    37
    20
See reviews for
230
499
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only had 1 night here as we were on a 2 night tour of Sri Lanka and this was our base for our visit to Kandy. However, my wife and I fell in love with this hotel almost immediately.
The check in was seamless and easy, and we were shown to our room, which had views across the river and easy access to the pool. The room was fantastic - a good size, very comfortable and well furnished.
As we were staying here as part of a whistle-stop tour, we didn't arrive until early evening so went straight up to the bar for a drink before dinner. The bar is amazing - set in a terraced style, with different levels of the bar dropping down to the pool area. The different levels all have quiet, comfy areas that you could relax in and watch the pool and the river lazily drifting by. The drinks were reasonably priced and the service was excellent.
We went upstairs for dinner and were amazed by the quality and range on offer. There were your Sri Lankan options, a salad bar, live stations cooking fresh pasta and curries to your specifications and a great range of lovely desserts to choose from.
We really loved this hotel and would gladly stay here again - it simply could not be faulted and is definitely underrated at 3.5 stars

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The lounge is very nice with a view over the pool, the lake and the jungle. The Check in could not have been easier, you are seated, offered a drink and the receptionist comes to you to check you in - fab!
The bar is very nice and drinks are super affordable not to say cheap (because they are very good quality drinks!).
The room was a bit "old fashioned" however the bed was comfortable and the view was nice.
The shower was nice too.
Diner was a buffet, nothing special but rather nice.

The only downside is that you have no other options than to dine in the hotel because it is quite far away from anything else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights as part of a private tour. Our room was lovely and comfortable. All what we needed with fantastic views of the lake. The hotel itself is well presented with a good size pool which was very quiet. We found the restaurant had better selection of food and better quality of some of the hotels we stayed at. It wasn't the best food. I've had on holiday but very good service. Overall we had a good stay with lots to see and do around the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel was one of the highlight of our srilankan tour, nice and peaceful hotels, each ground floor hotel is connected to a common garden and breath taking view of the river, food quality excellent, comfort superb , a light and romantic fragrance of cinnamon was the best part.

Room Tip: if possible choose the ground floor rooms for garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had the great joy of spending a night at this beautiful hotel.As I checked in , I was awestruck at the views from the lobby entrance. Had a very refreshing night and super breakfast before checking out. I will return to this hotel with my family for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very comfy large room with all amenities. Great helpful smiling staff. The open air reception area and lounge was great to sit and relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing. The dinner buffet offered lots of choice and the breakfast buffet was also good espcially the setting with views of the river. The hotel is spread out over a large area and we felt sorry for the porter as he struggled with our bags with no trolley or lift access to the rooms. Overall one of the finer hotel experiences we had on our 7nt island tour of Sri Lanka.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us on TripAdvisor. It gives us great pleasure to read that you loved your stay in our four star Deluxe resort, the extensive selection of food that is prepared according to your preference together with all aspects of our beautiful resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.