We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with beautiful food in a beautiful location by the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with beautiful food in a beautiful location by the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The public areas of the hotel are well designed and enhance enjoyment of the setting. Food is above average but service is inconsistent - basics are not always attended to which you would expect in a hotel of this standard. The evening entertainment is very cheesy - please ditch the 'western wedding singers' and provide more low key local entertainment - that is if any is needed at all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. Cinnamon Citadel underwent a full refurbishment recently and our lobby, bar area restaurant and rooms portray a modern chic look with all modern facilities to cater to all your needs. Your suggestion concerning the evening entertainment is well noted. We do have local entertainment on certain days of the week which keeps our guests actively engaged and entertained.
Thank you once again for staying with us. We hope to see you at our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    585
    158
    45
    29
See reviews for
323
702
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Location outside Kandy. Must use transportation to town centre. Hotel nicely situated at the river bank. Nice views. Although for rooms located down, no elevator! Again, it is used by big groups, so do not expect the special touch of service. Food OK, if you like desserts you are in the right place!

Room Tip: Due to lack of elevator, try to book room on the entrance floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is simply beautiful. On arrival you are greeted in the stunning reception which overlooks the pool and the river beyond. A very elegant hotel with perfect decor. Our room was large and the bathroom decorated stylishly in black and grey. Large walk in shower with quality products in the bathroom. I appreciated the thick, towelling bathrobes provided. We had a superior room which overlooked the river. A lovely, tranquil view. Food was probably the best we had during our trip. Cannot fault it!

Room Tip: We had a first floor, superior room which overlooked the river. The higher rooms have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent and it is a wonderful place to stay. Our only problem, and I write this a bit tongue in cheek was when my wife went to get ice cubes from the mini-bar and received a full-on electric shock from it. A call to reception was immediately acted on and the maintenance team quickly sorted the problem out and replaced the fridge. If the mark of a well-run hotel is how quickly they sort out problems then 10/10 to the staff here. Apart from that we had a wonderful stay, the food was terrific, the staff unfailingly helpful and polite, and we'd highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 285. It has a connecting door (very thin) to what we later found out was being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with Cinnamon Citadel and for your feedback on trip advisor.
We regret the shocking experience you had concerning the mini fridge. Our staff did look in to the matter for you and we trust your stay was pleasant thereafter.
We are glad that you enjoyed the food as well as the service of our staff. We thank you for taking time to write to us and do look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a delightful hotel. Great location, lovely rooms and terrific service from all staff. I stayed here on business as I was looking for a quiet location away from the centre of Kandy where I have stayed previously. The Citadel is only 2.4 kms from the centre and is accessed in only 10 minutes by car.

Comfortable beds, clean rooms, consistent wi-fi – everything is wonderful. The only complaint I would have is the bathroom – it is tiled in black and the lighting is not good. Difficult to put on make up in the morning. And the water pressure in the shower could be improved. Minor points and I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have views - but if there is a choice, ask for a view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Our Hotel is indeed strategically located in the centre of Kandy, enabling guests to visit the unique places in Kandy such as the botanical gardens, temple of the tooth relic and pinnawela elephant orphanage within a short period of time.
Your comments regarding the bathrooms have been noted and we will do our best to make improvements to the current standards.
Thank you for taking time to write to us. We do hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The service was poor we were disappointed
I booked my room through the 3rd party when i checked in they asked me why i didn't book the rooms through them. And gave me a bad room where the toilet water was very slow. On the same room one if my friend stayed and there toilet water was much faster. They should change there systems and improve the service to treat all the guest equally.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, and for your review.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience experienced by you from the time you checked-in. We will be taking all the necessary measures to overcome these problems you encountered. Rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to prevent a recurrence.

We do hope you would return to us to truly experience the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were a bit disappointed that it was a little too far outside Kandy to wander in...but after 10 mins of being there that didn't matter, we loved it. The pool area is lovely with amazing views of the river. The staff are really friendly, possibly the nicest of the 4 hotels we have stayed in so far.
The food is great and offered the best range of Sri Lankan food yet with lots freshly crooked. I love the fact that although we didn't eat out we still got to sample the local food which is my biggest shock at other hotels that mainly have bland European food and limited choice of local stuff.
Our room had amazing views over the river and was so relaxing in the evening sitting on the balcony.
We found the evening entertainer very cheesy (this isn't our thing ever anyway!) - she murdered countless classics ranging from ABBA to the sublime Celine Dion. However as the drinks flowed we found her very funny and actually entertaining.
Loved it and by sheer coincidence my parents stayed here over ten years ago and loved it too! Would so go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased to read that you have had an excellent stay and enjoyed the hotel, amenities, food, location, music and above all else, our services. Our dining options such as Panorama restaurant and the Café C cater for all age groups with a wide variety of eastern and western dishes that can truly be devoured.
We look forward to welcoming you again to stay with us if you do visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.