We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Refurbished and Hospitable Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Citadel Kandy to your Saves list
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Newly Refurbished and Hospitable Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have been to this hotel when it was chaaya citadel, this time when I went i was surprised to see the newly Refurbished hotel, the furniture and the colors used are very tastefully done, Very Hospitable Staff, Comfortable Rooms. Don't forget to meet Mr. Arshad at the Restaurant on the First Floor who is always there to serve as he really took care of us, He has a character that will make you feel at home. The only problem I faced was the fluctuating hot and cold water in the toilet and an iron board which i didn't get which was important to me but with the Hospitality of the Staff and willingness to help was the most important thing. I will certainly visit this hotel again, and I can rate this hotel far above as compared to Earls regency and Amaya Hills in Kandy.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds and Pillows, Respectable size rooms, Very nice ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    495
    138
    41
    26
See reviews for
284
604
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. The lobby, bar and restaurant areas are all decorated to a very high standard. The room was very comfortable with all mod cons (minor point the shower temperature varied which was annoying, but at least hoot water was always available!)
The pool was underused by other guests so it was nice and quiet to relax by the pool which was excellent!
All meals were nice with a lot of choice - also had a meal in the bar area which was even better and much cheaper than the buffet options.
Only 4 out of 5 because for the price I would expect all of this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and if you like nature, it's a beautiful hotel. Staff service is good and they had a good spread of breakfast. We had room 260 which was a bit of walk down. I would recommend this hotel for any family

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a really nice hotel in a lovely setting. The rooms are nice, the service is good and the breakfast is excellent. Its quite far out from Kandy but this is probably a good thing because you are in a quiet location so you can get a really good nights sleep. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel (except the breakfasts) but there is nothing to criticize either. A relatively good quality hotel in a great setting. We stayed for 2 days whilst visiting Kandy and it was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is probably more of a 3-star than a 4-star but still good value for the money. We had an issue with some ongoing construction and it took several calls and visits to the front desk to rectify, but we eventually did get our concerns addressed. They have a nice selection of food and staff was very hospitable. You can expect great views of the river and convenient to lots of shopping and site seeing in Kandy. Great for short stays.

Room Tip: Lower floors require going down/up several flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cinnamon Citadel has a lot to offer for travelers after its recent renovation. It looks amazing after the refurbishment and has changed significantly compared to how it looks some time back. The lobby area and the bar have got a completely new look while the pool too have been redone to match the theme. The most amazing new addition is the restaurant terrace which over looks Mahaweli river. This type of an dining experience will going to be a truly memorable one for foreigners without any doubt. The rooms too have got a new look with a fair upgrade. The Front office staff (lead by FOM Fawmie) is giving a warm welcome with a friendly service for the Guests which is truly memorable. Similarly H/K, Restaurant and Kitchen Staff too is providing a great service to Guests. Food was great compared to my last visit. Its a Great Holiday place one should not miss in his / her visit to Kandy.

Room Tip: An unforgettable Holiday Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

In my work I travel around several hotels around the world, it was a pure pleasure to stay and eat here. The food is THE BEST in Sri Lanka. Although the location next to a busy road can be a little noisey if your room is in the wrong place the food makes up for it.

If you are touring this is worth a couple of nights stay.

You will not be disappointed

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.