We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken by surprise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kandy Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kandy Cottage to your Saves list
Kandy Cottage
160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Taken by surprise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were the first guests arriving in Kandy's Cottage, the day after the new manager (Kumar) and his wife Yoga arrived in their new home. Big surprise. Even more, because it was the day before Tamil/Singhalese New Year.
Although they were obviously not yet settled in, they did everything to make us feel at ease.
The cottage itself is nicely and very quietly located (especially if you have your own transport; otherwise it is also easy to call for a tricycle) and gives a real homy feeling.
We stayed at the moonlit-room (which is not as romantic as you might think), which we shared with a large army of ants (probably still the same as in previous review) and many mosquitos (do use the mosquito-nets !!).
The fixed price (around 4.200 Rs = ca. 25 Euro per night, without breakfast) is not a bargain, but if you want to have a quiet stay in a cosy place with a very nice managers-couple, it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    50
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
91
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Kandy cottage is a small, three room B&B, basic but clean with a personal touch. It is a perfect base to roam Kandy (15 mins walk to town centre) and yet located in a very quiet wooded area. We stayed a single night and were the only guests. The staff were anmazingly friendly and made this truly a home away from home.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingor, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed 4,5 months (with a few breaks) at Kandy Cottage, while preparing a manuscript. I was primarily looking for a great work-environment, and I got it (including wireless access to the net, bring your own laptop). I also got a feeling of home away from home, which I have never before or since experienced despite years of travel in Asia. On top of that, I had great food, unmatched service and a vibrant atmosphere.

Kandy Cottage is a quiet environment in the middle of the jungle with plenty of (very cute) monkeys around. You feel that you stepped away from civilization, but still you are only 15 minutes walk from the city-centre and the sights. Thus it fits both a semi-reclusive lifestyle, and a full-on touristy experience.

The service was brilliant, attentive to my needs and ever flexible. The food was brilliant. I gained approx. 10 kg during my stay at Kandy Cottage. Devikas food was by far the best food I've had consistently in Asia (note: I am vegetarian, so my recommendation only applies to the vegetarian meals, but I have an idea that the meat-dishes must be nice too).

I recommend renting the entire cottage, if you wish to work there constantly, because it is too compact to ensure a quit work-environment, if a family with 2-3 young children are staying there with you. But the really noisy families are rare, and I chose those few days to leave Kandy for visa-extensions, visiting beaches etc. If you don't mind a few breaks in your strides, then renting a single room (preferably one of the two biggest) should be fine for you.

Kandy is a must-see while around the subcontinent, and I can't imagine a better place to explore from than Kandy Cottage.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We'were travelling in srilanka,we stayed there tree nights and was such a cool experience at the beginning of our trip.Thep lace is clean and confortable,is placed in the middle of the forest but close to kandy town,there were mokeys passinf over the roof and close to our house,so exciting; the manager is kind and friendly,a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at Kandy cottage one night and originally booked the most basic room. Upon arrival we were pleased to be upgraded to a bigger double room. The bed and sheets smelt a bit damp which was a shame but the shower had hot water and we had free, reliable wifi use the whole stay. We had an evening meal there which was a lovely experience, very tasty, authentic Sri Lankan food. Breakfast was also plentiful and fresh. Most of all, the owners are very friendly and welcoming.

The location is not within easy reach of bars etc so we took a rickshaw back to the hotel. Not many richshaw drivers know where it is. We paid Rs200 for the short trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked to stay at Kandy Cotage after reading rave reviews on tripadvisor.

We paid for two nights but left after the first. I guess it depends what you are looking for.

The accommodation is basic and rustic, which no doubt appeals to many (including ourselves) but we the Kandy Cottage website description was not wholly consistent with what we found.

We booked the 'romantic' Moonlit Space but found the skylight to be small and covered over with dead leaves and a bit of concrete.

We shared our accommodation with an army of ants which ran the full length of the bathroom and into the bedroom disappearing down behind the chest of drawers.

The bedding was damp, the towels smelled and on check in we had to remove a big clump of black hair from the bathroom sink.

On the upside, it was in a good location and a convenient 10 minute walk into Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the cottage and it is in a great location for the town. Our 7 yr old enjoyed the wildlife and the food. The staff are great and very helpful. If you are a family and want privacy book the whole cottage. The friendly space is great for family of 4 if you don't want to pay the extra. Excellent value for money and will return soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandy Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Cottage

Address: 160 Lady Gordons Drive, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage nestles in a little hollow, in the midst of trees, beside a tiny virgin forest - "Udawatakelle" Forest Sanctuary just one of the many splendidly green spaces that is KandyThe Cottage is a charming and cosy place of retreat for writers andartists, and also welcomes regular holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kandy Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Cottage Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandy Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.