We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sharon Inn to your Saves list
Sharon Inn
59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

After spending a few nights at a not so nice Tourist Hotel in Sigiriya, it was a pleasant surprise to arrive at the Sharon Inn.

This is a family run guest house with 9 rooms. We stayed in room 9, which has a wonderful view of the lake and temple area. The room was spick and span and it was fantastic to have a shower that worked!

We did as the lonely planet suggested and had dinner at the guest house. Fantastic food, great vegetarian dishes and more food than you could possibly eat. After the climb up the hill from the lake, it was nice to be able to sit and enjoy a cold beer as well.

The owners are very helpful as well. We were unable to get tickets on the 1st class observation train going to Ella. After mentioning this to the owner, he did some ringing around and managed to get 2 tickets on said train.

I have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    104
    64
    41
    37
See reviews for
51
179
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

- rooms are very clean and confortable for that price range
-nice buffet of Sri lankan food available
-owner very helpful to organize visits and the rest of the trip with you. He helped us to book for coming hotels while it was sri lankan new year period
-some trips organized might be a bit more expensive compared to other nearby guesthouse. You can find cheaper alternatives
-tuk tuk contacts very friendly and cheap

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Sue and Faiesz keep and unusual guest house in Kandy. Simple, clean friendly - been returning for years for short stays in the cool of Kandy. Great views. No a/c - not needed. Open windows and mozzie nets are fine. Dinner is traditional Sri Lanka food with a lot of vegetable dishes and chicken curry. Family atmosphere means you are treated as a friend and introduced to other guests at meal times - ideal if you are travelling alone. Invariably meet interesting and intelligent people. This is NOT a 5* hotel - and does not pretend to be but it is safe, freindly, atmospheric and a great place to simply relax and read or stroll into Kandy Town or round the Lake. You can get to Kandy by train (recommended) from Colombo Fort for the price of a bar of chocolate ($3) or go on a bus or hire a car and driver. Yes I would recommend this place to a friend but not to just any friend - if I thought he'd go and demand a la carte meals, room service, access to the gym etc I'd just keep quiet and let him miss on of Kandy's small gems of hospitality.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We, group of three friends, stayed at this place in Feb 2010, and our basic intent was to make this as a base while we explore the places around Kandy.. and could we have asked for a better place!
ABout the hotel: Its not luxuriouys by any stretch of imagination, but its satisfaction guaranteed when it comes to comfort! Fayyez and Sue, the owners, take a personal interest in your comfort, they just make you feel at home.
Our initial itenerary was to spend the last night at Bentota, but we scrapped that just to be at Susan's an additional night, as it was so relaxing. :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We booked this guest house by email from the UK as a first stop in Sri Lanka because it received good reviews and we were not disappointed. This was the only establishment in Kandy that responded to my emails and I was impressed by the organised way they transacted business. We arranged transport through them from our arrival at Colombo airport direct to Kandy and our driver was waiting as promised with a name board. It is very well located away from the bustle of the town centre but within walking distance or a short tuk tuk ride. It was spotlessly clean and the evening rice and curry was excellent. The beds were a little hard and the showers a little feeble but that is the only small gripe. The best rooms are 5, 7 and 9, the ones with a balcony facing the lake. We stayed in the top floor room with excellent views - but be aware it is 4 flights of stairs; there is no lift. Sue and Faiez are happy to organise whatever you need and advise you on surrounding attractions. Be aware that all prices quoted will have a 10% service charge added. We paid LKR 3000 (+10%) per night, which is at the top end of guest house prices but then you get what you pay for. The in-house driver we used for 3 days was an excellent driver and good company.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Dear Faisez and Sue,

What makes travel special, more than the places are the people that you meet and build relationships with. My wife and I will cherish the memories of our stay at Sharon and your little gestures of kindness and warmth. Be it taking care of our baby girls’ comfort, the time that you spent with us, or making sure that we had our breakfast packed when we checked-out early in the morning, will be remembered with fondness and gratitude by Smitha and myself.

Thank you very much and we look forward to staying at Sharon Inn again.

Smitha, Anup and little Nava 

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

After initially spending 2 nights at this wonderful hotel we returned later in our trip to spend another 2 nights. The hotel, right at the top of Saranankara Rd, has impeccably clean and modern rooms with a wonderful view of Kandy. The hosts, Sue & Faiesz, are charming, friendly and helpful and their rates are reasonable.
The big plus of staying here is you don't have to leave your accommodation to dine at their brilliant restaurant. The nightly rice & curry is unique and delicious and judging by its popularity with non-guests a well known fact throughout Kandy.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for moderate priced accommodation in Kandy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.