We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic new hotel - great value, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Travellers Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Travellers Nest to your Saves list
Hotel Travellers Nest
117/4/1/1 Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Opp Buwelikada Fuel Station, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 206 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic new hotel - great value, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although this hotel is very new and so didn't have many reviews, we still thought we'd go ahead and good as it looked fantastic and the price was reasonable. We were SO glad we did.

It's a very high-standard hotel with brand new, high-spec rooms. It was about 10 minute walk into town (we stopped at the Slightly Chilled Bar on the way - highly recommended) from the hotel so convenient for getting to the Temple of the Tooth by 9am to see the ceremony.

The room itself was large with a very comfy bed, good Wifi access and a good bathroom. There was a wardrobe, safe and dressing table, plus bottled water and clean glasses.

We were greeted with fresh juice when we arrived and the food at breakfast was a variety of local dishes, bread and toast, pastries and fresh fruit with tea, coffee, fruit juice etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kandy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor as our room was fairly close to reception and we could har peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is near to the Sri Dalada maligawa and was quite convenient for us. We walked to the Maligawa and to the town as well. The rooms were very clean and with enough towels and huge mirrors. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable with best quality. The sleep quality here was unmatchable. We did not take any meals from here since the town was near and there were many pastry shops outside. The staff are very friendly and polite. Specially the grownup guy in the reception. It was a very nice stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my seven nights here. The hotel was clean and attractive, the staff were attentive and friendly. My room, although small, was perfect as I was travelling alone. It had a big comfy double bed, wifi in the room so I could work and a bathroom that, although a touch small, was very nice and the shower was excellent. There was a safe in the wardrobe too.

The location was ideal for me as I was travelling to Pallekele each day (20mins taxi for 500Rs) and I could walk into the centre of Kandy in 20 mins (just over a mile).

There was a good spread at breakfast, which I generally like to be as Western as possible, so tea and toast was perfect. And I had a delicious chicken curry and steamed rice (900 Rs) in my only night in the restaurant.

The minuses were only minor. There weren't any coat hangers in wardrobe and I would have liked more space to hang towels. And the room wasn't cleaned all week, which didn't bother me, I just left my bin outside the door when it needed emptying.

In general, for the price, this is a cracking hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to come back, even if I wasn't going to Pallekele.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra price, the executive suite on the top floor with a balcony and a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Before we arrived at Traveller's Nest, we had to get a taste of another hotel in Kandy that we pre-booked on Agoda and after seeing their rooms in non-photoshopped reality we decided to change the place as quickly as we could. It was already quite late (9:30pm) and Kandy was pretty deserted - thank goodness my boyfriend googled Traveller's Nest. Even though the hotel is not placed in the strict centre and the area is not too inviting by night, once I saw the hotel and rooms I was amazed and seriously surprised that it is rated with 3*, as it is at least strong European 4* or more. The hotel is new, clean and decorated with amazing taste (great job done by the owner's wife ;)) Everything is just great - starting from beautiful decor, amazing lamps, tastefully decorated rooms, luxurious bathroom (including hot rain showers!), wifi and cable, a/c...
What gives this place precedence over good, but boring chain hotels is the owner and staff: we felt very warmly welcome and we were treated like friends, not clients (especially when it turned out that the owner's wife is also Polish - chatting in Polish with a person from Sri Lanka was a lovely, fun experience :)). The owner himself was making sure everything is allright and we are happy. The night of our arrival, despite the fact that the restaurant was already closed for the day - it was reopened for us and we could have a great, much needed dinner. The breakfast was also fantastic and included everything one may wish for (both European and Sri Lankan buffet and literally the best sambol I ate during our whole trip). The staff is very polite and smiling and catered to our every need.
I hope that Traveller's Nest will be soon listed among the top Kandy hotels as they truly deserve it. It was a much needed re-charge of batteries in a friendly, beautiful surroundings. If we come back to Kandy, we will definitely book Traveller's Nest again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Travellers Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travellers Nest

Address: 117/4/1/1 Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Opp Buwelikada Fuel Station, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Travellers Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Travellers Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.