We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, a secret hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Kandy to your Saves list
Days Inn Kandy
66A Rajapihilla Mawatha Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 229 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful place, a secret hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this hotel after arriving in Columbo from Dubai. It was a busy journey and as soon as we arrived it felt like we were finally on holiday! We asked a local tuk tuk driver who for a negotiable fare drives you up a steep hill, and wow the climb is worth it! A view of rolling hills, Buddah on a hill in the distance, and everywhere so often a monkey! The hotel itself had a beautiful calm atmosphere and was met immediately by an employee who guided us to a room which was set up ready for our arrival.

The room itself was perfect for myself and my fiancé, and everything worked perfectly. The hotel itself is charming, and I enjoyed browsing through books left by other travellers, and the different pictures of Sri Lanka itself on the walls. We decided that we would like some water and rang the bell, to which a knock on the door sounded less than 30 seconds later- incredible service! There is also a rooftop area which we did not realise until the morning after which was a great place to relax for a bit and dry our clothes from the elephant orphanage the day before!

The next morning (and unknowingly to me the morning myself and my fiancé got engaged) we decided to order breakfast at the last minute, and the staff were very accommodating. We were provided with a lovely breakfast, with juice, toast and preserves, an omelette, local fruit and extra coffee with the view of monkeys climbing telephone wires nearby!

It was at this point that we met Anura and enjoyed talking to him for a while. He is very knowledgeable about the area and was able to help our (unusual) query about donating goods to a local children's home, which to our good luck he happens to be on the board of! He took us there himself and showed us around the home, and we enjoyed finding out all about his life, the life of the community and it's heritage.

Kandy is a beautfiul place and Days Inn was definitely the best hotel we stayed in. Their priority is customer service, and they work hard in delivering this well. We are definitely staying again in the summer, and very much look forward to seeing Anura and the team again.

Thank you for making our trip, and the day we got engaged beautiful!

(I have ticked the couples box, but would equally go with family, friends and by myself!)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    67
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
59
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently I had the great fortune of going to the island paradise, Sri lanka. During my visit to the central hill country, I stayed at Days Inn Kandy. The place is nicely decorated and the friendly staff was very accommodating. They went the extra mile to make our stay memorable and comfortable. The breakfast served in the patio accompanied with the morning sun and the cool mountain air. A group of friendly monkeys entertained us during this leisure breakfast. I can recommend the place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Air conditioner is not working. No water heater,only for display. Good staff. Television just for display. Mineral water upon request. Nice location, near the kandy lake. Beware of tuk tuk. We got cheated. It is advisable for you to walk from here to kandy lake.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Photos4246, Owner at Days Inn Kandy, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for writing a review. However, if your comments are valid, then we could not have stayed in this business over 10 years, If there was an issue, the guests can always consult the staff and we can fix it immediately or change the room to keep our guests comfortable.. If that is not enough, we will refund your money and the guests can find another hotel. We have been able keep our guests happy and it reflects in many other reviews that we have received over the years. We have no control over tuk-tuk drivers.
They stay nearby roadside and we have nothing to do with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The air cond was not functioning, wifi was horrible connection, hot water was not working, poor drainage system. The room wass poorly maintain. The location was hard to find. Not strategic. Even the tuktuk driver cannot find the place. And the tuktuk drive want to charge us 200 rupee if we want to go to kandy lake, which only infront of the hotel. Becareful. Everybody lies in Sri Lanka. Lying is like their daily routine

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Comfortable room in a pleasant location in the hills above the main town and lake. Only a cheap tuk-tuk ride to the main attractions. Super breakfast on the small terrace watching the cows walking and grazing on the road below. Although the staff (only met 3 young men during our stay) were friendly and helpful when asked, we didn't get the 'host family' feel we got elsewhere. Not a real problem, just a personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Days Inn in mid March. I found the place very pleasant, staff led by Manager, Chanaka, were very friendly and helpful and polite. The room was large enough, with air conditioning, a working fan and a mosquito net. There was hot water whenever needed, wifi worked very well throughout the guesthouse. The whole place was very clean and tidy, but the decor was a bit dated, a coat of paint in lighter shades should make the place look much larger and brighter. Breakfast was good, consisted of a good plate of fruit, a glass of juice, fried egg, toasts and a choice of tea or coffee.

Days inn is ideally placed away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but not too far from the city centre, tuk tuk cost about Rs 250. Staff were always helpful in giving directions or getting a tuk tuk for me.

I would certainly recommend Days Inn as a convenient and affordable guesthouse if you come to Kandy. I look forward to returning here next year.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms have a/c, hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Pleasant 2 night stay. Breakfast was great and the room was large and clean although a bit dated. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Wifi worked fine. Would recommend for budget travellers.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Kandy

Address: 66A Rajapihilla Mawatha Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six bedroom guest house overlooking Kandy lake. 1.4 KM from Kandy town. Clean rooms with AC, hot water and all the other facilities. Also a Private suite (Apt)available with a swimming pool, located in a serene environment with lots of trees. Dining, living and kitchen facilities available inside the suite. Ideal for family stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Days Inn Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.