We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kandy House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kandy House
Save
You added The Kandy House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amunugama, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Christmas in Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Overall very good and we'd recommend it to anyone - it was a real tonic for us away from Kandy itself which I would miss on our next trip to Sri Lanka. Stayed here with the missus at Christmas 2013.
A few observations:
- Beautiful house, gardens and lovely atmosphere (has a wonderful, evocative smell pervading the house - cinnamon/spices)
- Great pool looking out over the rice paddies
- Superb shower!
- Nice, friendly staff - they need to work constantly on their trade but overall we liked them and felt well looked after
- Entertainment (mix of traditional and international live music) was good as were the champagne cocktails...
- Food was hit and miss - we were disappointed by the lack of Sri Lankan dishes - we wanted to see more! We stayed on Christmas Eve and Day where special menus were put in place which may explain this. They steered clear of the traditional western fare (turkey/stuffing etc) and the result was middling. A small point but the menus cost 3500 and 8000 rupees respectively, which, in a remote place with little other option was a bit of a jump from Eve to Day.
- We didn't get the room we booked and after a while, they blinked first and took 20% off our bill. all was handled well.
- Breakfast was OK - stick with the Sri Lankan hoppers; they were delicious. Toast is poor. Porridge was good!
If we ever returned to Kandy (unlikely), we would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    69
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
276
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had no idea that although we were paying US$350 per night that our room was dark and small.
The bathroom was divided by a curtain, which I could not believe.
The "lady manager" had the charm of a goldfish and even when I complained that there was not even a shower cap in the room, just smiled.
Our view was the dirty glass roof of another room below.
Breakfast was edible but nothing worth the room rate.
They were also the only hotel that could not make a decent pot of tea.
We had a look at other deluxe rooms in the hotel which was 100% better than our room and had a door to the bathroom and also a balcony.
Our room should be standard room and charged to reflect the short comings.
We said that we felt the room was not worth the money and was told that the description was in the website.
We had to have the lights on even at midday. The room had shutters but no window pane.
The set menu was the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed in while is a Sri Lanka.
The hotel is about 40 minutes away from the city so you could not go for a stroll after dinner.
It's going to be interesting see the response to the review as they did not encourage feed back.
Will I stay again, not sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you never get Lime butterfly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseConcepts, Owner at The Kandy House, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It's plain wrong that the hotel does not encourage feedback,it's just very hard to understand what makes you say that.We always do,as reviews on tripadvisor and directly from so many guests over almost 10 years have testified.
It's hard to respond to all your individual very negative comments,as many of them differ from the experiences of other guests,including those who stayed in the same room,but suffice to say we are never complacent and digest all feedback seriously - obviously including yours which since your stay,given such a negative overall review, we have been discussing with other guests who stay in Lime Butterfly so they and we can compare their and your experiences.
The lady to whom you refer was actually from the office,not the manager(he talked with you during your stay),and was upset and largely speechless as result of the manner of your dialogue with her.
We have not raised the price of the rooms nor food in recent years and very consistently our counterpart travel agents and many guests tell us our pricing point is good and appropriate,and we regularly review our peer group and other hotels.
We are sorry that whatever your expectations on price,location,food,room or otherwise were not met by The Kandy House,and that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Starting from the reservation to departure, everything was smooth and professional at The Kandy House... We stayed at Indian Admiral Room, shining clean,very helpful butler in service, detailed information upon arrival with smiling faces, nice amenities, very comfortable bed. The veranda was offering very silent
Breakfast was fine and dinners were delicious though on a set menu, they were kind enough to make amendments for us. Pool side is breathtaking...
So, if you are looking for a calm, soothing and classy stay, do not look any further, and stay at this oasis...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived just before sunset and were pleased that our driver/guide knew the way because it was not easy to find. The approach to the house is lovely with a long veranda with arches running right round the house. Delicious welcoming drink and efficent friendly staff and we were settled into the Cornelian room. Rather old style furniture and a large bed with mosquito nets in one area and a large bathroom in the other. The bathroom which comprised bath, separate shower and toilet had a lockable door but curiously an open area under the ceiling connecting with the bedroom. I like some privacy in a bathroom so this set-up was not wholly to my liking. Our room was on the upper floor and is only one of 9 in total and was fine for a two stay. If you are staying longer you may want to consider the Ultra rooms as our room had limited area inside, however, you could use the loungers on the balcony veranda just outside or the comfortable seating downstairs.

We ate here both nights on the outside veranda 'restaurant' and the food was sublime. The menu is quite small but that was not an issue and we both found options to our liking. Good wines too and great cocktails before dinner. Given that we were out and about during the day we had limited opportunity to enjoy the pool or the gardens. We only discovered that we shared a veranda when we gatecrashed someone elses breakfast on the first morning! So we ordered breakfast on the veranda for the next day and it was a really lovely start to the day, beautifully set up. Overall the service and the staff were really excellent throughout.

The house is just a delight and the short stay felt like being in someone's own home rather than a hotel. We are going to come back to Kandy House someday.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in a deluxe room or upgrade to an Ultra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Kandy house is a unique, tastefully restored boutique hotel. The best feature for me were the idyllic gardens and pool.The pool area is set in lush forest with views over paddy fields and was the perfect place to relax. It's magical at dinner, sitting next to the gardens with lights twinkling in the trees. The hotel seating areas are very pleasant for a pre/post dinner drink.

Food was excellent, among the best we had in Sri Lanka and the service was also first rate. Not great value though, food and drink prices are heavily marked up.

The room was slightly disappointing (Cornelian). It was comfortable and tastefully decorated but not up to the standard of other places we stayed in Sri Lanka despite being amongst the most expensive. It was small and quite dark (due to a roof over the veranda). The veranda is shared with another room and if you open the shutters it's not very secluded with staff and other guests walking right by the window. No tea/coffee making facility in the room, fridge or seating area (other than a small desk). Hot water didn't last long enough for 2 showers in succession on both nights of our stay.

There were other rooms empty that I looked into that looked much better (although probably at a higher rate). We weren't offered these despite being on honeymoon, but were offered a complimentary bottle of Cava.

Overall it's a great place to stay but there were a few niggles. Better than "average" but not quite "very good" bearing in mind the standard of other places on our trip.

Room Tip: Cornelian room didn't meet expectations compared to other luxury Sri Lankan hotels at similar (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseConcepts, Owner at The Kandy House, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments,and we're pleased for you that the house,garden,pool,location,service,food quality and ambience all worked so well for you.
Regarding the value of the food and the room,expectations can occasionally differ,but it's probably important to point out we have not changed the price of either in recent years(and food costs in Sri Lanka have been rising strongly like so many other parts of the world) and that very consistently our counterpart travel agents and many guests tell us our pricing point is good and appropriate.None of the rooms have tea-making facilities nor fridges,we prefer our staff to be at your service for everything guests may need.The manager likes to offer honeymooners an upgrade when possible,but unfortunately on your arrival all our Ultra rooms were occupied(only vacant rooms were two twin rooms in the same category as yours) - it can sometimes be misleading,as during the day after a check-out and before the next same-day arrival,we often leave open the door to air the room as much as possible.Thank you for choosing to come to The Kandy House,we so hope your stay has become an enjoyable memory,and wishing you both a wonderful married life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a unique boutique hotel.
Rooms are atmospheric, garden magnificent and one of the most beautiful pools ever. Staff are good and a stay here is a must if you go to Kandy.
Despite the business of the city and surrounds you get a real escape here in this colonial home conversion. We found he food good and staff attentive. The property is very well maintained and quite idyllic really.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Everything at Kandy House is great. Delicious food - the curry night was spectacular- and lovely rooms in a peaceful setting. We appreciated the calm of this 'adults only' oasis, with twinkling fairy lights in the gardens and quiet areas inside and out to sit and just chill. The service here was outstanding. Best in our one month tour of this marvellous island and that is saying something as the standards of service in Sri Lanka are very high. My husband had a very painful ear infection and the staff could not have been more helpful caring and attentive. We went for an ultra room - really worth the extra cost - and enjoyed exceptional service from our butler. Highly recommended. Thank you to everyone at Kandy House for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kandy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandy House

Address: Amunugama, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kandy House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kandy House is a unique ancestral manor house (walauwa) providing seclusion and serenity for its guests in a lush, tropical garden setting, close to Kandy. With only 9 bedrooms, this Kandy hotel, aims is to give guests an experience of staying more in a private house than a conventional hotel. Traditional Kandyan architecture has been blended with Bawa-influenced modern, polished titanium cement floors and bathrooms. In the gardens, a stunning infinity pool has been landscaped into the hillside overlooking the rice paddy fields. Delicious European fusion and Sri Lankan cuisine is on offer. Well-placed to spend time to relax as well as explore a broad selection of Sri Lanka's primary destinations in the Cultural Triangle and Tea Country, including the Temple of the Tooth and the Peradeniya Botanical Gardens. The house can also be booked as a whole for important celebrations with friends, or just for the peace of mind of a group having total privacy away from the public eye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kandy House Hotel Gunnepana
The Kandy Hotel
Kandy Hotel Gunnepana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kandy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.