We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view, peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa
Save
You added Villa Rosa to your Saves list
71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Villa Rosa is hidden away at the top of a hill overlooking the river in Kandy. Views are spectacular and the rooms and communcal areas are spacious. We ate out on a balcony overlooking the river and could have been in our own property such was the feeling of privacy. The team are well trained, food good and lots of advice is available from the German owner. The hotel has a tuk-tuk and van to get you in to the centre (free of charge). A great base from which to explore Kandy and its surrounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
105
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This boutique hotel is very well located, assuming you have a car with driver who can negotiate the steep climb up to the top of a hill, from which the views are admittedly amazing. We splurged for the honeymoon suite as all the others were taken. The room is fantastic and made us feel like Kandyan royalty. The service, however, was lacklustre at best, in part due to the owner who doesn't seem to care much about his guests, in part due to not terribly well trained local staff, which seems to be quite common in Sri Lanka. There is no accommodation for drivers, we could not access the wifi from our room and we were charged for a "complementary" welcome drink which had been promised to us on arrival. Not a bad stay overall, but we stayed in much nicer and cheaper places throughout our trip.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite is lovely if you can afford it. no A/C but not needed as it is quite breezy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Sri Lanka. Our stay coincided with the Kandy parade which mean the city itself was even more hectic than normal, so Villa Rosa was a lovely place to retreat to after the heat and craziness of Kandy. Just a five minute drive outside of the city it is up a very steep hill (our driver couldn't seem to get up the hill due to the large pot hole in the middle - this was filled in whilst we were there). We were offered the hotel tuk tuk to take us up and down the hill but chose to walk for a bit of exercise.
We had to move rooms during our stay (which we knew about before). The first two nights were spent in room 2 & we have to admit this was a bit of a let down - very open with windows on both sides, ants in the bathroom & quite dark (curtains were closed for privacy). It felt like a backpacking hotelnot a boutique hotel. We then moved upstairs to room 3 with our own balcony & much more space - lovely room & we felt like we were in the boutique hotel we had booked.
The views from the hotel are stunning & all the staff were incredibly helpful & the owner very friendly. The food was delicious - strongly recommend the Sri Lankan curries at dinner. We enjoyed cups of tea on the terrace whilst looking out at the river & reading our books - perfect.
We would recommend this hotel but probably not room 2.

Karla & Sam, London UK

Room Tip: Room 3was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A newish small boutique-type hotel, up a windy hill road with fantastic views over the valley below.

This really is a wonderful and comfortable hotel with attentive service, a delightful German owner and spacious rooms, if ours was anything to go by. It has character and charm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite which was great - I can't comment on the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here with my brother in July, and what a wonderful start to our Sri Lankan holiday, the rest of our accommodation has a lot to live up to.
The staff were amazingly helpful. After a long trip to get to Sri Lanka, we arrived early in the morning, and I had been worried that we wouldn't be able to check in. There was no problem, and our host even provided us with breakfast whilst they finished readying our room. We had planned to eat dinner out in Kandy, but the Sri Lankan dinners at the Vila Rosa meant that we ate here every night.
The views from the hotel are outstanding, and we ate breakfast out on the terrace every morning looking over the valley. As for the staff, they couldn't have been more helpful, anything we asked, and they were able to oblige.
The hotel also organised us a trip out to Sigiriya and the Dambulla rock temple. Both of these re worth a visit if you are in Kandy.
Overall an excellent hotel, and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Rosa, in June 2013.

I booked via email & made a 20% deposit payment by bank transfer, to confirm the booking. We paid the balance by cash & credit card on departure.

The hotel arranged our collection from the airport ($85) & the driver was there waiting on our arrival, as arranged. The journey from airport to Hotel took about 3/3.5 hours. The driving in Sri Lanka is nothing like we experience on UK roads - so nervous passengers, be warned! :0)

On arrival at the Hotel, we were greeted & shown around by Mahesh, the Manager.
We were given room 3 (as I had requested, from reading previous TA reivews), which had two lovely balconies & great views over the river.
There was a dining table on the balcony outside the room, where we ate our meals - but you could chose to eat at any of the tables around the garden, or outside the restaurant.
The room had triple aspect windows, which when open gave a lovely through breeze.
There was also a ceiling fan, mosquito net, hair dryer & bottled water provided.

We went on a couple of trips - on both occassions, Nilanka, the assistant manager drove us in the Hotel van & accompanied us throughout the visit, ensuring that we were looked after & did not experience any problems.
We did a half day trip to Pinnawela Elephant Orphanage & the Millenium Foundation ($40 plus we paid our entrance fees). It was great to see traffic stopped whilst 70 elephants crossed the main road, on their way down to the river at Pinnawela. There is a nice restaurant overlooking the river, where you can get a drink/meal, whilst watching the elephants in the water. The Dung Paper Factory was quite interesting & offered the chance for some useful, but unusual souvenirs!
At the Millenium Foundation, we had the 'Meduim' ride & bath. Much as I love elephants, I found the ride quite scary - it's a long way down, when sat on the elephant, with only a bit of rope around it's neck to hold on to. Bathing the elephant in the river, was fantastic & a highlight of the holiday, for me. We tipped the two Mahout's 200rs each, as advised by our Millenium guide & they seemed happy with that. The guide took our camera & was snapping away, so we have loads of great pictures. Nilanka followed us about too, carrying our bags.
Another day, we went to the Tea Plantations & Nuwara Eliya, stopping at a couple of water falls & a Hindu Temple, enroute ($75). We visited the Mackwoods Labookellie Tea Factory, where we were given a free tour & cup of tea. You can then purchase tea from their shop. We really enjoyed the day, it was very interesting seeing the tea pickers & the fabulous scenery.

The Hotel also provides free transport into Kandy - then you get a Tuk-Tuk back. We took a map with us, showing the Hotel's location, in case the driver was unsure where it was, but our tuk-tuk driver knew Villa Rosa, so no problems.
We had a short walk around the lake, then visited the Temple of the Tooth. We had not intended to have a guide, but somehow seemed to end up with one, before we realised it! In the end, it was probably advantgeous, as without him we would have missed things & not been aware when/what we were allowed to go/photograph.
After a quick look around the town & a stop for a drink (& use the toilets) in a restaurant, we then took a tuk-tuk to the Botanical Gardens, which were a very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours (or a lot longer, if you've got the time).
Another tuk-tuk took us to the Kandyan Dance show, which we enjoyed, with the fire walking afterwards, then another tuk-tuk back to the hotel, in time for dinner.

Food at the hotel was gorgeous - they offer western dishes, but we stuck with the rice & curry, which was different every evening. And the fried bananas for dessert, are to die for!
Breakfast was fresh fruit, eggs (cooked whichever way), then toast, with tea or coffee.

I was quite concerned about getting poorly. As a precaution, we had taken probiotic multivitamins for a few weeks prior & during our visit. We only drank bottled water & also used this to clean our teeth. No ice cubes (although nowhere seemed to offer them) in drinks. We also used antibacterial hand gel frequently. All this seemed to work, as my worries were unjustified & we had no problems.

It was my 50th birthday during our visit - and on the morning of my birthday, my partner Andrew, proposed to me, over breakfast on our balcony.
Later in the day, whilst out on a trip with Nilanka, we mentioned that we were celebrating.
On our return to the Hotel, we found Champagne & Roses in our room. This was followed by Mahesh, Nilanka & Dila (our waiter) presenting me with a birthday cake, complete with candle.
We had also mentioned to Nilanka that we had not had 'Hoppers' yet, which we had read about.
Dinner that evening, was served with Hoppers!
I can't thank them all enough, for making our day such a special memory.

A great hotel, with friendly staff, who go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay.
Highly recommended - Special thanks to Nilanka, Mahesh & the Chef!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely - Great views & 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here while in Kandy and were unlucky enough to have very bad weather at this time which did not show the hotel at it's best. The views here were superb even with the bad weather. The friendly staff, good food, lovely setting and clean room were positives but disappointing to find tired bathroom. Recommended but bathroom needs updating. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and this hotel is well worth visiting if staying around Kandy.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room which was very clean and had lovely views open onto balcony. just the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: 71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Asgiriya
Rosa Hotel Asgiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.