We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION, GOOD FOOD , FRIENDLY STAFF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Rosa
Save
You added Villa Rosa to your Saves list
71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION, GOOD FOOD , FRIENDLY STAFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A short distance from the town of Kandy itself, situated at the top of a steep hill and with lovely views overlooking a river valley.This is small boutique hotel with around 9 rooms, most of which have their own balconies where you take breakfast, dinner can also be served here or in a small central dining room. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner here on our first night which was home cooked to our requirements and delicious.Our room was large and comfortable, our only criticism would be that we felt the bathroom could do with and upgrade but don't let that put you off from staying here - we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
105
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in a spacious room with AC 20 meters from the main building. Everything we asked for and needed to do og get could be arranged by the friendly management and the well trained staff. The view from the different terraces and dining spots in the Villa Rosa Garden are just breathtaking, and the atmosphere makes it natural for guests to interact and communicate if they wish to. We played table tennis in the garden. We also had some nice swimming in the pool at the lower situated Citadel Hotel, which was free of charge when you are a Villa Rosa guest. But we felt lucky for staying at Villa Rosa instead of the Citadel. The Villa Rosa cuisine is really good and we can only reccomend this place to any travveler, who wants something quiet, different and full of quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This charming hotel is perched at the top of a wooded hill overlooking the meandering river which flows through Kandy. The views and scenery are spectacular. Our room on the ground floor had a terrace with dining area where we had our breakfast watching the sun rise on the hills opposite. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly. If you want a quiet, peaceful small hotel within easy reach of the centre of Kandy, I can thoroughly recommend Villa Rosa. The hotel does not have a swimming pool, but has an arrangement ( at a cost of a few rupees) with a large hotel 10 minutes by tuk-tuk away with a huge 25 metre pool next to the river.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The view from the Villa Rosa is quite spectacular! The highlight of our stay was eating breakfast and dinner out on that overhang featured in the pictures. The breakfast was fantastic. One day we had a "western" breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast, etc., starting off with a wonderful plate of fresh local fruit. The next day we had the fruit and then a Sri Lankan breakfast. Sitting there, sipping tea and gazing out on the river valley below is a wonderfully calming experience. For dinner one night, we ate out at another valley side table that was completely secluded so that we could have a nice dinner while gazing at the city lights below. The rice and curry could not be beat!!

Volker and his staff catered to our every need and we felt quite at home with them. Villa dogs Tina and Brandy kept watch over the property and welcomed us as part of the family. Special mention should go to our driver David. He picked us up at the airport and drove us all over the countryside for the three days we were in the Central Region. He brought us up to Sigiriya and Dumbulla on one day and to a tea plantation and the elephant orphanage on our way back to Colombo the next. David is a kind soul who truly cares about the people who he drives, and worked very hard for us. When we went to the elephant orphanage, David made sure that my wife got a chance to participate in the baby elephant bottle feeding, which meant a lot to her. He also haggled and cajoled the restauranteurs along the riverside in order to get us a great table from which to watch the elephants come down to bathe in the river. David logged in long hours with us and yet expressed sadness to see us go when he dropped us off in Colombo at the end of the third of three long days on the road.

Staying at the Villa Rosa was nothing short of the cornerstone of our successful trip. The staff was friendly, the view fantastic, the food delicious, and the location key (centrally located in Kandy).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends for one night during our trip around Sri Lanka. This place is fantastic! It was like an oasis out of busy Kandy.

The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. We had a lovely dinner and breakfast and were very well looked after.

Our room was clean and spacious. I would highly recommend this place if you're in Kandy!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had a 3 day stay at Villa Rosa and what a brilliant experience. Volker and his team set out to make us feel at home and they achieved this in fine style with nothing being too much trouble from the minute we arrived. The views are even better than the pictures on the website and relax you as soon as you see them. Volker and the lads ensure that all of your needs, from a great breakfast through to the trips are all arranged exactly as you want them to be finished off with great evening meals. Simply put they create a fantastic atmosphere in a stunning location.

While the Villa Rosa is 5 minutes outside Kandy this is actually an advantage as it means that you can balance the buzz of the town with the tranquility of the hills. Don't worry if you want a bit of a swim as although the Villa Rosa does not have its own pool of their own you can use the facility at another hotel and they will take you there and back in the hotel tuc-tuc.

All in all we strongly recommend the Villa Rosa as a great place to stay if you are visiting Kandy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel was the highlight of our honeymoon. We had the honeymoon suite at the top of the hotel which was amazing, fantastic view and huge balcony with bath tub! The staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay so personal. The food was fantastic and we even got to see how it was prepared in their kitchen. We loved everything about the place and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: 71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Asgiriya
Rosa Hotel Asgiriya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.