We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must For Coffee Lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Coffee

Natural Coffee
No.5, Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+(94)812205734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 68 restaurants in Kandy
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Dessert, Café
Description: There are 3 first in the cafe Natural Coffee. 1. We are the first cafe in Kandy to serve fair trade and the exclusive quality coffee grown entirely in Sri Lanka. Sri Lankan coffee once became extinct in 19C, but it has been revived in the 2010s. 2. We are the first cafe in the country with full involvement of ladies.3. We are the first cafe in the world to complete Fair Trade in the district.Opening hour from 9:00 to 20:00.
Restaurant details
Description: There are 3 first in the cafe Natural Coffee. 1. We are the first cafe in Kandy to serve fair trade and the exclusive quality coffee grown entirely in Sri Lanka. Sri Lankan coffee once became extinct in 19C, but it has been revived in the 2010s. 2. We are the first cafe in the country with full involvement of ladies.3. We are the first cafe in the world to complete Fair Trade in the district.Opening hour from 9:00 to 20:00.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must For Coffee Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm a regular at this place. I haven't been able to find real coffee anywhere else in Kandy (all Nescafe), so this place is definitely a treasure. Tuesdays are my favorite days, because it's "Lady's Day" and prices are half off for women. Sorry guys. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi is a bonus. The one down side is not having many food choices on the menu for a snack.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    28
    8
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gliwice, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“coffee ok, but very pricey...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

OK.. so the place is small and cozy inside, however it doesn't look 'sri lankan'.. maybe it is on purpose, but we didn't like it. The prices are European.. which we didn't like either. Staff very nice, very quiet.
What surprised us was the Chopin music playing in the background... very nice touch... especially for us as we are from Poland:).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Coffee is not great - but the smell os great and love the cozy setting with beautiful china set”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The smell of coffee in the shop is delightful. The coffee is not the best in the world, but well coffee is not what Sri Lanka is best known for.

We arrived late at around 8pm. Waiter told us they will close at 9pm - however we were ask to hurry by 8:30pm politely so that they can prepare to close shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

After a nice visit at the Buddha's Tooth Temple, this unique, two-story coffee shop offers a great French press coffee to top off your cultural experience.

The staff at this shop are very knowledgeable about the coffee that is served in this cafe, and are attentive and helpful during your entire stay.

For foreigners traveling, they offer free WiFi, so you can catch up on email, facebook, or the news.

Try to get the seat by the second story window, it's a great view of people walking up to and from the famous Sri Lankan Temple.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The Best Coffee place in Kandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely place right in the heart of Kandy in front of the Temple of the Tooth Relic couldn't have been in a better place. Ambiance is all about coffee and service is brilliant and best of coffee it is. The best coffee place in Kandy. And you have wifi too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Natural Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.