We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms, lovely staff & setting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tree of Life

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tree of Life to your Saves list
Hotel Tree of Life
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms, lovely staff & setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

Although the setting and the grounds for this hotel, well outside the crowded streets of Kandy, are beautifully green and lush, at least some of the rooms are positively dire. We originally has a large suite, with dreary old bedding and drapes, a carpet that was scary to walk on, and a balcony overlooking a car park and building site. We begged to change rooms, had to wait one night to do so, and in the end gladly moved to a much smaller room for the benefit of a clean tiled floor. This despite the fact that the hotel is busy building a new wing and a spa, so I guess they have money to invest - but should spend it giving badly needed make-overs to the existing facilities rather than building new areas. Staff, as always in Sri Lanka, were lovely. Pool nice but very cold. Food just fine but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
27
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

We stayed here in June 2004 for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in a lovely setting but the accommodation fell short of the mark. we were given a 'cottage' or 'bungalow' room. The first room we had was downright filthy, including severe bug problems in the bathroom, and piles of old hair brushed into the corners. In addition we were given a room with twin beds despite having specifically requested a double. We didn't sleep well that night which was probably not helped by an array of local dogs barking from hilltop to hilltop well into the early hours.

when we complained the next morning about the room (on cleanliness and lack of double bed grounds), we were told there were no rooms with double beds available. On further complaint, one was then found but my husband discovered that a bug had been eating away at one of the bed slats - the management's response was to provide a new bed slat but having got the camera out to photograph the slat we were then upgraded to a 'suite' saying they would 'work something out'. After a call to the travel agent in the UK who then contacted the hotel directly, to make sure no extra charge was levied, we didn't have to pay extra. However, even the 'business suite' we were then in, was not clean, and had a distinctly musty smell. The carpet was very marked, and the bathroom was functional but again, dirty.

the restaurant staff were good and the food was acceptable, but on one night there was a function going on in the outdoor restaurant and we were relegated to a room downstairs, inside, stuffy and cramped. And dirty.

Considering that we booked 6 months in advance and they were fully aware that it was our honeymoon, we felt we were treated as second-class in comparison with an ayurvedic 'doctor's convention' going on at the hotel at the time.

We know you can get much better quality accommodation in Sri Lanka, for the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2005

we stayed for 2 days/nights as part of a 18 day tour. Once the home of a former tea plantation manager the original bungalow is lovely, and the accommadation directly behind the bungalow looked very nice. we were taken to rooms further on not in keeping with the original house, a rather ugly building. Our room was your average hotel room with a damp smell to it. In saying that the staff were fantastic, food good and very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2004

A very special experience it was (2 years back). From the hustle bustle of Kandy city to this oasis of peace 10 miles to the SouthWest. Hotel is really 8-10 different buildings amidst an old plantation, with impressive modern architecture that still mingles nicely with the landscape.
Rooms were nice: spacious and with views of the lush surroundings. Walks in the resort garden and swims are a nice way to spend the time - watch the botanical garden-style name plates on many trees and plants. Staff friendly and reasonable restaurant food. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tree of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree of Life

Address: Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kandy
#11 Spa Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tree of Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tree of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tree of Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.