We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn!!! The worst experience of my life in a hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tree of Life

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tree of Life to your Saves list
Hotel Tree of Life
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Damn!!! The worst experience of my life in a hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well, it was our second honeymoon day. We came directly from Amaya Hunas falls but this Hotel Tree of (no)Life ruined the good time we had in Amaya Hunas falls.
We booked a room with a double bed room but they put us to a twin bed room as they didn't have enough staff to arrange the correct room on time. They told us that they can arrange a double room in two hours. So we agreed as there was no other option left. They asked us to keep our luggage in the twin room as other rooms are quite far from this reception area where the aforesaid twin rooms are located; we hoped that they would move our luggage to the double bedroom.
Rather than just waiting 2 hours doing nothing, we decided to have a drink by the pool and do some swimming.
Somehow we got the key of the double bed room in matter of 45 minutes and in fact they have moved our luggage there. It was really shocking to see a room messy like that. It was the most disgusting hotel room which I've ever seen in my life. How come these people just move our luggage to an unprepared room and hand us over keys?
Obviously, I got angry and asked for the manager. After sometime one gentleman showed up and told us that this is a mistake and apologized for the incontinent we faced. We accepted it and waited around 1 and half hours more to get our room.
Even after arranging the room by hotel staff, it was not so clean. The funniest thing in this hotel is that they make double beds by joining two single beds. Rooms are really small although there's a small balcony as a good point.
There's no privacy at all since gust in the next room were disturbed by us from a simple conversation I had with my wife; it was the same thing that we heard whatever they talked.
The dinner buffet was not bad looking but I got a major diarrhea and Loose Motions by the dawn. Luckily my wife had some pills with her to make the Loose Motions stopped. If not it would have been the day of disaster since It was the Kandian traditional dress I wore for our homecoming function in Sri Lanka.
The bridal dresser came in the dawn but the internal lighting of the room was pathetic so it was really hard her to select those cosmetics for my wife. Even though I asked hotel staff to change a light bulb in the room, they were never able to do it by keep on saying we don't have enough the electrician at this time. Somehow she managed to the makeup although the whole schedule had to be pushed 1 and had hours.
After taking all outdoor photos by the photographer (well, actually we booked this hotel because of the photographer) we were off to Kurunegala where our homecoming function was arranged. With our costumes we couldn't move out from car to reception area, so my brother was talking to the reception. The reception was kept on saying that we haven't paid although we had the email confirmation hard copy for the online payment of 140USD. As we were already late to the homecoming function, there was no other option left for us other than paying cash to leave from the place. Again we paid around 16,000LKR in cash and finally we were out from the horrible Tree of Life Hotel.
It took more than 3 months to get the money I paid back through a wire transfer to one of my accounts in Sri Lanka. Anyhow it was only 115USD I got back since Sri Lankan Rupee got depreciated badly during that time.
As the conclusion, I strongly suggest to keep away from this old hotel if you don't want to waste your time and money for nothing.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms in this hotel to give tips. If you are a couple, better c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
27
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed only one night over there. The view and hotel decoration was really nice with natural view. We were supposed to have a good time there but after one guy in receptionist gave us the key to get in to our reserved room, oh my god.......they gave us the used room. My husband got mad and he took long time to find the right guy to ask for a room change.

The hotel room was like a public place because whatever people in next room were talking, it came to my ears even we did not want to hear and we tried to use the little voice to communicate each other. Hmmm, i recommend not to stay in this stupid hotel.

Btw, we booked online for this hotel and our credit card statement was announced that this hotel charged from us. But in the day we checked out, the receptionist said we did not pay and required us to pay again. We were in argument and took a lot of time as we were rush to our home coming function.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel looked really promising - beautiful gates, driveway and reception. And that is where it ended. We opened the door to our room and were greeted by a terrible stench (smell) of mould. We quickly closed the door to the bathroom where it was coming. The room was a shoebox size with old furniture and overlooked a staircase. Cold water in the shower. We poured a glass of water from the jug - finding insects swimming in it. The bathroom was disgusting with a pealing toilet seat and shower looking like it had seen better days. In terms of sleep quaility - poor - the walls are paper thin and security clomps up and down the hallway at night - really noisy.

One positive for this hotel - the food ! Delicious fresh ingredients. We had both the Sri Lankan curry as well as the Mongolian stirfry - where you choose the ingredients to be cooked before your eyes. A great chef !

Overall, avoid this hotel at all costs. It is expensive and terrible. Time for a total refurbishment.

Room Tip: Good luck and suggest you try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of Kandy it really was worth the extra 30 minutes travle to stay in the Tree of Life. Lovely and quiet and we payed the extra for a 2 floor room. As with most of Sri Lanka the room wasn't spotless but it was ok. No laundry facilities when we stayed there though which was a down side after sweating in a minibus for 8 hours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel itself was fine in terms of service and standards, though there was, for us, a rather folorn atmosphere here despite the beautiful setting. There seemed to be more staff than guests so it lacked vibrancy and, though I detest noise, was just too lonely. The room was fine though it could have done with a lick of paint and some modernization. The food was fine not fabulous. Kandy was a stunning place and I would have preferred perhaps to be a bit close for more wandering.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine - though it was quiet when we were there, they catered for wedding parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A Good hotel (but not Very Good); worth for the price compared to other hotels in Kandy.
Tasty food although there aren’t much of a variety. Ayurvedic spa is really good; do not miss it if you are visiting there.
Could have been a far better place if the gardens and the surroundings are properly maintained. Average rooms together with average staff service. There was a delay in checking-out due to some system failures.
Tree of Life is having high level of historic values since this has been a famous resting place in Kandy Era.

Not much of a speciality except for the peacefulness.

Room Tip: Go for a non-connecting room; there are few of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I found this hotel amazing, considering its location in the middle of a 60 acre estate. Pleasant staff and excellent food. I think the staff is doing such a bad job on promoting the property, its actually a resort where they offer ayurvedic treatment. I guess the ranking is based on old reviews. only thing was its about 8 kms away from city core. Anyway thanx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tree of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree of Life

Address: Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kandy
#11 Spa Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tree of Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tree of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tree of Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.