We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good considering the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tree of Life

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tree of Life to your Saves list
Hotel Tree of Life
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good considering the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The rooms were clean but not too fancy. The buffet was okay, though not too much choice. The location is quite picturesque. We were pleasantly surprised when the staff went out of their way to provide us with a cuisine we requested. The musician did play somewhat rather cheesy ballads all night on an 80's keyboard. Not as bad as some claim, and happy to stay there again considering the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
27
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel, as the name indicates, is located in the middle of the forest. Therefore, the view was nice and relaxing. We even spotted several monkeys, which was a big treat for the children. It is about 20 minutes by car from Kandy.
Apart from the location, the hotel is rather on the lower end. The rooms and bathrooms were big, but quite old and extremely basic.
The service was quite bad, as we had to request everything at least 3 times until it was done.
While the buffet offered a large variety of food, it wasn't great.
The pool was ok, but there were no sunbeds to lie down. In the evening, with the lighting, the pool area did have a nice 1960s ambiance though.
All in all, great location if you like to stay somewhere more quite and love nature, but poor service and very basic rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The resort location and facilities are excellent. The only issue we had was choice of vegetarian food. As is the case in most resorts, variety of vegetarian food is limited and unfortunately or fortunately I am a vegetarian.
The room also has a mini-bar which cools drinks quickly, but they are not complimentary. Anyway, not too expensive either.
Restaurant is by the swimming pool and the ambiance is very good. The rest of the resort also has a really good ambiance. Gives the feel of a forest lodge.
Yes, there are insects and care needs to be taken to keep all windows and doors shut after dark, else you will have some "never seen before" insects getting into the rooms.
Overall, It is the ambiance of the place that really makes the difference. It is very far from all the hustle and bustle of the city.
A really soothing experience staying here. Wanted to rate 4.5 stars but I do not have that option.

Room Tip: Excellent rooms and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

It's very far from Kandy and very dirty rooms that we couldn't sleep... the insects every where .. the resturant nothing to eat and all the food pork ?? we stayed there for two nights , but it was the worest night i had in sri lanka ..
Don't see the pic. from website cause the pic. is totally different ????

Room Tip: no good room for sure ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The accomodation was very average but clean. But keeping in mind that the original homestead (bungalow style) was bilt in the early 1900'sdoes change one's perspective. Adequate - nestled in wooded area.
Dining area and swimming pool beuatifully located.
Perk - the grounds are often used for photographing wedding couples especially in traditional attire and I had the blessing of seeing exactly such a wedding party on the front crochet lawn!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had booked 3 rooms for one night and out of 3 two rooms were stinking so badly that we were unable to breathe even after spraying the room fresheners. During the dinner time the rice served to us was half cooked. There were lot of monkeys around and in the morning one monkey entered one of the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We walked in to the Tree of Life and loved the location. It's far away from the bustle and crowds of Kandy and perfect to come back to after a hectic day of sight seeing. But keep in mind that it's far away location also means that it's pretty unapproachable unless you have a taxi of your own or are willing to pay a lot to the taxis/rickshaws.
While we loved the scenic location and views from here, the rooms disappointed us. The curtains, bed sheets, mattresses and the overall feel and quality were at best, passable. The hotel charged us a discounted price of USD 100 but we found it too pricey given the standard of the rooms . We'd rate it as a 2.5 - 3 star place, though they claim to be 4 star.
One of the staff took us to see the villas on the property. The view from the villas is stunning, the villas are great too but at USD 250++ per night, a little steep.
Overall, it's a mixed bag. Pleasant location and awesome views, but average rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tree of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tree of Life

Address: Yahalatenna, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kandy
#11 Spa Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tree of Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tree of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tree of Life, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.