We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with best booking rate in Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Thilanka to your Saves list
Hotel Thilanka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Hamburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“hotel with best booking rate in Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Time of stay: 26.-27. Febr. 2009

roomnumber: 691 (double room)

rate: 65 EUR per room (including breakfast) - booking by a Sri Lankan guide can be cheaper

Pro:
+tasteful room interior
+great view on the 6th floor
+monkeys on your balcony
+15 meter pool with great view
+great location next to the "tooth-relict temple" in the center of Kandy


Contra:
-dirty table cloths (haven't been changed in 2 days)
-dirty curtins with whole and stains in restaurant
-unfriendly and slow staff in restaurant
-internet acces 7 EUR/hour

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    245
    128
    32
    26
See reviews for
131
244
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UAE/India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

My girlfriend, her sister and I stayed at this hotel since we were visiting kandy and its surroundings like pinnawella, tea factories etc. We liked the room and pool very much. At night we decided to have a la carte instead of the dinner buffet.
We ordered 2 dishes and I ordered a pasta. I got my order 1 hour later.....pathetic!! when i asked the waiter why i got the order so late, he said, "its the kitchens fault and not ours". So much for staff training i guess!! Cannot even reply politely.
I summoned the restaurant manager and when i asked him why it was late he said the same thing and asked me what he could do to help! I told him to cancel my order and give me something that came on time. Then he suggested that i help myself to the buffet!! i told him i will think about it.......then a swift reply came which said, "so thats what you want"!!!! i was shocked at his attitude and his cheap attempt at making me feel guilty!! I refused, as i had lost my appetite and did not eat anything that night. My girlfriend shared her meal with me instead.
I think this sort of a feedback from my side will "hopefully" improve your services in the future to all your asian clients. Staff training is a must expecially in Food and Beverage at your hotel.
The front office staff were wonderful and it was a smooth check in and check out.
I also did a shirodhara and was amazed at the spa services. The doctor did a good job, and so did the therapists.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I've just returned from Sri Lanka yesterday and had a wonderful time. I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 kids (11) (14) for one night whilst on a trip to Kandy.

LOCATION - The hotel is in Kandy on a hill looking down onto Kandy lake. The views from some of the rooms are amazing. We had the suite room, which had views to the front and side of the hotel over the lake and mountains. It's just a short walk down the hill to Kandy lake and also the Temple of the Tooth. It is also just around the corner from the Kandy cultural show.

ROOMS - The room we had was the suite and was huge. They put 4 beds in there and we also had a snug room with views over the mountains. There was a mini bar and a kettle. We also had a balcony overlooking Kandy. But beware of the monkeys!!! One came on to our balcony and my son fed it a banana, 5 minutes later there were about 50 monkeys on our balcony and they were trying to open the patio doors into our room!!! The bathroom is spacious and had a bath with glass showers doors. The shower was hot and powerful and the towels provided were clean.

FOOD - We had breakfast and dinner at this hotel and both were lovely food. Breakfast consisted of hot food, freshly cooked omlettes, beans, sausage, bacon etc. Aso there were all different kinds of bread and cereal. The restaurant interior is clean and very artistically designed, with nice lighting and pictures on the wall. Dinner was even better than breakfast, there were curry dishes, but also non-spicy food. They even had home cooked chips, which we found was very rare in Sri Lanka...in fact any chips were rare!! There were plenty of vegetarian options at both meals and drink prices were reasonable.

HOTEL FACILITIES - the best feature of this hotel was the pool. It overlooks Kandy lake and sunbeds and towels are provided free of charge. It was quite a cold pool, but this was nice as the weather was hot! There was also a bar and a small shop at the hotel. There was an Avyveda spa at the hotel too, but we never used it so can't really comment.

I would definately stay at this hotel again, it must have some of the best views in Kandy and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on a tour of Sri Lanka.
Good quality and spacious rooms with a balcony overlooking the gardens and Kandy. All was very clean. Food was buffet style taken in a pleasant dining area, they also did a BBQ. The pool was a very nice area, although unfortunatley we didnt have time to go in it!
Would definatley reccomend.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

This is a comfortable hotel located at the top of a steep hill - a 10 minute walk from Kandy Lake. I booked a room in the new wing. These rooms are spacious and have wonderful views from the balcony of Kandy and the lake. The bathrooms are large and have all you need. The furniture in the room is a little tired but the views make up for this. TV reception is hopeless as with so many hotels in Sri Lanka.

My rate included breakfast and evening meal. I have to say the buffet dinner was really, really poor. There was a measely salad bar and a mix of school dinner Western food and toned down and therefore tasteless Sri Lankan dishes.

Let your taxi driver book and pay for the hotel as he will receive the 'local' rate and not the extortionate rate charged to tourists.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed here on the second night of our four day tour. We were a little apprehensive after the standard of our first night's hotel, however were quite happy with the tour operator's choice this time. The room was quite spacious and clean. I was a bit concerned with the bedding as the sheets seemed to be well used and they should be replaced. Good breakfast buffet . A nice hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony
  • Disliked — The old sheets.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I got this hotel through my driver and paid US45 for a single room/b'fast/dinner.
I had the best rooms which include an open air secure foyer in front of each double room. It was quite clean and would have suited a honeymoon couple. The TV had hopeless reception, and I didnt have hot water one morning, but it was a unique and enjoyable experience. The swimming pool needed the side tiles wiped of soil, but everything else about the hotel was spotless. The staff were the best I encountered in Sri Lanka, helpful and appeared to enjoy their jobs and lives.
Great views over the man made lake, monkeys howling at sunset, bats swooping at dusk.
I did have a problem when I left with Reception, my organised buffet dinner on the first night was taken at 6.00pm, when the restaurant opened at 7.00pm. Even though my buffet was prepaid, I had to pay 800R extra because I ate before that 7.00pm curfew. I got pissed with their inability to be flexible and reasonable (I didn't meet many SL's who were able to make a decision) so didn't tip the staff , and I felt really mean for taking it out on them.
Summary:
Thilanka is a very good hotel to stay at.
The staff are very good.

  • Liked — Different and unusual in an exotic sense
  • Disliked — Reception, non thinkers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#12 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Thilanka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Thilanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.