We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So experience at Swiss Residence, Kandy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Residence to your Saves list
Swiss Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 23, Bahirawakanda, Kandy, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“So-So experience at Swiss Residence, Kandy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We travelled here as part of a tour group and stayed one night.

First the good part- The hotel looked very nice on the outside. The food was great and they had a live band to entertain. The deck had nice views of Kandy and it had a lovely pool.

The bad - The corridor lights on our floor were off when we arrived, and we had to grope in the dark to find the light switch, then managed to find the door to our rooms. The room was dirty, the bed had worn springs and you sunk into it when you sleep. The bath room was really worn out. One member of the group saw dust spewing out from the air conditioner when she powered it on. The TV had bad reception and we could not seem to find an english channel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    54
    31
    20
See reviews for
39
61
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The Swiss Residence was really great. Our room was on the third floor and had a beautiful view of Kandy. It was fairly basic but very clean, and the TV had only one channel in English, but who goes to Sri Lanka to watch TV anyway?

The lobby was nice, TV, pool table, bar, etc. There was a nice deck and pool with white christmas lights all around at night, but we never had time to swim. The restaurant actually had some really decent food and good beer.....I had an amazing oriental dish there. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was very good, and it was made to order, not a buffet like in another review.

Overall, it was a great experience and very reasonably priced. We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

When we first arrived at this hotel, it was pouring down with rain, and I mean heavy heavy rain, I nearly had a heart attack when the car started to roll back down the very steep drive.

The hotel was very empty when we stayed, in fact I think we saw about 8 people, but I have to say it was one of the best nights in Sri Lanka.

We had several drinks in the bar (excellent service, lovely man really looked after us). and chatted and played pool with the only other people in the hotel. The reception desk on the floor below was being demolished while we were there, I am sure some people would have moaned, but it didnt really bother us.

The actually hotel reminded us of the shining....but I think the horror film weather did not help with this.

We ate the restaurant that night and we were the only people, that would not have been a problem apart from the staff were so attentive they pretty much watched us for the entire meal, which was a shame, but they just wanted to make sure we were ok and enjoying the food, ok it was a little cold, but most hotels we stayed in served luke warm food.

If we had visited on a sunny day I am sure we would have had a completly different experience, but we enjoyed it and it was a great stop off point for Kandy.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We booked to stay at the Swiss residence for 5 nights on a B&B basis in a standard room for £28 a night. The bad points were...

Breakfast was buffet style and stone cold.
No fridge or kettle in the room.
No cable TV as advertised (complained 4 times)
Dirty bedding.
Got completly ripped off by the hotel driver, £260 to tour the ancient cities and a national park. Then they tried to charge us 3 times the going rate to go to Kalutara.

Good points were...
Great view.
Friendly staff.
Cheap pool table.

There are lots of nice hotels for less money in Sri Lanka so shop around, looking back I wish we had booked one night and looked around before staying here.

I would recommend using the travel agents next to Temple of the tooth in town, cheap and reliable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw13, Owner at Swiss Residence, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
This complaint has been reviewed and we welcome the information.

However we wish to mention:
• Internationally, if a client has a complaint this should be made at the time of their stay, so any complaint could be dealt with immediately. Unfortunately no complaints have been made.
• We have 3 types of rooms. The room booked here has been the standard room for the lowest rate, with no fridge or kettle.
• Satellite TV is available in the lobby.
• We provide fresh linen to all our rooms. Room are made up twice daily. Here again no complaints have been made at the time.
• The most shocking and damaging fact is the mention of a £ 260 charge for a tour. This is highly inaccurate and false information. A tour was organised at a rate of £ 62.
We sincerely apologise for any service which was not to your satisfaction, but would appreciate if you would refrain from publicizing such false information which is totally incorrect and exaggerated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We arrived in Kandy from Colombo late in the evening in a hired car. Not very far from the centre of the town you wind your way on a narrow road to the top of a hill. The views are breath taking. The hotel has a decent parking, at a slightly lower level. There is a huge Buddha monument just half a km away, and can be seen from the hotel. The walk to the monument is very pleasant.
The rooms provide great views of either the village behind or the lovely green valley in front. There is a small swimming pool on the cliff. The restaurant offers good Srilankan and cotinental food. The foof and room tariffs are resonable. The walls of the hotel are adorned by some great paintings made by a former employee. You are away brom the bustle of the city, yet not too far away from its centre. All in all agreat place to spend a couple of days at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Lovely views
  • Disliked — Speep stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Idiot that I am we arrived at Hotel Suisse in Kandy only to discover that I had booked for Swiss Residences- make sure you get the right Swiss/Suisse when you book! 15 Minutes later we arrived via some steep, winding hillside at Swiss Residences.
The hotel overlooks Kandy and our tiny balcony provided us with some breathtaking views of the city and surrounding countryside. For anyone wanting to walk into Kandy for the night this hotel is a no go as it is too far, too hilly and too darkly lit to get into town by anything other than taxi. As we'd already done our Kandyan dancing on the way there and had very little interest in city life, it had everything we needed for a short stopover on our tour of the Island. The hotel was of a high standard, rooms were fine and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and very efficient- definitely the most well organised hotel we stayed at during our time in Sri Lanka. Hotel has a nice swimming pool which we didn't have time to sample although we could hear the voices of kids playing in it at about 8pm at night- for the mozzies it must have been Kandyan festival come early! . Evening meal was a bit limited on choice but well priced, breakfast similar. They also have some shops, business and leisure facilities.
If you want the hustle and bustle of the City then look elsewhere, but if you are passing through and want a cheap, comfortable, quiet place to stay then this is for you.

  • Liked — Clean and conmortable- good value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Residence

Address: No. 23, Bahirawakanda, Kandy, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Residence Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.