We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Needs renovation badly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalada Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location. Needs renovation badly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked into Queens in order to see the Kandy Perahara. It was very sad to see a great hotel in this terrible state. The service was poor. The room was very shabby. Essential items were missing. No bedside lamp, no place to hang a bath towel. very old and shabby shower, taps rusty and old. Soap holder in the bathroom broken and could not hold a piece of soap.
The buffet was good but the waiters very inefficient.
Value for money 3/10
Someone please refurbish this hotel
The Perahara was wonderful
NR USA

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    228
    154
    70
    50
See reviews for
108
207
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After arriving from Colombo we were not impressed by the Queens at all. We were not given inter-connecting or adjacent rooms which we had requested and the rooms were poor. The door didn't reach the door frame making it very loud and the rooms where un-inspiring and dirty. The main highlight is the grand lobby however the whole hotel appeared to have had its day a long time ago!

Good location but that's it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms in the BACK of the hotel otherwise extremely loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there last week and thought the place was super.i note a lot of review miss the basic fact it is an old colonial style hotel with hardback to the days of the British.Take that on and you enjoy it. the room was spacious and had a fan as well a fully working AC , tea making facility and mini bar. The pool was great after a long day out!
We also ate in the Restarant one night and the food was really great. The Sri Lanka dishes were super ...essentially curry but there was a huge variety of fresh fruit with papaya and pineapple featuring predominately.
We also tried the in house Chinese restaurant which again was super though service could have been quicker.
All in all a great place to stay with the real feel of Kandy and located right by the lake and next door to the Temple of the Buddhas tooth!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Queens hotel in Kandy is a totally disgusting place. Please don’t waste your money there.
Where oh where shall I begin…..
Me and three other friends went to Mountbatten’s bar and sat down….30 minutes later, no waiter or anyone around to take our order or bring us a menu. Finally flagged someone down and asked for a menu. Of course the guy brings only one menu. Strike One. I am flabbergasted as to how he thinks that one menu will suffice for four people sitting at the table. I wonder if we should have said to him “bring four menus’ please” as there were four of us. But for a hotel bar/snack shop it was just kind of assumed that the staff would be able to use common sense and bring four menus for the four of us…anyway, moving along, we asked him to bring more menu’s for the rest of us…he brings one more menu. It would have been more trouble to ask him to bring four menus so we made do with the two among the four of us. Strike Two.
We ordered some sandwiches and tea. Another 30 minutes later it arrives. We asked for ketchup….and (drum roll please…get ready!) HE GOES TO ANOTHER TABLE AND PICKS UP THE USED KETCHUP DISH FROM THE OTHER TABLE AND PUTS IT DOWN ON OUR TABLE…!!! It had bits and pieces of the other people’s food in it too. Strike Three. We were totally flabbergasted and disgusted! So now I decided not to eat anything here. If this is what is happening in the open, imagine what is happening behind in the kitchen.
After the non-eating of the food, we were looking around and noticed how shabby and un-kept and unclean everything was. Broken and unclean light fixtures, unclean floors. Everything was just gross.
We asked a lady (seemed like a manager type) in Sinhalese about the surrounding area. She answers back in English!! I wonder if she was trying to practice her English or what but I found it extremely rude that when spoken to in one’s native language they feel the need to respond back in English. Why? To show us she knows how to speak English? Insecurity? Have no clue. Clearly these people are not proud of their language and heritage (ironically being in a cultural heritage center). Strike Four.
Our bill comes. Two extra teas were added to the bill. Strike Five.
Overall this place is disgusting and filthy. The staff is not trained at all and have no idea how to behave or serve. The words “customer service” is probably lost on them.
Save your money people. Go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On arrival at the hotel, we were wowed by the very central location (just by The Temple of the Tooth), and the very grand lobby.

Unfortunately. it was downhill from there - our room was in a far flung corner, and was clearly not used very often - there was a musty smell and the decor was fading and scruffy. The room itself was huge, but could have been much more comfortably furnished (a sofa or comfy chair would have been nice) and better lit. The bathroom was also enormous, but the shower was sadly mostly a dribble of occasionally warm (but often not) water. One of the bedside lights didn't work (which was obvious to the porter when he showed us the room, but he did nothing about it. However, it was eventually fixed when we asked at reception later), and the mattress on one of the beds was appalling. We also asked for a blanket, but one was never provided.

On the plus side, staff were friendly enough, the bar was very pleasant, the pool looked nice (though it was mostly raining when we were there so we didn't get to try it), and breakfast was very good. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night, and were impressed by the buffet (though a bit put off by the local musicians)!

If this was a cheap hotel, I would not complain at all, but I think it has much grander pretensions, and for the price I would expect some modernisation! Elsewhere in Sri Lanka we stayed in much nicer places for less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights when visiting kandy, lovely hotel, rooms spotless and staff very friendly. pool was lovely too with guy regularly cleaning around it. wasn't mad about the food here but as its a large hotel that can often be expected with buffet style. the Chinese restaurant upstairs is lovely but the wine is very expensive. its situated just across from the lake for a lovely walk and shopping area is just a stroll down the street.

Room Tip: i would chose a room at the back of the hotel if i stayed again as rooms with lake view are noisy in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were sent to this hotel by a tour company and did not preview it.
The location is excellent. Right in the centre of things. We were initially installed in rooms facing the road alongside the hotel - which were really noisy. However the staff rapidly moved us. The place felt like going to my Grandmothers (and I am 65!!) - so do not expect modern. That was not a problem but the shower was: it was really filthy and the door would not shut. The bed was as hard as nails and neither of us slept as a result. It also seemed to move away from the wall in the night!! (No idea why). There was no hair dryer - which was problem for my wife. There was no safe.
The breakfast was OK: average fare but the buffet was reasonable. The bar was pleasant and the service there was good. We ate one evening meal and it was unexceptional but reasonable.
The staff were nice and fairly friendly and unobtrusive. The pool was lovely.
It needs rennovation. It could retain all the old elements - which are quite charming in a1940-1950s way - and be a lot better as a result with a few sensible upgrades and a bit more attention to detail. It would be a great pity if they do not do that - because it could be very good
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Dalada Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.