We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old colonial hotel - excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalada Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
cayman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old colonial hotel - excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Queens Hotel in the recent T20 World Cup. If you are aware of the type of hotel, you will have a great time. The hotel is an old colonial hotel, going back to Victorian times. It is steeped in history and is brimful of character and times gone by. However, it is obviously not a brand new hotel.

The rooms are somewhat spartan although all your basic needs are there. Note that Wi-fi can only be obtained in the hotel lobby.

Personally, I found that any loss of modern amenity was more than compensated by the character of the hotel. The hotel bar is old and traditional, but seems to attract and eclectic mix of people which meant I’d a couple of excellent nights in here. If you enjoy the creak of the wooden floorboards, inspecting old time photographs and generally embracing the old-world charm, you’ll enjoy here.

I found the breakfast ( included in the rate ) as very good with a wide selection of Western and local dishes. The staff were always friendly and pleasant. For location, next to Kandy Lake, it is hard to surpass.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    225
    153
    70
    50
See reviews for
108
206
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A classic hotel in the city centre of Kandy. Because the fact Queens is in the city I choose it and also that I like classic hotels.The room I got was better than expected. The price is moderate. However the staff needs a service course and that's including the rather rude security personnel at the entrance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Queens hotel is centrally located and ideal to visit The Temple of the Sacred Tooth.
The lobby area is very impressive with a beautiful sweeping staircase, grand furniture and attractive flower decorations. The bedrooms are large with high ceilings, good bedlinen and towels and lots of hot water. Buffet breakfast had an extensive choice. Only negative was the noise of the traffic made worse by the ill fitting windows. We would return and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check if you are going to be able to hear the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel's location is great, being just at the door of the tooth temple, and many good restaurants nearby. Views from hotel are good, and the pool is very nice.

Rooms are extremely old and bathroom is small. My room's A/C was on but was acting like a fan (I did set the modes correctly if you are wondering). The bed is comfortable, but this is far from being a luxurious hotel.

We booked online on the same day, and the hotel when we arrived told us they were fully booked, and we had to wait for some of their rooms to be cleaned. So you better make a call and check if they got your booking when you are in Sri Lanka as they hotel is not linked online with the companies that handle their bookings it seems.

Room Tip: As soon as you get the keys to your room, check the A/C, it may not be functional. if It is not func...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a big hotel located in the heart of Kandy, We were on a family vacation in Sri Lanka and choose this hotel as we want to stay in the centre of the city. If you are looking for a quiet place than this not the right hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Kandy lake is just opposite the hotel and temple of tooth is road crooss away. Nothing much to do in Kandy city though. Breakfast menu is average and the worst is they have same menu for all days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of 4 (2 primary aged kids) had independently booked two rooms at this hotel for a night in September, and without doubt it was the worst hotel we stayed at in our two weeks in SL. On arrival (at 12.30pm) we were advised our rooms were not ready, but that we had been upgraded to a family room (Room 301) (with a supposed rack rate of USD300 per night for 4 pax).

Initially we declined however as we were advised no other rooms were available for inspection so had accepted what was on offer, as we were only staying one night.

The room was sparsely furnished, the main bed was a double bed, and sat no higher than a futon off the ground, the single beds appeared to be of colonial vintage (that is not a compliment), the television did not work, and there was no blankets or fridge in the room.

While there we witnessed hotel management working hard to accomodate the numerous organised tour groups which arrived after us and appeared to be well catered for, however if you book independently it appears you are not so well regarded.

I discussed theses issues with management who offered me a complimentary night the next night due to the problems with the room. I declined the offer as I had alternate arrangements. In reality I would have declined even if I was staying on in Kandy. I will return to Kandy, but not the Queen's.

In short I have I have stayed in Soviet era Youth Hostels with more charm and better amenity.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In the 8 years since our last visit, there appears to be little done to maintain this old hotel. We popped into the Mountbatten Bar for a snack. The hamburger was as ragged as the furniture! Fries were barely warm, bun stale and meat, cut from a sausage! Avoid it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Dalada Street, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.