We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks aren't everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Topaz to your Saves list
Hotel Topaz
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Looks aren't everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My first impression of this hotel was that it seemed very new and modern. Apparently it is actually quite old, so it's been renovated not long ago. The room was beautiful. Very European/North American-looking. The front desk service was excellent, as well. However, after my initial positive reaction, a few weaknesses began to stand out. For example, every sound from the hallway echoed its way into the room. The buffet food was a somewhat bland attempt to cater to Western tourism (just because we can't all handle spice doesn't mean we don't enjoy flavour) and a bit pricey with that taken into consideration. The servers/bus boys in the restaurant hover over you, watching you eat and waiting to snatch your plate away immediately, even if it means getting in your way. Not a great deal of respect for personal space, but this is a common part of the Sri Lankan experience. The pool area is pretty old and is shared between a few hotels, so it can get busy and noisy. Not the greatest place to relax. I wouldn't call the hotel 'Poor' overall, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed some memorable moments at Hotel Topaz,even though your stay with us has not been up to your overall expectation. Remedial action was discussed on the observations made by you and we appreciate your bringing them up to our notice. However, we are sorry for any inconvenience you faced and hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you in our true hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    169
    83
    36
    27
See reviews for
59
181
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, clean and modern room. Fantastic view. It is one of the oldest hotels in Kandy which shows in the pool and restaurant area. Rooms must have been modernized not long ago. As the hotel is located on a hill, it is not close to the town centre. However, a rickshaw is only £1.50 so it is easy enough to explore Kandy. A bit soulless and we did not like the huge noisy groups arriving in the evening and leaving early morning each day.. wake up calls were done by a loud knock on the doors which meant an early start for us too. Food was good on the first night, second night dinner and breakfast were just about acceptable.. too many guests meant that two restaurants were open and not too much attention was paid on the quality. Watch out if you settle the drinks bill by cash in the restaurant as you may find some "extras" on the non official bill. The SPA massages were expensive but good. All in all, it's a decent place to stay if you are travelling around Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The rooms were clean and modern but the overall experience for this hotel was very ordinary , the food was nothing special. Ok for an overnight stay but wouldn't want to stay any longer . It did hav a good view of Kandy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Topaz and for your kind review.
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us in a modern,comfortable room with the greatest views over kandy.we have noted your average comments about the food and certainly we are trying different options now.look forward to welcoming you back to indulge in more of our facilities and true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good hotel for relaxing clients with panoramic views of Kandy , rooms are nicely done and fitted with modern equipments. Food is good and resturant has a nice view , hotel spa is excellent , friendly staff

Room Tip: Hotel with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for a wonderful review about your experience at Topaz Kandy, and we love it that you have enjoyed the design, architecture and ambience & specially the unique location of our pride and joy.
Our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us unique in every possible way,because we truly believe that,that is where we make the biggest difference in your stay.
We do look forward to another visit from you during another long weekend,thank you for your kind sentiments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had read mixed reviews about the hotel so wasn't sure what to expect, so it was a pleasant surprise. The property is high up on the hills and very picturesque. Since we were here as part of a group it was okay, but I would personally not book this hotel as an independent traveller as it's location is not convenient to walk around and explore the beautiful town of Kandy.
We were here after a long journey so I was glad that I slept so well. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Topaz. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay indulging in our true hospitality. We thank you for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sri Lanka. We value your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I went to Sri Lanka on honeymoon and took a small tour of the island, this took us away from our main hotel for an evening. The hotel which we stopped at was booked by the tour company, Hotel Topaz.
Hotel Topaz is set up high in the hills with excellent views over Kandy but this is one of the only highlights of the hotel along with pleasant staff.
It appeared the the hotel was under going a refit whilst we stayed there so out room was a mismatch of old and new and not to my personal taste.
Dinner in the restaurant was in a buffet style again not to my taste and the food was a mixture from different continents, which didn't appear to go together. Also while we were eating there were lizards running across the ceiling I guess due to a window being open and it being cooler in the hotel.
I feel my views on this hotel were skewed due to the rest of my stay being at the fantastic Fortress on Koggala Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your kind review.
We are pleased you had a good stay and appreciate your feedback on our unique location with the outstanding view from your room we've provided,also noted your comments regard to food etc and we shall look into them and hope you will stay with us again when you visit Sri Lanka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here as part of the Ceylon Tour. Reception staff were very pleasant, but in our experience the restaurant staff were not as friendly as staff in other hotels on our tour. Hotel was being upgraded in areas of the hotel although this didn't directly affect us. The room was clean and quite smart looking. The bathroom was rather small but sufficient. The hairdryer provided was a little dodgy, with the bare wires hanging out. Luckily I had my own with me.
The restaurant was ok, the food was luke warm and we were sat at a table which had a lovely view but the sun was strong in the morning and very hot streaming in the windows. There were some curtains to close as it was a little uncomfortable but unfortunately there was enough curtains for the amount of windows. This made it quite uncomfortable to sit and enjoy breakfast. Staff werent as friendly as they could have been.
Not sure I would return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz and for your feedback.
We regret to note you did not have a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconveniences caused to you. In the meantime, we assure you that are looking into the mentioned issues and will take corrective action.
We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20967, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Topaz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Topaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.