We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hilltop to your Saves list
Hotel Hilltop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed just one night as part of a tour with Exodus. On line prices show its available from £35 a night which is excellent value. The hotel is modern, the rooms are a good standard for Sri Lanka. Despite it being a hilltop location you don't get views form the rooms - but you do from the bar and restaurant looking down over kandy. We ate out, but had breakfast at the hotel - really good buffet catering for western and Asian tastes. Staff friendly. Theres a little shop to buy postcards. we didn't get in the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Not sure if any have much of a view - but its worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    127
    126
    50
    15
See reviews for
83
136
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Me and my wife travelled to Kandy, Srilanka for the very first time. We wanted to stay at a very good place. I did lots of research on the web and enquired lots of travel agencies in India. Finally I have to decided to stay 3 different hotels during my stay in Kandy. I.e Hilltop, Queens hotel and Casamara.

Hilltop is really a very good hotel, Very very helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and offers a great view of the city. As me and my wife were from India. We didn't like the buffet breakfast and dinner. Needless to say the restaurant ambience was very good.

swimming pool is very good , My recommendation - go for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days in beautiful Sri Lanka and this was the worst hotel - its as if they don't care or cannot be bothered! It was the only hotel that didn't offer free wifi. The food was very average and service poor. The hotel is so much out of the way that it's useless to walk around the city!
I would avoid this hotel whatever you do! There are many more good ones - try the sandalwood !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

- Good Stay love the interior of the hotel.
- Neat & Clean.
- Dinner & Breakfast buffet was good great spread.
- Location of the hotel is within the city but the entrance road is above the hill so if you planning to walk the road is very steep its difficult for small kids & aged people.
- our room was neat & clean.
- staffs were friendly.
- the view from the dinning hall is spectacular.
- overall we have a good experience.
- rest minus points can be overlooked though i dnt hv much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Our tour group of 15 people stayed here and most agreed it was one of the worst hotels of the trip. The rooms were dirty - including the bed linens. It was incredibly noisy - Kandy's main train station is right across from the hotel and the warning bells, alerts and announcements start at 4:30 am. The service was poor - promised bottled water didn't show-up until the tour guide complained to the manager. The only bright spot at this place is the restaurant. The dinner and breakfast buffets were very tasty with lots of choices. WiFi is available for a charge - and, like the rest of the place, it was pretty poor, too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your valuable comments which was noted,will be looking into them and take necessary action to rectify.

Thanking You.

Yours Faithfully

Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hilltop is good hotel in Kandy. I liked the location and rooms, services provided are very good. I will also recommend to take the full package including the lunch and dinner, i enjoyed the taste and presentation of the meals here. It is very near to all the famous sightseeing. The swimming pool is also very good and located just between Rooms and the Restaurant. I will recommend you to take this hotel in every other condition except if you want a hotel not on a Hill. It does requires a skilled driver to take you the hotel as it located over a hill. It has a very co-operative staff. To conclude i would recommend this property to people going out to have fun and enjoy.

Room Tip: Standard A/c Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed with my family in the 3rd week of Dec 2012 in this hotel. The property is well maintained and standard room given was good (pool view). The hotel staff were pleasant. Food at the hotel resturaunt was good, but a bit pricey. As mentioned by others the property is on a hill, and walking uphill is difficult particularly for the elderly. Tuk Tuk is easily available at downhill , and all tourist spots are easily assessible. No good resturants are available at walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hilltop 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hilltop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.