We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Kandy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hilltop to your Saves list
Hotel Hilltop
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Kandy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a two nights stay here . Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Good Sri Lankan spread and American breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were OK not much of a spread like five star hotels . We can give average. Staff service was excellent and friendly all the time. We stayed in the old building. Thus the rooms were not that modern however we found clean and confortable. This old building/rooms in the old wing need to be refurbished . But can expect GOOD value for money for a budget traveller/ guest .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    111
    111
    45
    12
See reviews for
74
120
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Did we have hitches but the staff are friendly and breakfast delicious.
Had problems with AC and hot water. But got it rectified after bringing it to the notice of the service staff.
Bath room closets had problem in draining the water.
Clean and approachable to all nicer locations of the city.

Room Tip: Good for one day stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is located on top of a hill in Kandy and is quite a climb and distance from any shop. Nice place but the rooms could have been done up better. Also the bath room was stinking. Loved the resturant over looking the city and has a nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Reception staff were welcoming and armed with the welcome drink. The room was spacious and clean, however there were no duvets. Just plain sheets so it got

a bit cold at night. The room balcony faced the pool below and had a partial view of the valley as the restaurant below blocks the full view. However their glass-walled restaurant has some nice views especially of the big white Buddha on the hill... The glass balcony door had a sign which said 'please keep the door closed or monkeys will come in' It's a pity because it could be nice to have some fresh air in...

The hotel itself is quite close to the city center however there are a few steep and winding curves to climb to get there. It was dark around 6:30 already so it's best to get a ricshaw while returning unless of course you don't mind a pitch black 10-15 minute uphill walk.. Breakfast buffet had enough options but to be honest, the staff are a bit too intrusive and always looking into your plate, hovering around.

They are not at all discreet and it was entertaining to watch them conduct their 'inventory check' around a huge group of tourists who made several rounds to the buffet table helping themselves to lusty portions. And yes, the minute you have had your last morsel, almost magically out of nowehere, a staff appears and asks "Can I please clear your plate"
I was reminded of the buffets in Palestine where the staff would say "How did you like the food? It was good? Then please go have some more.. Come on!!" Anyway I can't really fault the Hilltop staff as they are clearly operating upon orders from the higher management. They are actually a sweet and attentive bunch who instinctively knew when we needed a tissue or were looking for an extra forke etc.

HillTop Kandy isn't bad at all but I'm sure there is better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed one night during a excursion. The rooms are ok, but the shower felt shabby. The view from the resturant windows were amazing, as it is situated on the top of a hill, overlooking kandy and the giant budda.

The buffet we had was not of the same quality of our orignal hotel (club palm bay), as we struggled to find anything to eat for the evening, and the other couple on the excursion also had issues eating. We spent the next 3 days with dodgy tummies so just saying.

The biggest gripe we have with this hotel, was that when we arrived, we got into our room (with no assistance from the staff member) and had a staff member knock on our closed door 3 times to which when we opened it, he asked 2 questions about the aircon and mini bar, and then stood there asking for a tip!

We did sleep well, without interruption, but that could easily be due to us being drained from the excursion.

As a stop over, we found it ok, but we wouldnt want to stay in the hotel for our main base. The swimming pool looked tiny for the number of people the hotel can host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at hotel Hilltop and found the room comfortable, spacious and clean. We were given a lovely welcome drink on arrival. Throughout the staff were kind, helpful and attentive. The food was good, however we felt the lunch buffet was a little overpriced. Pool was clean and a nice break from the hustle of Kandy. Its a 20min walk to the main centre, we got a tuk tuk back up the hill!! Cheeky monkeys play around the grounds outside the hotel, coming upto the windows at times!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is OK.

The rooms are clean, you get satisfaction from the buffet restaurant, and it has a nice swimming pool.

It had a very funny warning inside the room "Beware of monkeys, keep the balcony doors closed"!

The major defect: you hear some noise coming from the trains, which travel nearby. If you can ignore the noise, I recommend this hotel. If you need absolute silence at night, then choose another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hilltop 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hilltop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.