We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Suisse to your Saves list
Hotel Suisse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Historical Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in July, 2013. The hotel is an old colonial hotel across the street from Kandy Lake. The hotel is old, but has this historical charm to it. The rooms have huge 15 foot ceilings, but the furniture was a bit dated. The bathrooms though were somewhat modern. My room overlooked the back courtyard, where there was some construction in process.

There's a spectacular view of the dining area from the 3rd floor, very reminiscent of a ballroom in the old days. The pool looked refreshing, but didn't try it out.

It's a nice and easy walk to the town center and to the Temple of the Tooth. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, but don't expect modern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    300
    147
    35
    25
See reviews for
120
273
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of a pre-booked excursion. The hotel gives a great impression of faded splendour from a bygone colonial era We were graciously accompanied to our room via an ageing lift, the room itself having an enormously tall door and ceilings and furnature that was again from another age. The porter eventually got the air-conditioning working, but we can only imagine that occupancy is low as the room smelled damp, and when we went to bed after dinner the bed itself seemed damp also. Maybe it was just the smell, but that was our overwhelming impression.

The restaurant dinner was buffet-style and really quite good and not bad value. The same can be said of the breakfast.

A note of warning is that gentlemen must wear long trousers for dinner. As I hadn't brought any longer that 3/4 length on the excursion I was supplier with a sarong, much to the amusement of my partner.

Despite the prime location, should we visit Kandy again we would probably pay a little extra to stay at a more upmarket hotel. It's a great pity as the Suisse is full of character, but it really does need some money spending on it to restore it to it's former glory - and for the rooms to be aired!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Suisse is a Colonial style hotel that was probably magnificent in its heyday. The rooms are large and comfortable and have tired furniture. The hotel staff are friendly and accommodating and the food is good if a little pricey. The hotel tends to be busy with weddings and functions which can be a little noisy. For a couple of days the hotel is perfectly adequate but for longer stays it would require updating to be truly competitive. Walking any distance is impractical for shops or restaurants and require the use of the admittedly easily affordable tuk tuks which are in plentiful supply. The hotel has a tired but adequate pool and wifi which can be a little difficult depending on your location in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thank you very much for spending your valuable time on trip advisor for commenting on our hotel.
our management team is taking this complaint at a very serious level and they are planning to do the needful to avoid such situations taking place in the hotel in future.
and the guests are welcome to request for a room change if they dont find their rooms comfortable.
wi-fi is available in all common areas of the hotel and the service will be available in all the rooms in the coming season.

Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have recently returned from staying at the Hotel Suisse and booked because of the price and location of the hotel. It is a large colonial type building with large rooms, clean but requiring refurbishment. During our visit we booked 3 rooms and looked out over the back of the property where there is currently considerable building work being done, this is noisy and during our stay carried on throughout the night.

Some of the facilities in the room did not work, out of the three rooms only one safe worked and although staff promptly repaired one safe the other room had to move the contents to another room during our stay.

Service in the restaurant was very attentive (we were very impressed) and the food appeared to be of a reasonable standard.

However on checkout the hotel attempted to charge us almost double for our stay, citing currency conversion as the reason for their mistake and laughing off this error.

The following day after departure one of our party found they had lost a wallet, including cash and cards. We suspected that it had been left in a safe that had not been working in one of the rooms and when we reported it to the hotel we were very relieved to be told they had found the wallet and we discussed sending someone to pick it up and use the driving licence that was in the wallet to prove ownership......imagine our relief...... the same evening we received another phone call from the hotel to say they had indeed made a mistake and had found a wallet with medicine in it and not our wallet that included money, credit cards and driving licence. We are indeed very concerned that this story changed so suddenly and following the incident with the overcharging, had two reasons to question the honesty of this hotel.

Room Tip: very disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A faded old hotel touted as colonial but really falls into the realm of a budget hotel. A party of seven currently staying here for 2 days. Room floor is dirty (black feet when walking barefoot) but the bathroom is clean. Bed is really uncomfortable and everything is dated, not of the antique variety either! The service is polite and friendly but very slow. Overall, this is not value for money so give it a miss. The only thing going for it is the location. Also, it is hardly disabled friendly with only one small lift and a maze of corridors and rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thank you for spending your valuable time on trip advisor for commenting on our hotel.
we have taken up this matter on to the notice of our management team and we will do the needful to avoid such incidents taking place in our hotel.
we apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope toupgarade our services to meet all requirements of our guests in the future.
we are always open to requestson arrival.

Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My Brother and I returned to the land of our birth after 37years. The nostalgic trip was just as we had dreamt it would be. The people were so friendly, the Hotel staff welcomed us as long lost friends, even our taxi driver took us to his home and showed h=us his family and hospitality. Where would you find such a dream place? This is definitely Gods' Country, a Land of Graciousness, friendship. all this and the people themselves at the best of times are under financial hardship. But they opened their hears to us and welcomed us.
we are now planning a return trip for a longer time. I am soooo looking forward to seeing the Tea Plantations and being in Kandy again. Seeing the wonderful scenery and feeling the peace of the Country. Being at Peace with myself.
The Hotel itself is reflective of a past and long gone era.

Room Tip: We booked a basic twin share, but the room was as good as a 5 star anywhere in the world! The basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
we are so pleased to have you commenting on our hotel.
please pay a visit again to Suisse, our team is willing to serve you with the best kandyan hospitality with cherished memories of your stay.

Regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You really cant go wrong with this colonial style hotel. Its clean, the rooms are very big and spacious (ask for a refurbed room), at £53 a night (booked through Yeego.com) its unbeatable. Centrally located on the lake, a stone's throw from the Buddha tooth temple and various other sites. The staff is friendly, breakfast is basic but edible. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanishka M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
thank you very much for patronizing our hotel and thanks again for the precious time you spared to comment on our hotel.
all the rooms of our hotel will be refurbished by the season of winter, so the patrons will not have to be selective when making reservations.
please do suggest us breakfast varieties of your choice to enhance the quality of our buffet.

Regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.