We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hmm..... not so great, despite fun decor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Helga's Folly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Helga's Folly to your Saves list
Helga's Folly
70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Cordoba, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“hmm..... not so great, despite fun decor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We just went for lunch, not having too much time, we asked for 2 simple dishes but had to wait 1 hour for them to serve us (although they said "30 mins ready madam"), despite us being the only customers. The prices are crazily exaggerated and the food not that great (pasta overcooked), and the 3 USD lime soda comes in a tiny mini-glass.

While waiting we did visit the rooms, which are decorated with much fantasy but do lack hygiene and certainly do not justify the 140 USD they claim the rates are for 1 night.

Best thing to do, go for a cup of tea to admire the decor, but leave it at that!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    63
    14
    16
    22
See reviews for
33
109
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Sad and dusty - made me think of Miss Havisham. Certainly could do with a good clean all round..

Helga also decorated this herself in incredibly vivid colours... okay if you can sleep through a riot of pink.

A unique experience!

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a short 'second honeymoon' up at Helga's Folly, delighting in the Nutcracker Suite with its colourful, palatial decor and a breakfast fit for kings! The perfect location above the Kandy lake, and we really felt a million miles from anywhere - splendid isolation and royal treatment.
We're looking forward to going again next month!

  • Liked — the unique interior design
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This hotel claims to have international standard facilities and great views.

In reality it has rooms with holes in the walls, 30 year old air con, thread bare mosquito nets, odd-ball staff and bathrooms which haven't seen a cleaner in many a year

Forget the reviews about the unique decor, it merely paper over the cracks of a sub standard hotel which is massively overpriced - try the hotels in the city centre instead for great friendly staff, decent food, good location at a quarter of the price

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portchester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I have stayed at Helga's many times and enjoyed it every time. OK it's not for lovers of faceless hotel chains where you don't know which you are in, it is a unique experience and you either love it or hate it. I am very surprised at the supposed peepholes in the doors so surprised that I asked to look at the doors if there are any holes they must be microscopic!!! I have no axe to grind on this issue
just trying to reassure future visitors. Our room has always been ready on arrival.Yes you may find some dust, the plumbing is old (but works) the building is old but the service is good as is the welcome. I look forward to my next visit for an experience unlike any other hotel.

  • Liked — It was unique
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

I had booked into Helga's Folly after reading reviews from people raving about the place and the uniqueness. It was pricy for what it was US$138 for half board (discounted).
I was shown to my room and the bathroom had not been cleaned. I was then given another room. On closer insepction as I was settling in I noticed there was a peephole in the door of the adjoining room that looked straight onto the bed.
Of course being a single woman travelling I went to the receptionist about this. They then offered me any room in the house! I chose one of the superior rooms...only to find another peephole!
Needless to say I hightailed it out of there and would certainly not recommend on this basis alone.
The hotel was not well cleaned and was poorly faciliated for the cost.
I had much better service and comfort and felt safer at the Queen!

  • Liked — The artwork was unique
  • Disliked — Just about everything else!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

The folly is an experience and overall a powerful one. The site of the hotel is impressive, the jungle at one's back and the town at one's feet, the interior, inspired and the food, the best I have had in Sri Lanka and some of the best I have had anywhere. The rooms inspire and speak of an individual who has a flare for the dramatic and the personal. It is difficult to describe this place without falling into cliché, it is worth so much more cliché - I congratulate Helga's Folly on being more brave than most and creating something quite extra-ordinary. I will return as often as I can - the experience was amazing and life enriching. Well done.

ps. The staff, well what can I say, they were kind, helpful and welcoming. I was made to feel very special.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helga's Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helga's Folly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.