We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elephant Stables to your Saves list
Elephant Stables
46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Mainz, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful boutique hotel is situated on top of a hill just few minutes away from Kandy City Centre. As you get off your vehicle you see mountains and hills from one side and dwellings on a hilly area over looking the pool. Pool is so beautiful and inviting with beautiful views right around that cannot match any other.
 
From the friendly welcome the moment we arrived we were well looked after by the smiling staff who always wanted to help. To add to our joy there was an elephant stationed in the garden that has been brought for an upcoming event.
 
Our room was large and beautifully furnished with the most comfortable beds we slept in while in Sri Lanka. Food was out of this world, with fresh ingredients from the market each day. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax in a beautiful surrounding, with a lovely pool and excellent service.
 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments,and we're pleased you had a really good stay and were kind enough to describe the stay as 'best of the best'. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    28
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This property has been recently refurbished. The pool was beautiful and a great escape from the tropical temperatures. The staff went out of their way to look after us and our Tuk Tuk driver, Marvin was a great guide. The restaurant produced one of the best meals we ate in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were really not too about sure what to expect while getting to this hotel as I had taken a chance and booked something a little nicer than our usual budget had allowed. I have to say that we were not disappointed! The interiors were tastefully furnished, and like everybody says, the food is marvellous, the staff were un-obtrusive but there when needed, and we really enjoyed our stay here at Kandy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the beautiful feedback. We are happy that you had enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night during the second week of October. As other reviewers have mentioned, there are still some growing pains, but overall this was a good stay. I was very happy to be able to check in early since I had taken an overnight flight and then made the three hour drive to Kandy. The hotel is 10-15 minutes away from the main tourist attractions in Kandy. There are no signs for the hotel, but with the directions from the hotel and a few u-turns, my driver was able to find it. I mentioned the lack of signage to the manager and he said that they had not been able to get permits for signs yet. Initially, the A/C in my room was not working well, but by the time I returned for dinner, they had fixed it. The food for dinner and breakfast was excellent. I was not able to get the wifi to work on my laptop nor on two smartphones during the duration of my stay.

Booking the Elephant Stables directly with the hotel was a bit of a hassle. It took several days for my emails to be returned, then there was a partial deposit required in Pounds Sterling... anyway, I would recommend booking on Agoda instead. That would have saved me time and effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the e-mail. The new super fast broadband was actually installed in mid-October, after the guest had stayed. The issue with the previous broadband was that the signal was blocked by a huge and rare tree that we just did not have the heart to cut down, no matter what the repercussions, even though the telecoms people had told us to do so. Anyway now we have WiFi via another method and I am sure all will agree that it is fantastic.

We are sorry about the delays you experienced in booking the hotel direct. We have experienced a much greater demand for the hotel than we ever expected and are recruiting additional staff urgently for admin duties. Clients are welcome to book direct or via Agoda and Booking.com if they prefer, we welcome bookings from any source with equal satisfaction.

As per our previous reply, we are now busy installing signboards everywhere so finding our hotel should no longer be an issue in future. Thank you again for your constructive comments, that we appreciate very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked this place based on all the positive reviews and was hoping for more than I got, that'll teach me. Sadly, it was a Herculean task to find the hotel in the first place which did not bode well. The hotel website does not provide clear directions but a google map and road address. It would be helpful to note on the website that the hotel is located up a private unmarked lane off the main road. To find the place, I called the hotel number which patched me through to someone in Colombo, who then requested that I call the hotel manager on his mobile to obtain directions. 30 minutes of searching and several u-turns later, we were there.

I would have loved to unwind with a glass of wine, but unfortunately they are only available by the bottle (it was a stressful journey, but not that stressful!). Wifi connection did not extend to our suite, instead was only available in the reception or bar area (no one offered to extend the connection as mentioned by a previous poster). While the Cottage suite was beautiful, the king size bed did not have bedside lamps, which meant you had to turn off the lights on the wall and feel your way back to the bed in the dark hoping to avoid hitting anything. Instead of landlines in the room, the hotel provides mobile phones programmed with the manager and housekeeping numbers which was fine but prevents inbound phone calls (given that wifi was not available in the room - it made having private telephone conversations impossible). Finally, the driver accommodations were so terrible (no fans or mosquito netting) our driver opted to sleep in the car.

All that aside, the property does have potential. It's only been open for six months and has to work through the kinks to reach that potential. The view is stunning. The rooms are large with beautiful furniture and interesting art. The service staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and supportive to the extent their infrastructure allows. The pool was inviting. The food was great. However, at this time, I wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your interesting comments. We did have a conscious policy of keeping The Elephant Stables relatively private by not putting up signboards in the vicinity, but as the reviewer rightly says we have to some extent been a victim of our own success with many more clients than expected wishing to stay at our property. We will therefore immediately put up signboards at the roadside giving directions to the hotel.

The hotel is also in the process of compiling a select Wine List that will be inclusive of selling wine by the glass. We are sorry this was not available to you. It will be available to all future clients with immediate effect.

There are bedside lamps in the room you had chosen but due to a defect they had gone for repair and now at right places. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you by this manufacturing issue that was beyond our control. As per the previous reply we now have super-fast Wi - fi available in each room - guaranteed.

The one point where we would disagree with you would be regarding driver accommodation. All driver guides are housed in the bedrooms of the actual house of the previous owner, a very aristocratic gentleman who kept it clean and well furnished. As far as we can recall there have been no other complaints from drivers over the past few months about the accommodation given to them, and we host around 10-12 drivers every single week these days?. However we thank you for your comments and all issues highlighted have been acted upon for the benefit of future clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel and overall enjoyed the stay. The place is beautiful - it's a bungalow turned into a boutique hotel, on a hill and the environs are very picturesque. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. All ever-smiling. The set menu breakfast offers good taste in the dishes and is very beautifully presented.

It is advisable to have transport handy when you stay here as it is way out of the main Kandy town.

After the thumbs ups, here are the nays for this place - there was this constant noise ... like a phone's vibrator... outside my room which I am told is the water pump motor. This is extremely inconvenient during the nights as whosoever used water anywhere in the hotel, at any time, the motor would kick in and disturb our sleep. This issue definitely needs to be sorted by the management. We had wi-fi connectivity issues the first two days. The Operations manager Mr Nalaka later solved this and we had good connectivity for the last two nights. It d be helpful if they stocked up on milk additives like hot chocolate or Bournvita or something of this type when they know children are coming in. I was told that they could offer me nothing except plain milk. In fact they get you to fill an online form much before arrival stating your likes and dislikes, including the child's fav snack. But what is the use of doing this if the snack is not offered?

Their meals are Rs 3000/- per head (Sri lankan set meals or a 3 course European set menu) and some people may find it steep considering that even the best hotels offer food for half this rate. The days they serve European meals you may ask to be allowed to eat part of the courses and be charged accordingly if you are a light eater. They usually allow for that. A simple chicken sandwich is Rs. 900/- But the food is tasty and recommended. So it is your call if you want to eat in the hotel or go out.

But overall I d recommend staying at this hotel because it can be a great experience. I am definitely going back.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Citronella suite unless you are ok with a constant noise in your room of the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us your valuable comments. Please note below the actions taken to provide a better experience for future clients based on your comments.

We have now moved the Pump Motor to a location away from the Citronella Suite so this issue is now resolved. Thank you very much for pointing this out to our management. Likewise, the Wi-fi was actually upgraded to a super-fast connection during the duration of your stay at our hotel and should present no problems to clients in future. We have now instructed our kitchen to keep supplies of BOTH Hot Chocolate and Bournvita in future as you are correct that this is a good idea to offer families with Kids. Thank you again for your valuable suggestion.
Meal prices do tend to be higher in boutique hotels because unlike big resort hotels we do not have the advantage of purchasing food at wholesale rates, and other economies of scale do not apply for small hotels either. We would say however that our meal prices are still around Rs 1000 per head cheaper than our nearest substantial competitor. Thank you again for your valuable insights that we have acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week. All I can say is.. WOW! A smaller place with an amazing feel. The gardens/pool is very well kept and open. The view from around all sides is breath taking.

The staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly. We had never been to Kandy, and they helped us book tours and arranged for a guide for each day. (Who was also very nice!) They were happy to help whenever they could and enjoyed having a chat.

The chief was incredible and was able to cook a variety of food from curries to western food. He also took personal requests which made my partner very happy. :)

Overall we were very sad to leave. I couldn't have been happier with the place.. and I would love to return to Kandy just so I could stay here again!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read your lovely comments and chef is very much delighted about the fact that you both enjoyed his food very much. We do hope you will visit us again and then we can serve you better? cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.