We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in someone's home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elephant Stables to your Saves list
Elephant Stables
46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like staying in someone's home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved our stay here. The view is spectacular and the entire place is homey and relaxing. It is easy to feel that you are staying over in a friend's place. The staff are all friendly and accommodating - service here is quite personal. In house dining also good. We enjoyed our 10 curry dinners. Well worth the time and money. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest, it's very nice to read your beautiful experience. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    39
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
135
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent lovely 2 nights at the ‘stables’ in the Vanilla Suite at the Elephant Stables in September. It was beautifully done with antiques and prints – possibly the most beautiful room I have ever stayed in.

The staff was so friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were there with some friends who had 2 kids, and the staff really went out of their way to treat them each meal with familiar comfort food like chicken strips and fries while we tucked into delicious rice and curries prepared by Indeeka, their great chef.

There was a lovely pool in the garden and the views over the mountains was superb, especially waking up in the mornings to see the clouds rising up over a peak in the far distance. Amazing!

The kids were looking forward to seeing the elephants, but they weren't around. We were told that they are away participating at the temple festivals during September.

Next time we come back to Kandy for another vacation I know where we will definitely be heading!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that you loved your stay at Elephant Stables. Unfortunately your kids missed the time intended to spend with the elephant due to an unavoidable situation. We look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ok, the place looks great , incredible view , large rooms. The biggest problems is, "big brother is watching you".
The staff don't leave alone.
There is no privacy.
And the worst of all, staff getting drunk at night and wanting to interact with guest, never a good combo.
If I ever return to kandy , I will definitely not stay at the Elephant stables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We are surprised and saddened by this review.

We understand that the guest had turned up at 10:30 pm at night in an unknown vehicle with a non-guest. In Sri Lanka 10:30 pm is considered ‘late’ as it is still a conservative country in many ways. Therefore, an off duty staff-member had naturally wanted to know who had turned up at the hotel un-announced when the client had wanted to take his guest to his room.

In no hotel in Sri Lanka is it correct or allowed to take ‘outsiders’ to a room, especially so late at night. Hence, our staff was 100% correct in requesting the guest, not to take a non-guest into his room.

We understand that client felt aggrieved about this incident but we also feel it is not correct to publish complete untruths on Trip Advisor as a result?

When contacted by us, the guest said he had chosen to stay at our hotel for ‘privacy’ but as a responsible hotel, we are bound to protect the privacy and safety of other clients too.

We cannot allow this guest to spoil the absolutely fantastic reviews that all other clients have left about their stay at The Elephant Stables, and over an incident that is absolutely no fault of ours. Therefore please let me apologise to others for the strong reply we have been forced to leave on Trip Advisor as a response.

There are 27 guest reviews of the hotel on Trip Advisor and no less than 19 comments on the friendliness of the staff as a prime reason for a fabulous stay. We would urge potential guests to read and digest all reviews so that they can come to a balanced view about our hotel and its staff in particular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to be booked into this hotel by our tour company Elephant Island and we thank them for it. It is a lovely hotel with a good variety of rooms, and the staff were very helpful and attentive. It is located high up so has wonderful views, particularly from the pool area. (Pool towels provided also.) One criticism though, my daughter asked for a glass of wine with dinner, but could only have a whole bottle, which was rather expensive, but the food in the restaurant was very good and well presented. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a great stay here in Elephant Stables. We will take your concerns into consideration in order to provide our guests a better service in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two very comfortable and pleasant nights in this interesting historical boutique hotel.We found the staff to be helpful, friendly and attentive, particularly Nihal, who made us beautiful floral and origami arrangements on our bed. The hotel was modern, clean and quiet with lovely views on either side of the building.

I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: For those sensitive to noise (like my husband), our room had the humming noise of the water pump. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Extremely happy to know that you had a fabulous time in Elephant Stables. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Outstandingly attentive staff made this a lovely holiday. Rooms are beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the hotel, and the food was excellent. 360 degree views are spectacular. Recommend this boutique hotel to anyone coming to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and it's a pleasure to know that you had a relaxing holiday in Elephant Stables. We wish to see you soon again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sometimes an experience inspires you to write a review to share with others positively and to say thankyou to the staff who made the holiday very special. Elephant Stables did that. It is filled with outstanding staff who have been hand picked for their love of looking after holiday makers and their experience in this industry.

We stayed 2 nights, in the most beautiful room we have ever seen in a hotel or guest house and were greeted with a welcome drink of orange, apple and cinnamon and a warm hand towel.The boutique hotel is situated on a hill in Kandy so there are lovely views of the countryside. The garden is landscaped with a large pool, complete with huge trees which house monkeys by day and fireflies by night while the soothing sound of Buddhist chanting from the temple nearby is the background music. The hotel inside is stunningly furnished with such attention to detail and the huge glass doors bring in light, air and freshness. The guest rooms, including the lounge rooms, bar and the reading room upstairs are all a mix of colonial and modern.

Breakfast was very nice and dinner was Superb and we were out at lunchtimes. When the manager found out I had never tasted Sri Lanken curry as yet, they made a special feast consisting of 10 dishes of curries and salads for us for dinner the next evening. They chatted with us, refilled anything that was needed, were completely aware of our needs in the hotel and organized everything we needed for sight seeing in Sri Lanka.They all came out to our hire car and waved us off when we left, just awesome. To Nalaka the Elephant Stables Manager, Nihal the Food and Beverage Manager, Indika the talented Head Chef and his team, Pathum Housekeeping and his team including Manjula, Micheal Caretaker, Marlon the Tuk Tuk driver and the others who we didn't meet but who worked as a team to make our small time at your place, away from our home so wonderful, we say Thankyou xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very detailed feedback you have provided us about your holiday experience in Elephant Stables. We hope you will return soon and our staff is looking forward to server you better next time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.