We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel, wish we could have stayed longer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elephant Stables to your Saves list
Elephant Stables
46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Alfold, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel, wish we could have stayed longer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We only stayed one night here but it was long enough to be impressed with the elegance of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The bedrooms were very well decorated and a good size and the food was a high standard and beautifully presented. It is a very small hotel and so you receive much pampering from the staff who couldn't do enough for us and always had a smile on their faces.The hotel is situated on a hill above the busy city of Kandy and so had great views and a peaceful feel. Didn't have time to try the swimming pool but it looked very inviting.

Room Tip: All rooms have double beds so if you require a twin make sure have the family room which is large e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your very positive review and we hope you will visit us next time for a longer stay. As you correctly said all rooms except family rooms have double king size beds but we take the trouble of putting a proper single bed in double rooms when guests request for twin rooms. thank you once again and looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    39
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
135
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Incredibly attentive staff, beautiful public areas and bedrooms, a new hotel so some of the routines need to be organised, but you feel pampered and special. Not much choice of meals, but what was presented was great, even when we returned from the elephant festival at 11.00 at night.
Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables. We hope you will come back to enjoy our services again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early September. The hotel is lovely, and we stayed in a spacious, comfortable bedroom. The grounds are lovely, food good but the most memorable part was the warmth of the welcome particularly by Nihal who could not have been more helpful and charming. The place is a little tricky to find and a tuk tuk ride outside the town but with great views and peace and quiet, we were very happy with our decision to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
It's our greatest pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Elephant Stables and you were happy with the decision you made to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of 5 had two nights stay here to explore Kandy, relax and visit the Esala Perahara. Lovely rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Kandy was extremely busy due to the Perahara and we found this a perfect retreat up above the hussle and bussle. 500R each way in a tuk tuk (£2.50) which was an experience in itself.
Food was absolutely delicious and the pool spot on.
We really were made to feel at home.

Room Tip: Large room for 5 has a king around the corner from 3 singles and suits families perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your happy feedback. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in Elephant Stables and in other parts of the country hence will return to this country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Was wowed by Tripadvisor reviews so my expectations were high. Taxi driver at station never heard of it (being newish) so pulled out booking which didn't have address and Colombo number only. After a couple of calls he got directions and we were on our way. I'd had the impression that it was 10 min from Kandy. It is but it seemed like a long trip in and out (500R). Staff were wonderful. The set 3 course dinner was gorgeous, breakfast great too. One negative - we'd hardly arrived when manager was pushing us to book tours.
Would be fantastic if they out a sign for the hotel at the end of the hill, perhaps run a shuttle into the city, also pick-ups from the station would be nice.
Lovely rooms, lovely views, great staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the constructive comments. The Elephant Stables is located on a private road so we try not to advertise it 'loudly' since our plan is to provide discrete luxury and outstanding service to our clients – that’s why people do not get to see any signboards etc. Our MD has however taken your comments into consideration and we will soon implement a free transfer service for those arriving by train from Kandy Railway Station. We will also educate our Resident Managers at the hotel not to push excursions etc in future and simply leave brochures in rooms for guests to ask our staff if interested. Thank you so much again for your valuable comments and we will endeavor to react to all suggestions in order to make The Elephant Stables the No 1 hotel at Kandy in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As part of a family tour of Sri Lanka we had the pleasure of staying one night at the Elephant Stables. As already indicated it is new and extremely well decorated and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the facilities excellent. We arrived after 7pm but the manager was more than happy for the kids to get in the pool as they had not started cleaning it yet. The food was lovely and the chef made sure we had plenty of choice. The service was faultless and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would love visit for longer. The hotel is up a hill so provides excellent views of Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our main objective is to ensure that our guests are happy all the time and your positive comments are our greatest rewards. We look forward to seeing you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

was here at the beginning of august with my family and all of us loved it. the rooms are beautiful and the views and decor of this place are stunning. the staff are really friendly and food was great. i really wish we had more time at the Elephant Stables as we were only there for one night. would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, We eagerly wait to see our happy clients once again expecting to serve you better... Hope you will return soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.