We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay not long enough!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elephant Stables to your Saves list
Elephant Stables
46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay not long enough!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As part of a family tour of Sri Lanka we had the pleasure of staying one night at the Elephant Stables. As already indicated it is new and extremely well decorated and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the facilities excellent. We arrived after 7pm but the manager was more than happy for the kids to get in the pool as they had not started cleaning it yet. The food was lovely and the chef made sure we had plenty of choice. The service was faultless and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would love visit for longer. The hotel is up a hill so provides excellent views of Kandy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our main objective is to ensure that our guests are happy all the time and your positive comments are our greatest rewards. We look forward to seeing you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    28
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

was here at the beginning of august with my family and all of us loved it. the rooms are beautiful and the views and decor of this place are stunning. the staff are really friendly and food was great. i really wish we had more time at the Elephant Stables as we were only there for one night. would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, We eagerly wait to see our happy clients once again expecting to serve you better... Hope you will return soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This newly refurbished and converted boutique hotel is an absolute delight, from the furnishings, bathrooms, to the service, the ambience and the cuisine. The welcome and service from Nihal, and the Manager, was most sincere and warm. Throughout the evening Nihal ensured that our stay was comfortable, and that we had everything we needed. The food prepared byTyrone, the chef, was easily the most succulent and tasty of our trip so far. It was so nice to have a proper meal from a fresh selection menu, rather than the perennial buffet that so many places provide. In fact I would have to say that the evening meal and the breakfast were the best we have had not only in Sri Lanka, but indeed for some time. The only shame was that we were only booked in for one night, but if we were to return I would certainly look to book Elephant Stables again. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest, It's great to know that you had a fabulous time. We hope to see you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dropped in at Elephant's Stable for few minutes to check out the place on our yearly hotel visit, and was simply amazed!

Clean & comfortable, great view and weather, this is probably the best place to stay in Kandy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest, We value your opinion about The Elephant Stables. We hope you will come to spend a night or to have a meal next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for only one night - was like having our own private villa. The rooms are lovely and the gardens, pool and setting are a wonderful break from travel. The staff were very helpful and the food was of an excellent standard. We had an early start but wanted to use the pool. This was no problem and everyone was up to provide towels and loungers at 6.30 am

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms were available in the old house. We used 2 and both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your great feedback. We hope you will choose Elephant Stables for a bit longer stay next time !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are a family of 4 and we stayed one night at Elephant Stables. Everything was beautiful - the rooms luxurious and very spacious- a fantastic array of home cooked food was prepared for both dinner and breakfast. The view is amazing and at dusk the sound of chanting from the nearby temple and the sounds of the wildlife together with twinkling lights from the city of Kandy below was magical.
Cannot fault this delightful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Saffron and Citronella both splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, We are glad that you had a great time in Elephant Stables and the most precious gift we have is our happy clients like you.We look forward to see you soon in Elephant stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The most comfortable beds in Sri Lanka!! We stayed at the Elephant Stables recently and cannot fault it. It is a new hotel and the bedrooms were first class. Beautifully equipped bathrooms and spacious comfortable rooms. There is a comfortable sitting area, welcoming bar and even a small library room for chilling out in after dinner.The pool area is small but beautifully laid out with glorious views over Kandy. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was fresh and well prepared. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area and wouldn't choose anywhere else if I ever visit Kandy again

Room Tip: It is a small hotel and all the rooms are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the lovely comment. we do hope to see you soon in Elephant Stables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.