We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful week end in smal place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kandy Mount Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kandy Mount Villa to your Saves list
Kandy Mount Villa
24/7 Rosmond Place | George E. De Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wonderful week end in smal place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

i speand hear 3 night in my tour.it's unforgetable experiance in kandy.the staf was realy friendly with helpful owner.my room was very clean and very comfutable.you can have the gread view from the balcony.in restaurant has nice view more than room.you can relax you mind while you are having you'r diner.the foods are very nice.best sri lankan rice & curry in sri lanka.
next feb.i will be hear again with my famaly.i allredy get the biiking for next tour in this hotel.
i'm waiting for frredom

Room Tip: room 23 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent one night here after a disastrous night at another guest house in the same area. Lovely bright, large comfortable room with a large bathroom (the bath was a bit tired, but Ok). The staff were very helpful, the roof top restaurant had great views across the valley and the food was delicious! It is a bit out of town, but the views and the quiet location more than compensated for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We were there with our familly and we spend there realy good time. The room was nice and big.The location is not so good but the people who works there always help us to get in to the city. They also help us to reserve the train ticket.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Kandy Mount Villa is located about a 5 minute tuk tuk ride outside of Kandy in a very pretty part of town. The hotel overlooks the valley and has very nice views of the surrounding area. The rooms are large and clean and the owner, Chamara, is very friendly and helpful. The food and service were both excellent and the dining area on the undercover veranda was perfect for a romantic meal. I particularly loved the walk from the villa into Kandy - down windy roads, along a beautiful river. And I can't remember the name of it now, but there is an excellent Ayurvedic spa along that road about 10 minutes walk from the villa. I would recommend Kandy Mount Villa if you want somewhere to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We arrived to the owners daughter's 1st birthday party and we honorary guests!
The owner and team are really friendly and have very good English levels. they checked up on us to make sure everything was ok and also serve a good breakfast on the roof top terrace.
The hotel is located about 3kms out of town and it is up in the hills, with just amazing scenery. We had a driver for a few days so was only a 10 minute drive to town but a tuk tuk will cost you about 300 rupees each way.
The rooms were probably the largest we have stayed in whilst travelling for thew pats 6 months and our room had the most amazing view over looking the hills. (Room 25)

Room Tip: Try and get room 25 - the best views from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this quiet location. We had spacious interconnected rooms with great views over the verdant valley below. Beds are a bit short if you are over 6 foot tall and the owner is the first to mention that the place does need some investment to really bring it up to top notch. But the staff are obviously committed to serving you to the utmost and we really enjoyed our stay.

They also organised front row seats at short notice for the penultimate night of the amazing Perehera.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived here quite late after a visit to the Temple of the Tooth, and all staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our amazing driver Callistus (Calli) Amarakoon made sure we were booked into room N25, which is huge and has a lovely view. The view at breakfast and dinner is lovely from the hotel's little roof terrace - you can see the hills surrounding Kandy.
Dinner (rice and curry) and breakfast were very nice and cooked fresh to order.
It's not in the centre of Kandy, but a 5 min drive to town makes this hotel a lovely place to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kandy Mount Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Mount Villa

Address: 24/7 Rosmond Place | George E. De Silva Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house is located in a convenient place very close to Kandy city and the most of the popular tourist attractions such as the Temple of Tooth relic, Kandy museum, cultural dancing center, Peradeniya botanical garden, war cemetery and more. This is the ideal place to be based if you are touring most of the attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kandy Mount Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandy Mount Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.