We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely little haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settle Inn Tourist Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Settle Inn Tourist Lodge to your Saves list
Settle Inn Tourist Lodge
53 Louis Peiris Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
brighton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a lovely little haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

this hotel is absolutely lovely- it offers super rooms with cable TV around a cute little courtyard. It's very quiet at night and is the perfect place to relax after a hard days sightseeing in Kandy. The only downside is that to get to other restaurants at night you have to walk down the side of a dark road with no pavement so a tuk tuk is advised! It is within walking distance of the lake and tuk tuks regularly come past.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The rooms are very nice except for the very flimsy blanket which looked like a table cloth. The breakfast was decent and the mother of the owner was friendly. One of the staff who was there during our one night stay was a little mediocre in helping us find a taxi though. She said she'll call the manager and we waited for hours. Finally, my husband talked to the mother of the owner to call her son (the manager) to see if they could book us a taxi from Kandy to Ella. Now they said taxi would cost us 13,000 LKR (around $108 USD) for non-airconditioned car and 16,000 LKR for airconditioned car (around $130) which is really, really ridiculous. It didn't even include any tour. We were wondering why they would put a sign that says 35 LKR/km. They said it's old info and they just forgot to take it down. My husband insisted to get the Nano Taxi advertised for 4000 LKR to Nuwara Eliya. In the end, we ended up paying 6,600 (and tipped the driver 1,900 LKR for his honesty and good service) from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya, a lot cheaper than what they quoted us! I suggest book your tour elsewhere. The hotel is a rip off when it comes to arranging a taxi service. Also the staff had to turn off the wifi because of the thunder and lightning which we understood but forgot to turn it back on. We had to approach the staff several times and they don't seem to care so again, we approached the mother of the owner to turn in back on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Considering the room rates, I was extremely impressed with the Settle Inn in Kandy. I spent quite a bit of time researching hotels in the area and I took a chance with this one, which was a good move. The reason that most of the nicer hotels are NOT in the town center is that the town center is the least charming part of Kandy, so being a 10-minute stroll along the lake away is ideal. Most places are farther.

My only complaint is that the bed is just okay and you only get a thin top sheet. Aside from that the place feels like a fancy boutique hotel. It's spotless and comfortable and even stylish. The included breakfast is quite good, with fresh fruit, a fried egg, toast and jelly with coffee or tea.

Both the manager and his mother were very helpful, with good advice on attractions and restaurants and such, so I'm not sure why the previous review had such an ax to grind. The tuk-tuk driver they recommend gave me a great tour of the area for the same price they all charge, and others at the hotel also seemed happy with him. Every driver in town wants to take you on a tour, but this guy you can trust because the hotel also has their reputation on the line.

Also, there's a flat-screen TV with quite a few satellite channels in each room, even though the official website doesn't mention that yet. My favorite thing was the wi-fi, which is super fast (feels like 8Mbps), although it's shut off from about 22:30 to 7:30 for some reason.

I like a beer or three in the evening, so I was pleased to discover that there's a big restaurant with a full (and cheap) bar at the hotel right next door. Alcohol can be challenging to find in Sri Lanka, so this is another plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. At first everything was looking fine, but when we asked the manager to make a phone call to make a reservation for our next hotel he refused to do that. He said he had no mobile phone !?! But when you ask to make a call for a tuk tuk then suddenly he has a phone. And it was expensive tuk tuk, because the manager ask his commision.
Later that day the toilet was broking in our bathroom. It didn't flush. So we ask the manager again for help. Again he refused to help! I insistid to come and have a look. That was something i better didn't do! After his help our bathroom was totally flooded! And his reaction to that..... he was laughing and left the room!!! We had to clean everything ourselves! Now help at all! They didn't even cleaned our room the day after!!
So my advice is to book another hotel! Choice enough in Kandy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Settle Inn is a smallish guest house right in the centre of Kandy near the lake and the Temple of the Golden Tooth so you can walk to all the sights. The rooms are small and clean with AC and there is even a hairdrier in the bathroom. Breakfast is served a a large table in the garden where one can chat to other guests and exchange travel tips if necessary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good rooms at a good price. Nice breakfast, cold ac. Wifi is available from 7am to 10pm. There is a restaurant just down the street called the Garden Cafe good food very quickly, very affordable. Tv in the rooms and the ability to lock up your belongings. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in january. The room was tired but more importantly the bed had simply one sheet under which was a stained (blood) mattress protector. When we asked for another sheet to sleep under we received 2 items similar to table runners no more than 3' wide! I was cold all night. Location is ok at the quieter end of Kandy but near enough that a short walk gets you to restaurants, ATM's etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Settle Inn Tourist Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn Tourist Lodge

Address: 53 Louis Peiris Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Settle Inn Tourist Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settle Inn Tourist Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.