We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy to your Saves list
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 / 22, A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colombo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Truly amazing place to stay in Kandy. Just within 2km from the city centre, and a great view of the entire city and the mountains. Good food and staff are ever willing to go the extra mile to make you feel very special and comfortable. Rooms are comfortable, clean and neat with all facilities.
Most important factors is that the staff do things from their heart. So genuine.
You certainly will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Gyan,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are blessed to have such wonderful staff who, as you mentioned, do everything from the heart. Comments such as yours will encourage us to continue in such a manner, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
77
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have had the privilege to stay and experience the services of this beautiful upscale boutique hotel, thanks to Worldlink Tours Sri Lanka.. Perched right on top of a mountain with breathtaking views surrounded by serene and tranquility which is a must to experience. The service is second to none with the most friendliest of staff that you will ever come across, who never fails to greet you with a warm Sri Lankan smile, The rooms are pristine, with balconies that over looks panoramic views of the distant Kandy lake and the surrounding mountains. From the decor to the fantastic meals served at the cozy restaurant, which truly makes Amaara Sky Hotel a home away from home. It is our priority and look forward to staying at Amaara Sky hotel on our next visit to beautiful Sri Lanka..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Rohan,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you at the Amaara Sky. I am pleased to read your comments about our staff, decor and food. Will pass on your words to our staff who will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is a small boutique hotel, on a hill. Excellent view of the City & surrounding Hills. Quiet, Excellent Service, Very good breakfast which was included in our room rate. Nothing bad to report. Staff is very friendly & helpful. If you have your own car with a driver, they provide accomodation for the driver at no charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Kazi,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate to experience this place out during a weekend and since contacting the reservations team, the responses were prompt and they were very friendly and accommodating even up to an early check in. On arrival, the staff went out of their way, we were greeted with smiles and I have nothing negative to mention.
We were allocated the Penthouse Suite with magnificent views of beautiful Kandy. It was spacious and comfortable with two bed rooms with attached toilets, living and dining areas and a private balcony easily accommodating 4 adults, the hotel is well maintained in general.

This hotel is located in close proximity to the heart of the city with easy access to the temple of the tooth and other places of interest.You have plenty to do if you don't fancy staying in your room watching tv all day.

The room service food was delicious with friendly service. We stayed for one night but would have loved to have stayed longer.

Overall - I would certainly recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family or more than three adults the Penthouse Suite is a home away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Champika,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to leave such a wonderful and lasting impression on you and your family. Your comments about our Penthouse Suite is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy (for more than one night next time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A small boutique establishment, with just 12 rooms. Perched right up in the hills behind Kandy town. Accessed by a narrow, steep and winding road, that would tax even the most persistent tuk tuk. You almost feel that you might have to get out and push it up the final hill.

On entry you are greeted by an almost Balinese inspired theme, albeit in a modern building. There are pairings adorning the walls, as you would find in Kuta. The hotel almost feels like a large house. Perched at the summit, and is just a few years old. On the ground floor you have reception and restaurant/bar. These overlook a lowered outdoor terrace area, where you could dine or have a drink in fine weather.

The rooms are spacious, and very comfortable. Satellite TV is provided in room with a good selection of channels. WiFi throughout the building is good, and they have obviously made a good effort to provide coverage in each nook and cranny.

You could walk into turn, probably taking 20 minutes or so, but even the most ardent triathlon fan would balk at walking back up.

Having a small number of rooms, during our stay out of season, the breakfast was a la carte. A lovely selection of fruit platter and hot food. The continental breakfast was a stand out with a basket full of pastries and breads brought to your table.

Summary : a friendly, nicely done little place, that importantly gives you the necessary internet and TV selection, so you can crash out after a long day out.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We really value your comments, As a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence winner, we’re always looking for ways to give our guests the best possible experience. I am glad you enjoyed the Amaara Sky experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friends and I had a great time at Amaara Sky hotel recently. The rooms were beautiful and flanked by balconies that went around the building and offered stunning views of the surrounding landscape. The art pieces on the walls are commissioned from local artists and are a lovely complement to the decor of the place. Food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka, and very affordable. The staff went to no end of trouble to make sure we had a good time and we're very grateful. Would definitely come again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed their stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging, I will pass on your praise to our staff and management. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Amaara sky is set in a stunning location not far from the centre of Kandy. The rooms were immaculately presented and luxurious. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating and the food was delicious.

We stayed only one night but would have loved to have stayed longer. The hotel has everything for an exceptional time spent in the beautiful town of Kandy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your thoughts and comments are very encouraging and will urge our team to do even better. We look forward to welcoming you back (for more than one night!) on your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Address: 72 / 22, A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.