We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaara Sky Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy to your Saves list
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 / 22, A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amaara Sky Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room was spacious with a lovely view over the valley. The staff were welcoming and helpful staff. The food was good - I highly recommend the Sri Lankan curry! Try to avoid getting a room next to a noisy family if you have an interconnecting door because the doors are not sound proof.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view over the valley. Watch out if you get a noisy family in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate your comments and the time taken to leave us your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our Sri Lankan cuisine. Next time your at the Amaara Sky hotel we can arrange our chef to teach you the magic behind mixing all the spices to make the perfect curry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
77
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy was a great experience start to finish. Great service, wonderful food, spacious rooms and beautiful views. The staff couldn't have more welcoming or helpful - definitely the best part.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the Amaara experience and our staff will be thrilled that they have left such an impact on your visit. Would love to have you back at the Amaara Sky in Kandy on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and i spent one night at Amaara Sky Hotel in Kandy in September 2013. It was a new and very well maintained hotel. The best thing was the room, it was so spacious and the bathroom was very clean. Food served at hotel was good too. Had a wonderful breakfast in the morning with spectacular view from the cafe. Even though it was a short stay, it was a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky hotel and you were able to enjoy our delicious cuisine. I will pass on your compliments to the chef. We would love to welcome you back to the Amaara Sky on your next visit to the hill capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I and my parents spent 2 nights at Amaara Sky Hotel in Kandy in September 2013 to celebrate my parents' 45th wedding anniversary. Amaara is a new boutique hotel sitting high up on a hill with beautiful views of Kandy and its surrounding hills. It is about 5-10 trip by vehicle to Kandy town. We had 2 double rooms which had an interconnecting door. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms (with large shower) were also spacious and very clean.

The staff at Amaara are extremely professional, warm, friendly and obliging - always taking extra efforts to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We were delighted with the kitchen team and chefs who prepared delicious Sri Lankan meals for us including a special Sri Lankan dinner feast for my parents' 45th wedding anniversary and a cake! We also highly recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast. Every Sri Lankan dish prepared was absolutely delicious!

We loved our stay at Amaara and will most definitely stay there again when visiting Kandy in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky Hotel and we were able to make your parents anniversary a memorable one. I will pass on your gracious comments to our staff who will certainly value them. Would love to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit to Kandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friends and i stayed here over the summer, it's by far one of the best hotels you can go to in Kandy. The view is spectacular and the service is sublime. it is also located close to the heart of Kandy, so moving around is not an issue at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Thevin,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Amaara Sky. Hope to have you back with us during your next visit to Kandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was unfortunate that we came to Kandy though heavy rain and mist. That spoilt what would otherwise have been wonderful views from the balcony of our room which because it was at one end of the building provided us with almost a 360 degree panorama. The hotel was not busy but the staff were attentive, the food was acceptable if not excellent and the rooms are large, well provided and with free wifi. The hotel is some way out of the city and only convenient if you have transport available.

Room Tip: Try to get an end room with balcony around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Patrick,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to take in some of the breathtaking views from your balcony. Unfortunate to hear the adverse weather dampened your visit to Kandy, but we hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a small hotel (12 rooms) perched on the ridge of a hill overlooking Kandy and district. The view from any room will be great. From our balcony we relaxed with drinks taking in the scenic valley. Being above Kandy meant there was no noise at all during the night. Our room was large (king-size bed, single and plenty of space), beds were firm, bathroom was well fitted out, including large rain shower. That being said there were a few things missing (not available even after asking) - hair dryer, iron/board, tissues. Wi Fi worked well, large flat screen tv had plenty of channel but needed 3 controllers to operate.

We stayed for 2 days on half board basis. The meals were a highlight. Different cooks for each day provided 2 ways of doing things but all meals were excellent. Being in a group of 3 provided us with 6 different mains at night - they were fresh, healthy and tasty. Western and Sri Lankan dishes were available.

Getting into Kandy - it is possible to walk down but will diffinitely need a tuk tuk to get back.
Spa in the Sky - price was right but the massage was lacking technique. Also the hot tub was not available due to a leak.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmerasinghe, Owner at Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Millet-Fanger

Thank you very much for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and that our chefs provided you and your party with a great culinary experience. We apologies for the inconvenience caused with the hot tub being out of order. Hope to have you back at the Amaara Sky on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy

Address: 72 / 22, A.B. Damunupola Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 14 roomed hotel virtually in the Kandyan Skies.We are small enough to ensure that you get a personalised service , but our team at Amaara is experienced enough to cater to your every need.Come ..... Stay with us at Amaara Sky ..... You'll love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.