We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and scenic views in Kandy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nathashiya Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nathashiya Holiday Inn to your Saves list
Nathashiya Holiday Inn
59 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 229 Kandy B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and scenic views in Kandy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights here and the staff were very nice and polite. Very accommodating.
The accommodation was kept very clean and the views were absolutely stunning.

Walk to central Kandy, including the main attractions, was 10 minutes.

We also got the opportunity try traditional Sri Lankan breakfast- which was delicious.

Overall very good value for money, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Option of having AC at a small additional cost. However Fan is already provided. We recommend you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
5
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
male maldives
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

the place was clean our room was backed up to the kitchen morning clearly hear people talking last night we war in top floor room hot water some time didn't work breakfast was normal. staff and owner friendly. place near to city and temple of the tooth. beautiful view from balcony. restaurant area is in front of room

Room Tip: find top floor or not kitchen side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband & I & a friend found this place by chance & stayed for 1 night.

This is an owner-operated small, new B & B with about 5 rooms. We were on the top floor which was actually at street level. Nice, clean, pleasant room & ensuite. Effective rotating fan.

The balcony overlooked the gorgeous panorama of Kandy Lake – in the evening, we sat there & enjoyed drinks, absorbing the onset of dusk & the twinkling lights. As there weren’t many restaurants in the vicinity, we had picked up some ‘short eats’/snacks from town - a kind staff member brought us plates, cutlery, glasses & a table without us even asking him to do so.

The owner Varuni & staff were welcoming, friendly & helpful.

Be mindful of not keeping the door to the balcony open as there are monkeys about!

The only small gripe was the continental breakfast @ $US 3 pp : rather lacklustre. In the morning, what I truly wished for was a good cup of Ceylon tea – it arrived only after we finished breakfast & got up to leave.

On the whole this is a value for money B & B.

Room Tip: Room with a view of Kandy Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmendingen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Natshiya Inn is up the hill overlooking Kandy and the lake from most of the rooms ( they only have 5, 4 are to the front, the 5th is on the side ). The rooms are ok, no aircon and a small useless TV since you don't get foreign programs there. Sounds good so far, but keep on reading:
The "restaurant" is just the space between the rooms downstaiars, no decoration, just three tables. On the menu they ask you to order 'at least' one hour before, they know why. I ordered lunch in the afternoon ( I am sure that I was the only guest ) which was annouced to arrive in 45 minutes but finally came after 70 minutes of waiting. For breakfast the problem is even more striking: either you order in advance and have to be there at a fixed time ( which doesn't garantee you that you will get your food on time ) or you have to wait for more than one hour.
Since the guesthouse is up the hill and there is nothing round the corner, except a heavily overpriced touristplace above a silkshop you can't just have your breakfast/lunch somewhere else.
Another issue: I arranged airporttransfer with them via e-mail, gave flightnumber and time, but when we arrived nobody there. The manager appologized afterwards , they 'almost' forgot about the transfer, that was all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nathashiya Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathashiya Holiday Inn

Address: 59 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nathashiya located very close to the Kandy city in Sri lanka and situated right opposite to the great creation, Temple of the Tooth Relic and Kandy lake. It is the best view in Kandy city. Each room has private balcony towards Kandy lake including hot water and internet,satellite T.V. facility. Kandy Esala perahera is one of the finest cultural pageants in Asia. You can make live visits of Esala perahera from Nathashiya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nathashiya Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathashiya Holiday Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.