We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, beautiful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swetha Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swetha Villa to your Saves list
Swetha Villa
41, Aniwatta Road | Aniwatta, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, beautiful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fantastic concept guest house with money made going towards building a cancer centre for Kandy! Mrs Hamachandran was extremely welcoming and hospitable!
Tranquil place on a quiet road with very secure enclosure in area where docs and dentists live! And just minutes from centre of town (they arranged some tuk-tuk drivers for us who we kept for the 2day visit and became very good friends with).
Beautiful gardens with jasmine growing and curry leaf!
Rohan extremely personable, friendly, helpful and educated us so much about Sri Lankan culture! ALWAYS on hand to attend to any need!
Chef was awesome! Taught me how to make his delicious curry. Food was lovely, prepared with care and tenderness as was all their hospitality. Such kindness and humility from chef and helper. You ask...you get! Rice and curry was to die for!
Rooms lovely, very large, comfortable and great shower. Sink was leaky on arrival and literally repaired within minutes!
A really lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is my third stay at this place and I love this place for its calm, cool and rich environment. The owner was so kind and a phylanthropist. She said net profit of this villa would be invested in a cancer hospital to be built in Kandy Sri Lanka. This time I missed the great cook they had before. i decided to stay at this place as much as possible as it satisfies my accommodation requirements and phylanthropic contribution to the cancer hospital.

Room Tip: Front room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Swetha Villa mid April 2013. This real Villa (3 or 4 massive rooms) is peacefully situated just outside downtown Kandy (15 to 20 minute walk). Since it has only a couple of rooms it is really quiet and relaxed and it offers a great operating base for exploring Kandy and its surroundings. The staff is really helpfull and the chef cooks amazing mails. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Swetha villas was recommended to us by friends and we loved it as much as they did. There are only 3 rooms and 4 staff, so it is pretty quiet and feels like your own home, we spent lots of time chatting with Rohan, the charming household manager, the rotund chef cooked great food and gardener gave me seeds from one of the trees in the garden. Swetha is on a very quiet street, so great nights rest in the huge bed. Not far from central Kandy or the botanical gardens, however traffic in Kandy is pretty slow and congested. Pool and gardens are beautifully kept, and filled with lots of tropical plants and trees, you can hang on the lawn by the pool, or on the covered open veranda with rattan steamer chairs. Lots of indoor space, in a way too much, with not enough going on. The bathrooms are the size of most bedrooms and look a bit stark, even with the retro avocado bath. The sitting room dining area, just looked like more needed to be happening in it. However they have only been open 6 months, so I am sure things will change over time. My one gripe was the owner was installing security cameras in the house and grounds while we were there, which I think detracts from the laid back, in your own home feel of the place. Overall, we loved this place and they we super accommodating, even letting us late check out for our midnight flight from Negombo.

Room Tip: Take the room by the gate, it has great french doors directly to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The moment you enter through the black gates and see the villa and gardens it is exactly how its pictured on the website and in true boutique hotel style you are welcomed with ice cool face towels and a delicious fresh fruit drink before being escorted to your room. The rooms are very large and everything's really nice and new. The bathroom and toilet is of a good size and clean. The rest of the decor is a bit plain but the food is excellent and you can ask the friendly staff to prepare the table wherever you prefer be it in your room, the pool/garden, veranda or restaurant. The location is excellent, only a 5 min car ride to the heart of Kandy. Overall it was a genuinely pleasant experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only two of the three rooms have direct access to the garden outside, but the other room is equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIJING
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Kandy last minute and we are so lucky to found the villa on agoda.com
We love the ambience and privacy.
The staff Rohan is really helpful and friendly. We wish we could stay longer. Will definitely come back for sure.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The place is well located and clean, family room is large and clean. But the service is not great, although they are trying, they probably just need a bit more training... The food is quite good but takes way too much time to prepare. And they charge for drinkable water in the room which I have not seen anywhere else in Sri Lanka...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swetha Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swetha Villa

Address: 41, Aniwatta Road | Aniwatta, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated away from the busy city life, surrounded by mountainous plains (which the hill capital of Kandy is recognized for) is Swetha Villa, a spacious 3 suite property tastefully designed with many cozy attributes which add in volumes, to make your stay here a comfortable and a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Swetha Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swetha Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.