We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, lovely view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl's Regency

Save Saved
You added Earl's Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Earl's Regency
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Kandy
India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place, lovely view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We visited Srilanka with 2 little kids ages 2 and 4. I was very apprehensive as Kandy was our first stop in Srilanka, straight from the airport. Though it was a long drive, i was relieved when we reached the Hotel. starting from the welcome drink every thing was perfect. THe view of the river was picture ferfect. the children were well looked after and attended. extremely friendly staff. A review about earls regency cannot end without a special mention of their Sea food biryani served as a part of the buffet, which is probably the best I have ever had.

  • Liked — The Location overlooking the Mahaveli river.
  • Disliked — the distance from the main sights and market in Kandy was quite a bit
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    274
    153
    53
    24
See reviews for
188
365
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Nice hotel away from Kandy town, adjoining the Mahaweli river in Thannakumbura. Has a majestic view form the outside. As you enter they give a welcome drink, a wet face towel with fragrance to freshen you. Then you are taken from the front building to the building in the rear, where most of the rooms are. The Lift/ Elevator to the rooms is old (1998?)and sometimes out of order.

Room is quite large and well furnished. It has balconey with the swimming pool view. Bathroom is star class. But look out, peeping toms can see into the Bathroom from outside (walkway). The worst thing about Earls' rooms is that you can hear and almost see the people next room!

Food was not that great and certainly not five star quality. Good spread of local food, especially for breakfast was there. The staff provided "Baby Chairs" for my one year old son for the meals.

Power went off at least thrice during night. And we were told the magnetic card was not properly installed. . Look out when using the baby pool as there were complaints that a child was bleeding from his legs as something had cut him. Incindently, the same person had complained about delay in arranging for a doctor.

Staff were good. And overall it was a good expiereicne. Hotel does not have a taxi service, so you will be stranded if you dont have a vehicle. But for me they gave the TP number of Queens Hotel Taxi service!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed in the Earl's Regency for one night on a tour of central Sri Lanka (using the very helpful Thomas "Sam" Samarkoon, http://www.samlankatravel.com) and the thing that really stood out was the quality of the service.

Our arrival was very smooth and very welcoming: we got a lovely cold towel and drinks (for our driver too) whilst we waited for the checkin documents and were then shown to our room. The room itself was very comfortable and spacious, and looked very clean too. The bathroom is a little dark and gloomy, but was clean and had a great shower. The air conditioning in the room is fantastic, though you'll need to rig a card in the card holder next to the door to keep the power on if you don't want to come back to a hot and sticky room.

Food in the restaurant is very good and we had lunch there, ordering a la carte for lunch as this was much cheaper than the fixed lunch menu. The selection of Sri Lankan curries I had for lunch was great. In the evening, at for breakfast, our half-board room rate got us the buffet which was well presented and included some fantastic deserts and pastries.

There's an enormous pool outside and we did spot a couple of people doing laps in the morning, but generally it was deserted - much like the rest of the hotel. Our guide told us that recently they had had just a single guest on one night and we spotted that the air conditioning had been turned off in the lobby to cut costs. All of this is quite a shame as it's a good hotel to stay in, though it is separated from the town, so you'll need to get into a car to go outside.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed only for one night in a trip room with our two kids aged 7 and 9. The hotel has a wonderful view from the verandah onto the mountains. The facilities are good, with high speed in the business centre for the price of 400 rupees per half hour. A bit expensive, but when you need it, you pay.

We only had time for the breakfast buffet which had a fantastic selection of Western, European, and traditional Sri Lankan foods...I tried the Sri Lankan breakfast items, and really enjoyed them. The kids stayed close to the donuts, pastries, pancakes, etc.

The beds were very comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean and functional. The location was not in the middle of town, but about a 20 minute drive away. For some this would be a problem, but we preferred to enjoy the beautiful grounds around the hotel. If given the chance we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

In the three nights we stayed here, two local weddings took place and it was lovely to see the grooms dressed in the traditional, colourful outfit of the area.

The food was excellent and catered for all tastes and cultures. Lunch had nearly as many dishes prepared as dinner. The rooms are clean and neat with wooden projecting balconies that do make the rooms rather dim. The bathrooms are black tiled and when you are in there and one of the inevitable powercuts happens, it is very, very dark. The main body of the hotel is over a walkway away from reception, dining and bars so you are not disturbed by them. The pool was clean and towels were soon provided for us.

The visit to Kandy was hectic as the Relic of the Tooth was being opened whilst we were ther and this was the first time for 6 years, so the city was thronged and it took us an hour to get through the traffic. The Botanical Gardens were beautiful, the casket holding the tooth we visited the night before the exposition was busy with the faithful (you have to go in barefooted) and the people were lovely.

This hotel is part of the Aitken Spence group and we stayed at a number of their hotels without any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We chose to stay at the Earls Regency because we found it hard to find hotels in this price bracket. Hotels seemed to be either allot cheaper or allot more expensive.
The hotel is in a good location and the rooms overlook the pool which is nice. However the whole hotel is faded and we were glad to be moving on.

Beds are twin only and are really really hard. Furnishings in the rooms and the hotel need a good deep clean or changing. Chair materials are marked, stained. Lampshades are falling apart. Carpets are frayed and stained. Tiles on neighbours balconies are broken and in real need or repair.

We also found that the staff were awake early (pre 6am) and it was noisy outside the room each day we were here.

The food is of good value, the buffet is not extensive and you would be wise to eat out to get a fantastic view of Kandy lake at least one evening.

Overall it was a hotel that suited our budget but i would say if you can, go elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

the earl's regency was a great stop on our tour of sri lanka. the hotel is of an excellent standard. our room was spacious and very comfortable with all amenities. the restaurant was excellent, offering a wide variety of choices which would suit all tastes. the hotel had various entertainment in the evenings, unfortunately due to one of us feeling poorly we did not take advantage of these. the views from the hotel were gorgeous, overlooking the mahaweli river. we would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Earl's Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#9 Family Hotel in Kandy
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Earl's Regency is the ideal five-star luxury hotel from which to explore the attractions of Kandy and the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Situated next to the river and surrounded by hills, we offer a perfect oasis of calm where you can retreat after a day of seeing the sights. Beautifully manicured gardens surround our tempting pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl's Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.