We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl's Regency

Save Saved
You added Earl's Regency to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earl's Regency
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Kandy
montrose
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rooms, food, service , pool good. Good location for basing travels around Kandy. Breakfast as usual good and buffet had a wide variety. Pool just right for relaxing by. Staff gave a good service very attentive

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for selecting Earl's Regency during your stay in Kandy. At the same time we very much appreciate your valuable time taken in placing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the facilities, our food, services and the surroundings of the hotel during your short stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    274
    153
    53
    24
See reviews for
188
365
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The good first : Nice welcoming with drink and efficient handling of check-in procedures. But there it stops. The hotel is a quite ugly building, there is a strange looking gallery bar with very low ceiling, quite complicated floor access and tired elevators in the main building, a place called "terrace bar" which is is an enclosed volume with no view at all, sad depressing decor all over including in the newest wings. Huge boring restaurant space with a rude hostess. A terrible buffet display with average food. Bad table service. The worst Spa ever. Very sad and miserable looking staff in dirty outfits, rude and inefficient. An "Indian" bar that could only lead you to share the barman's depressing attitude. Suspicious truly unacceptable behaviour by check-out person. This hotel is barely good enough for bus tourism. In short, stay away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

Your valuable feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed two nights wish it had been longer. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is however 5 km from Kandy town centre. No lift to pool quite a few steps. The a la carte indian restaurant had very good food at very reasonable prices

Room Tip: Ask to overlook swimming pool, better view and rooms are high so not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for selecting Earl's Regency during your stay in Kandy. At the same time we very much appreciate your valuable time taken in placing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed the facilities and surroundings of the hotel during your short stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nicely located outside the City in a good location. Took 20 minutes to check in, hotel is in need of a make over. There are some nice new features in the room with new TVs but overall they seem in need of a refresh. Spa treatment was good but the treatment room could also do with a makeover.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for selecting Earl's Regency during your stay in Kandy. At the same time we very much appreciate your time taken in placing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel in the near future.

Many thanks in anticipation & warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very disappointed with the hotel service at the restaurant and room service pathetic and slow - I ordered for coke in my room almost half an hour back and it's not come still....Restaurant staff not helpful at all and very slow....Tip to enjoy ur stay: Make sure you have good contacts with the manager of the hotel only then you are entitled for an upgrade or better service...staying one more night here don't know how that's going to be....Not recommended at all....if there was negative ratings I would have done that...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

Your feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Earls Regency late on the 24th January 2014 for a 2 night stay as part of our trip around Sri Lanka. We were met by one of the team and went through a very quick check in procedure including the normal complimentary drinks and towels and shown to our room which was a Superior Suite room (323) on the 3rd of 4 floors. The room looked amazing with a huge sitting room, dining room, large bed and bathroom with jacuzzi bath. We were also shown our 4 (yes 4 ,) balconies ...... The main one also having a jacuzzi with amazing views. We fell in love with room and thought we had hit the jackpot.
As it was late, we ordered room service which arrived quickly and was very good.
We decided to have a bath, but could find no instructions, I know this sounds strange but this thing was like a space ship ! We eventually sussed how to fill it up and turn it on although it tripped the electric several times (slightly worryingly !).
After going to bed the electric tripped another couple of times which fortunately woke me up in order to reset the trip so that our alarm clock worked for our early start the following day.
Breakfast on first full day was ok, although there didn't appear to be much choice compared to most hotels of this size and rating and we witnessed a couple get irate about someone else having been put on their table while they were away getting food.
We returned after our day out and rushed back to the room to get an outside bath with a view, at the same time we called reception for an iron which arrived after about 20 mins, but again, the bath / jacuzzi had no instructions and after about 20 minutes when the iron turned up, I had finally lost my rag we asked the person delivering the iron to show us how it worked........ He spent about half an hour trying to fix the problem before someone else arrived to help, the pair took another 20 mins or so before even they got the bath to fill. We had a lovely outside jacuzzi and only noticed when we got out that the 2 balconies below we're getting soaked as well as the hotel grounds as the water was pumping out in bucket loads. We thought this must be normal and left the bath to drain.
As we were B & B my partner called reception about dinner options and was told there was a BBQ on for $20 us per person which we opted for, but as we passed reception a big computer generated sign said $15 us ! After questioning this we were told it was a, mistake and someone was quickly dispatched with a key board to correct this.
During the BBQ again a couple were placed in seats and whilst away another waitress moved someone onto the table, once is a coincidence .....twice and it's more !
The BBQ was all ok and after eating we retired to our room to find the water level in the outside jacuzzi still full and the 2 balconies below still getting a good soaking ! I eventually managed to stop the flow by lifting floor boards and finding a stop cock but were unable to find any drain facility for the bath, and it therefore remained full.
The electricity continued to trip throughout the evening again.
At breakfast the final day.....we were shown to a table by the same waitress who had made the table foe par and as we were about to sit down we were told someone else was sat there ! We were moved to a table with no cutlery and told it would be replaced, meanwhile the waitress showed another couple to the same table again !!!! This time she called a waiter to clear the cups etc......so we have no idea if someone was sat there or not .....we returned with our food to find no cutlery and after asking it took an additional 10 minutes to get any cutlery by which time breakfast was cold. Tea and coffee was not available until we were about to leave ....great !
In summary the hotel looks very nice with lots of smart rooms etc, but the service is just not there, and it's a little like the "house that jack built!". I have no idea who, or if anyone controls the restaurant seating but at the moment it is diabolical !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

After having personally investigated the details of your comments, I can only apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. Your detailed feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Your concerns have been addressed with the relevant Heads of Department and corrective measures have been implemented to ensure that incidents of this nature do not re-occur, as this is not the standard of service we wish to promote at our Hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RYD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has great location, clean rooms generally. However the staff are not friendly nor helpful.
The pool is not suitable for young kids, our 5 year old couldn't enjoy it as there were no kids pool,and the main pool was all the same depth.
If i go back i will try another hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time in putting together a detailed explanation of the problems you’ve experienced at our Hotel during your recent stay. Also at the same time I would like to sincerely thank you for bringing these valuable points to our attention and for the constructive criticism; as it is only through feedback from our guests that we are able to rectify and improve on our service.

Your detailed feedback will go a long way in assisting us to analyze our operational procedures & service delivery with a view to improving upon the same; so as to ensure the hotel continues to deliver superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

Meanwhile, we do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support ahead.

Many thanks in anticipation & Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Earl's Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#9 Family Hotel in Kandy
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Earl's Regency is the ideal five-star luxury hotel from which to explore the attractions of Kandy and the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Situated next to the river and surrounded by hills, we offer a perfect oasis of calm where you can retreat after a day of seeing the sights. Beautifully manicured gardens surround our tempting pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl's Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.