We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most exciting place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Earl's Regency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Earl's Regency to your Saves list
Earl's Regency
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not the most exciting place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Perhaps our mistake for staying in this hotel which was far larger than any others during trip. No complaints, room and food were fine but I just felt it lacked any character. It was further out of town than I had expected so we could not simply walk out of the hotel and wander around the town which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is situated 6km away from the heart of Kandy. We regret that your expectations were not met due to the distance from the hotel to the city. However we are glad that you are a satisfied customer with the facilities and services of Earl’s Regency. Thank you once again for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    327
    178
    63
    27
See reviews for
235
434
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long day touring and were not disappointed. Greeted with a cool towel and drink and after a quick check in we were shown to our room. The hotel is situated just outside Kandy on an elevated point above the town, built into the rocks. Our room, which was massive and actually a suite (not booked), had part of the rock in the room, a whirlpool bath and a huge bed. The staff were all very helpful and could not do enough for us and the food and drink where great, with a meal for two including a hotel priced bottle of wine came to about £35, I think wine was £15, so meal was cheap enough. We were only here for one night, so could not enjoy the full facilities, but suggest you will not be disappointed. A little outside Kandy, so if your are staying without a driver you may need short tuk tuk or taxi to town.

Room Tip: Some rooms could be a little walk from main hotel facilities. All under cover so not all bad. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your short stay with us. Hope you would visit us again for a longer vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel from which to experience the sights of kandy,however the restaurant & bar staff seem very inexperienced,Pimms is served as a shot! & having chosen a wine from the list in the dining room we were told they had none only to find a big display of the same one on the way out on"featured wine of the day".The buffet dinners were extremely good but the extensive breakfast buffets had some items in warmers that were cold.On returning from a scorching sightseeing day we had a swim & returned to sit on the balcony & at nightfall the monks of the buddhist temple on the other side of the valleybegan to chant the sound filled the valley & was one of the most amazing half hours of my life

Room Tip: valley side has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. Kindly accept our sincere apologies to the inconveniences and drawbacks faced by you during your stay. We hope to rectify the problems highlighted in order to serve our customers with better service. However, we are glad that you have enjoyed the views and surroundings of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent one night at Earls Regency with friends and family in late August 2013 and It was quite a pleasant stay.

They had a good variety / spread for dinner and the staff were very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately there was no buffet for lunch the next day and it was based on a set menu, which limited our choices. Perhaps this could be due to a limited number of gusts for lunch on that day which I believe is fair enough.

The management might have to pay a bit of attention pertaining to the cleanliness of rooms as the floor was quite dirty and dusty. Also , there was a significant delay by housekeeping in attending to our requests such as getting extra towels, cleaning the floor etc. which we had to give them several reminders.

Overall the stay was great and the atmosphere was wonderful .The property was well maintained and I would not have any hesitation in recommending it to anyone provided the above issues are ironed out / addressed by the management.

Good luck …!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of rooms as it is our objective to overcome shortcomings and provide the best in hospitality. Hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entrance/lobby area is lovely - old colonial feel. We stayed in the building across the walk-way and overlooking the pool, which was nice, but would be a bit of a trek for less able-bodied people. The rooms were clean and quite large, but the place just felt tired, rather than colonial! The food is not good at all in the main restaurant - we did not try the on-site Indian Restaurant. The second night we chose to bring in take-away (see review on Garden Cafe) rather than patronise the hotel. Our first meal, "Sunday Lunch" was a fiasco, which was the last thing we needed after a long drive, and comparatively expensive. We were shown to a dirty table, though the place was half empty, and one of the fork tines was dangerously bent.........both of which are entirely avoidable. The food was mediocre at best - the "live" cooking station was doing lentil patties - and when I went the second time because there was noone there the first time, there was one single patty of 2cm diameter - and I asked the chef if this was all there was and he said "yes"! The salad selection was the sorriest selection (whole lettuce leaves and big strips of carrot etc) that I have ever seen on display at a hotel anywhere in the world. My choice of dessert was a local banana and a bit of chocolate sauce - which sums up the reasonably extensive, but unattractive to western taste, choice. The bathwater was yellowish and the towels thin and grey, yuk. This is supposed to be the best hotel in Kandy and maybe our expectations were too high. Avoid eating here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is regretful that your stay with us has not met your expectation. Kindly accept our apologies. Be assured that we have brought the issues highlighted by you to the notice of our management and measures are underway to alleviate the problems mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel set in a superb setting.My wife son and I stayed at the Earls Regency early August for five nights .What an amazing hotel .The food theme seemed to be changed daily and we were never disappointed .The food was always really good and so many choices.The views were second to none.We will certainly be returning to the Earls Regency

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you have enjoyed our extensive buffet and the choices available. It is a pleasure to understand that your five nights stay has been enjoyable. We do hope that you would visit us again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful and large yet the service is absolutely pathetic.
The rooms had mosquitos .
It is one of the best hotels in kandy and too far away from the city.
Spa is quite average and very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Earls, General Manager at Earl's Regency, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you have highlighted have been brought into the notice of the management. Our objective is to provide our customers with a better staying experience at Earl’s Regency. Your comments are therefore much valued to reach better standards. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Earl's Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl's Regency

Address: 84 Tenna Kumbura, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#4 Business Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Earl's Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Earl's Regency the crown jewel of the Kandyan Kingdom. The grandeur of an ancient Citadel adorned with contemporary 5-star luxury. A landmark of impeccable taste and unique style where one can unwind and relax while experiencing all this world has to offer. Fully air-conditioned and elegantly designed rooms with a view of the mountains and the Mahaweli river, sumptuous dining and exclusive reviving Balinese treatments at our spa. The hotel exudes opulence and grandeur. Every corner offers fresh delights for weary eyes, from the palatial lobby with its waterfall, to private corners set aside as mini lounge areas to gaze at the wonder just beyond. Stay at Earl's Regency, one of the finest Kandy hotels and your memories will include the warm hospitality of truly Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Earl's Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl`s Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Kandy
Regency Hotel Earls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl's Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.