We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hairy experience indeed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kandyan Muslim Hotel

Kandyan Muslim Hotel
Dalada Vidiya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Kandy
Cuisines: Bakeries, Asian, Halal, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: A Traditional hotel which offers variety of foods with a unique taste.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hairy experience indeed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Not a pleasant experience at all. Restaurant was filthy (we were shunted upstairs). Ordered beef and cheese roti and kottu roti. Received terribly undercooked CHICKEN and cheese roti and luke warm kottu roti with a long, black, thick hair sticking artfully from within. Most definitely NOT recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    106
    37
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't visit the kitchen of this place and you ll definitely vomoit what you had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Even though very cheap this place food is the most unhygienic you could ever imagine. Though I love street food I rarely got myself in stomach bugs ,but this place gives me a one after rotii meal and partly because I have peeped through the kitchen window.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuthbert, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Take Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The restaurant doesn't have a great atmosphere, in terms of a pleasant ambience, but we just got take away anyhow.

The cheese kottu was really good. If you try one unique dish to Sri Lanka, kottu should be it. I've never had anything else like it, and it's fun to watch the cook prepare it for you inside his little kitchen compartment by the street.

The locals recommend this place, and they know what they're talking about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellant Kottu Roti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Best time to go early evening to beat the traffic. We were 14 people dined at this restaurant and all ordered different dishes. we were able to taste every one from the menu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best roti of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

in a busy street of Kandy, we stopped at this place for a quick snack around lunch. we picked different stuffed rotis and samosas. spicy but not too much.
walking around the lake eating a few of these things was a very good moment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandyan Muslim Hotel also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Kandyan Muslim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kandyan Muslim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.