We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Udawattekele Sanctuary

Udawattekele Sanctuary
Wewelpitiya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
0777841066
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 things to do in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great hike - beautiful country, paths are good and plenty of monkeys. We heard a lot of birds but didnt see too many so probably best to go early morning if you can. We took about 2 hours but you could do it in an hour if you didnt have lots of time. But there are small leaches so wear shoes, socks and long pants - and after check your legs. I got back to the hotel and was lying around on the bed and noticed blood everywhere!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Österreich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful sanctuary but beware of the leeches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

the scenry is just beautiful: a rainforest not far outside of Kandy - huge trees, some monkeys, dense vegetation, nice views of Kandy - a little information centre - just nice to walk. we were there in the rainy season, and then the leeches are obviously very active - unfortunatly we got lost - and so took a tiny path, the rain started - and as soon we stopped to get orientation, leeches crawled up your shoes - so many that we couldn't avoid bites. I think if we'd stayed on the swept paths there would have been less risk - so it was partly our fault of course

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wear shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Loved the hike into this sanctuary - we saw snakes and monkeys and a lot of bird life. We`d have done more hiking here were it not for the leeches - you definitely want to wear close-toed shoes here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical forest so close to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a great place to escape the bustle of Kandy, but is really close - maybe 20 mins walk from Temple of the Tooth. Verdant, green, tropical. Several walks are possible so you can walk for hours if you like. Wildlife is varied but watch out for leeches - spray or cover feet and legs! Recommended for anyone who likes nature.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

When I visited Udawattakelle Sanctuary for the first time I was really amazed by the amount of things to see in there.

I visited a hermitage which prohibited entrance since the monks need absolute privacy. There was a "Sakman Maluwa" which is a place where the monks meditate while walking. There were some ancient caves inside the sanctuary as well.

The government had recently launched a cycling route inside the sanctuary, but unfortunately the cycles were not there at that time for hire. We were told that it would take another couple of days to get there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udawattekele Sanctuary also viewed

 
Kandy, Central Province
 

Been to Udawattekele Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udawattekele Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.