We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advisable Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drop Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Drop Inn to your Saves list
The Drop Inn
No:10, Dharmaraja Mawata, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 206 Kandy B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Advisable Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The room was simple and functional. The view was great! You can see all over the lake and Kandy. Even the Buddha statue is visible in some distance. The breakfast was lovely served an good as well. The owner of the hostel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We spent a great time there. We recommend this nice hostel to the people who like to have a clean, simple room with a really familiar atmosphere. Nice Nice Nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 here nights here and we were happy with the room. The staff are very friendly, ask about playing the game karram, its harder than it looks. Breakfast was included and consisted of fruit, eggs, coffee, toast and jam. Simple yet reasonable good. The views are ok. The only criticism we have of the place is the noisy school next to it, the children start at 7, and the Internet wasn't the greatest, but it is close to town, easy 10 min walk and is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Budget stay, you get what you ask for. We asked for cleanliness and we got that.

Breakfast was quite disappointing though and noise around the place.

In hindsight, we found it average and decent value for what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. When we checked in we were given the downstairs corner room and didn't like the view so asked to change it. After that we got a room upstairs with a balcony and a beautiful scenic view. The room was big and clean and even the bathroom. There was hot water. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The best thing was that they had free driver accommodation It has a dining area and you can enjoy meals in the balcony also,with a spectacular view.We asked for breakfast at 6am as we were going to Sigiriya and it was served.For breakfast we were served fruits, eggs, toasted bread jam, butter and tea.The place is at a height and the nearest shops are about 400m. We had a hired car so it was ok but the climb is pretty steep. Its quite close to the Temple once you are on the main road. At night it was quite noisy with the cars and the buses and in the morning there was a lot of noise,as there is a school nearby.Otherwise it is a very good place to stay and enjoy which we did.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and didn't wanted to go away. Personal is friendly. Placement is good and about 10 minutes to the Tooth Temple. The view from the balcony is very good. Very nice and cheap choise. Breakfast is european standard: eggs, fruits, toasts and tea.:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

On a hillside but rather close to the lake, far from the bus/train station. Spectacular views from the balcony where you can enjoy breakfast. A cheap and quick laundry service worth using!

A cockroach the size of a... really big cockroach kept me awake by having a party in our trash can. The room was rather clean, though. The reception's not open 24/7 so we snuck out for the morning train leaving cash behind.

Really close to a western restaurant "The Pub" with authentic beef burgers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Despite seeing that there were very few reviews of this place, we opted to stay at Drop Inn as it was our last resort (we went at rush time) and the existing reviews seemed positive. It is quite far from the bus station and the railway station and is located on a hill. It has about 8 rooms and we realised that we were the only people there apart from the caretaker who lives there with family. The entire property is old and poorly maintained. The room was just basic, the blankets musty and the sheets smelled of disinfectants.Although the school which is bang opposite the property was shut while were there, the loud noise of vehicles was quite disturbing.

But what was even more disturbing was the discriminatory treatment meted out to us. when we asked for the srilankan breakfast- we were told it was western breakfast that day- which translated into few pieces of toasted bread, an egg, and some fruits with tea/coffee. In the evening it was pouring rain for nearly 6 hours and since we could not get out we asked the care taker if he could make us dinner. He flatly refused. The next day, some western women had arrived- and needless to say, the breakfast served was traditional Sri lankan fare, and even lunch was cooked and laid out for them.

So if you are a white westerner, you will probably get royal treatment - for the rest, its better to stay away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drop Inn

Address: No:10, Dharmaraja Mawata, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking Kandy Lake, 15 minute walk to Kandy City, 10 minutes to historical Tooth Relic Temple, room facilities such as attached toilet, hot and cold shower, fan, mosquito net, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Drop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.