We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem to keep secret!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elegant Hotel to your Saves list
Elegant Hotel
No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 206 Kandy B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a little gem to keep secret!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

away enough from touristy kandy but close enough to explore the city, FANTASTIC view on the east and west, gorgious little temple 5min away by foot, the swimming pool is fab too! rooms r great but with air con and no mosquito net, so u can t leave the window open at night :( service very nice but incredibly slow. no massage onsite.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Elegant GUest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank yo for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor com as "A Little gem to Keep Secret", which is the progress of Elegant Hotel.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
82
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 2 nights there to see the "Kandy Perahara". I was so glad I booked this place because the view was breath taking. Though the hotel was small it had all the facilities that a modern hotel should have. The rooms were big and comfortable. The balcony where they serve breakfast was fantastic and there you can enjoy the view while having breakfast. The staff was amazing. I love this little hotel. The trip was so worth while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Great Place with Fantastic View", which gives us strength to facilitate our valuable guests with more and more confidence.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent one night here whilst on tour, but were so delighted with the place that we cancelled our next hotel & spent a second night here.

Apart from the fact that it is off the beaten track, this little hotel was perfect. The rooms were big, airy & modern. The staff was charming & couldn't do enough for us. The food was good & so well presented, a lot of it fresh from the garden. The grounds were very pretty - and gave the impression of being in a safari lodge as they overlook miles & miles of countryside in every direction.

The wifi throughout the hotel was excellent, & there is a beautiful new swimming pool which has recently opened.

Complete bliss.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms in this hotel so the service is very personal. Our party stayed in 2 of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank yo for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Beautiful Place with Exceptional Service", which drives us ahead with our heads held high to provide our valuable guests with more facilities and services.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will e pampered even more at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Udaya and his staff are amazing! This gem in Gelioya just south of Kandy - a bit off the beaten track, up a bumpy single road but well worth it! Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy but with amazing views from the balcony's and beautifully cared for garden! There was a pool being constructed and was to be open within weeks! A really great extra, but unfortunately not for us to use this time! We were looked after from the moment we stepped out of our car! Shown to reception, a refreshing towel and fresh fruit juice with an orchid in the glass to welcome us! Made us all feel very special. The care and hospitality went on! We needed a late supper and this was provided for us from the extensive menu and served with a smile - thank you Shan! Our room was a good size and we had an extra bed for our two children - lots of space for us! Breakfast served in the morning on the balcony with stunning views - wow, how lucky were we! We had a very tight schedule of sightseeing so unfortunately were unable to spend anytime relaxing at this wonderful place! It certainly is a place where you could relax and enjoy the amazing tranquil atmosphere. The children loved the freedom of running in the garden and we could watch from the balcony! You are doing an amazing job Udaya! Really first class in every way! Wished we could have been here longer than our two days to enjoy your magnificent place. Thank you for letting us stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "What Great Hospitality", which gives us the strength to provide better facilities and services to all our guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Elegant Hotel, off the beaten track, out of the daily hustle bustle of Kandy town ship in Sri Lanka, is just amazing in every respect of the word a m a z i n g...... nature at its bounty and service with a smile , brought tears into our eyes , when we finally had to bid bye bye see you later to the hotel staff and of course its mentor and proprietor Mr. Udaya Herath, without whose enduring labour, mental strength, family cooperation and love for details in the entire ambience of the setup , would not have been possible. Such a wonderful little place with wonderful people in it . God is Great . All our Good Wishes to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Our Resolution is to be at this Hotel Once Again", which gives us strength and courage to provide our valuable guests the very best facilities and services at its level best.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wonderful place, off the beaten track, with exceptional service and fabulous food.
This hotel is between the elephant orphanage and Kandy, making it perfect for both locations. It is quite remote and you can't walk to the shops! You need a tuk tuk to get anywhere, so ensure you have plenty to occupy yourself. There is a pool being constructed which will be very welcome.
The owner and staff are very accommodating and I would highly recommend this small and very personal hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as"Wow", which drives us ahead in hospitality industry with our heads held high.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Absolutely loved our stay here, it was just perfect. Yes it is out of town a little, but wow after the hustle, bustle and traffic horns of Kandy it was just wonderful to retreat back here at the end of each day for a beer on the huge balcony with its stunning views, and peace and quiet. The service was fantastic, the whole team were lovely and went out of their way to look after us (especially Samir), and the room was super - large, comfortable, beautiful and again, those views! We really felt at home and were sad to leave; it was beyond anything I expected for the price and the distance to town was not an issue at all. Loved it and hope to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Loved It", which drives us ahead with our heads held high to serve our guests with more courage and confidence.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again.
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Hotel

Address: No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a very quiet rural atmosphere about 12 Km from the Historical City of Kandy, Elegant Hotel promise to all its guests a renew, refresh and a revival stay with a unique personalized service level and pampers all its guests with a novel deluxe living.Your are most welcome to have a magnificent dining experiencing within its Main Restaurant or with a special arrangement on the Roof Top overlooking the Adams Peak or in the Garden overlooking the Mountains.The designing is done from the new world and with the touch of Kandyan Culture and Arts to its interiors.Location is unique with views of Adams Peak from one side and the Mountains from the other. Free transportation is provided from Kandy to Elegant Hotel (Both Pickup and Drop to Kandy). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Elegant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.