We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and the food was lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elegant Hotel to your Saves list
Elegant Hotel
No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke on Trent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and the food was lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it! The Elegant Hotel is outside of Kandy, and we actually preferred this, as Kandy was a bit smoggy. The hotel was on a hill, looking out over the beautiful gardens and hills- infact the view was stunning. We also loved the smells and the singing/chanting that would drift up to the balcony. You do really need a driver to stay here however.
The hotel was really nicely decorated and clean. The service was amazing- you literally couldn't step out of your room without staff checking your needs had been met. The food was also some of the best we had- with us opting for the curry and rice both nights and being met with an array of different interesting dishes. All in all it was a really relaxing, enjoyable stay and we would recommend this to others!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front and back of the hotel, and both were beautiful! The rooms leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Very Relaxing and the Food was Lovely", which motivates our staff to give better service in every day.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again.

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent two nights here in July, it was a great experience. The staff (especially the manager) were very very helpful and friendly. The house is clean and spacious, with amazing views of the mountains and the counrtyside. We had dinner here both nights, they were the best meals we had in Sri Lanka. It is located a good distance from the centre of town but it is well worth if you want a relaxing and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Beautiful Place to Stay", which gives us strength to provide our guests with more facilities and services at our best.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more at Elegant Hotel with more facilities and services.

Thanking you once again.

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The house is a bit far from the city centre (30 min by tuk tuk), but the owner can arrange easy and cheap transferts. The mansion sits upon a beautiful quite hill. Our room was huge, extremly clean and well layed out, with a breathtaking view of the sourrounding hills of Kandy. The food was delicious, especially rice and curry, curd and other sri lankan dishes. If in kandy again we would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com as "Quite and Breathtaking Mansion upon a Hill", which gives us strength to move forward with our heads held high in tourist industry.

Hope you will visit us again in your next vacation to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again.

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel, Kandy Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2 week travels in Sri Lanka and our very first stop was the Elegant Hotel. Udaya, the owner, organised airport pick up and also our tuk tuks during our stay, which was excellent and good value, as suggested via other reviews it's not the easiest to find. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff are very attentive. We stayed at 7 different guesthouses in various locations during our trip around Sri Lanka and we can honestly say that the best authentic Sri Lankan cuisine was that from Elegant, throughout our trip nothing quite hit the mark like the food for breakfast and dinner at Elegant. We loved it here and would recommend it to everyone!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comment you have made on us at tripadvisor web site as "Wonderful Hotel and Excellent Staff", which gives us strength to move forward in hospitality trade with our heads held high.

Also We would like to inform you that we were awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the valuable comments of our valuable guests.

Hope you will visit us again in your next vacation to Sri Lanka, where you will be pampered even more with more facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,

Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon CT U.S.A
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent five days at this hotel, on a trip mostly business oriented, but very eager to find some peace and quiet in between. We certainly found it here! The hotel was very clean, up to date and the staff, especially Mr. Udaya Herath were extremely helpful and accommodating.The surroundings from the hilltop hotel were stunning!The garden beautifully manicured, and a bird watchers paradise! We requested home grown vegetables for our dinner on most nights.The vegetarian meal fresh from Mr. Udaya's garden was deliciously prepared. We shall certainly go there again and would highly recommend anyone who loves nature to spend a few days there.
Dr. & Mrs Upali Seneviratne
U.S.A

Room Tip: Choose the Lotus room, overlooking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we do highly appreciate your comment regarding Elegant Hotel as "Peaceful, Beautiful close to nature", which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality industry.

Also I would like to mention that we are awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the comments which our valuable guests have made.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with great facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the Elegant hotel. Yes, it is a 30-min tuktuk ride from Kandy but you'll be rewarded with a well-run guest house/hotel against a beautiful and serence backdrop. Our room was perhaps a tad smallish but the nice private balcony overseeing the garden made up for that. What sets this place apart is that staff really strives to make a good impression. All people from the owner to the cleaners to the waiter were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was also very good, especially while overlooking the hills in the morning sun on the outdoor terrace. By far one of the best places we stayed at during our Sri Lanka trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we do highly appreciate your comment regarding Elegant Hotel as "Great Service, Quiet Surroundings", which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality industry.

Also I would like to mention that we are awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the comments which our valuable guests have made.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with great facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. It's about 12K outside Kandy, but it's an easy journey into town in a tuk tuk (about 30 mins). The hotel is beautifully situated and designed: the rooms have large doors that lead to a balcony that overlooks the mountains: to Colombo on one side, and Kandy on the other. The owner & staff are very friendly and accommodating. We didn't eat there in the evening (we unfortunately had a very mediocre meal in Kandy instead), but judging by the standard of breakfast, the dinner would have been delicious. Very quiet and peaceful, with wonderful views & lots of wildlife, especially birds. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Elegant Guest,

It is with great pleasure we do highly appreciate your comment regarding Elegant Hotel as "Beautiful Hotel", which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality industry.

Also I would like to mention that we are awarded with "Certificate of Excellence 2013" by tripadvisor based on the comments which our valuable guests have made.

Hope you will visit us again in your next visit to Sri Lanka where you will be pampered even more with great facilities and services at Elegant Hotel.

Thanking you once again,
Management and Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Hotel

Address: No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a very quiet rural atmosphere about 12 Km from the Historical City of Kandy, Elegant Hotel promise to all its guests a renew, refresh and a revival stay with a unique personalized service level and pampers all its guests with a novel deluxe living.Your are most welcome to have a magnificent dining experiencing within its Main Restaurant or with a special arrangement on the Roof Top overlooking the Adams Peak or in the Garden overlooking the Mountains.The designing is done from the new world and with the touch of Kandyan Culture and Arts to its interiors.Location is unique with views of Adams Peak from one side and the Mountains from the other. Free transportation is provided from Kandy to Elegant Hotel (Both Pickup and Drop to Kandy). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Elegant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.