We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Elegant Hotel to your Saves list
Elegant Hotel
No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Book this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! It's pretty hard to find, but your troubles are worth it! The area the hotel is in is very peaceful, romantic, beautiful and the hotel manager makes sure that all your wishes will come true (at least the wishes that he can grand). We stayed for 5 nights but it felt like only 2, time flew! The food is a bit on the expensive side, but the curry is well worth it. If we're back in kandy than we will come back for sure! Absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

An excellent place with breathtaking view of mountain and garden. All details such as flower, room and even meal arrangement embody elegance under the careful management of its owner.The only thing regretful is that we just stayed one night and left the next morning. I love the garden surrounding the hotel and enjoyed the long talk with the owner, Udaya. All things here are perfect, so do NOT hesitate to choose this hotel!

PS. The owner told me there is going to be a swimming pool just beside the exotic garden, from where one may enjoy the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

キャンディー滞在で泊まりました。キャンディーで検索して事前に予約をしていたのですが、場所はキャンディーからtuktukで30分ぐらい離れた場所にあります。山をずっと登っていって、本当にここにホテルがあるのかな?って不安になり始めた頃にとても上品なホテルが見えてきます。
I stayed here when I stayed in Kandy. I searched for a hotel in Kandy and booked a room (without checking the location), and it was a bit far from Kandy. It takes you about 30 mins. by tuktuk. You have to go up the hill (which makes you anxious little bit), however, you will see a beautiful "elegant" hotel soon.
ウェルカムドリンクでマンゴージュースを出してくれました。
Once you get to your hotel, they served me with a welcome drink (fresh mango juice)!
そして、部屋は掃除が行き届いていて、ものすごくキレイでした。
Also, my room was extremely clean.
夕食と朝食をレストランで頂きましたが、美味しかったです。
I had my dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel, which was also perfect, with a good view at the balcony in the morning.
何よりもホテルの人達がとてもフレンドリーで、常にもてなしの精神を持ってサービスをしてくれるので、気持ちよくすごくことができました!
Overall, even though it is little bit far from Kandy, it really gives you a wonderful and splendid experience. They always served me with a big hospitality, and I am sure I will stay again when I come to Kandy again.
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We do highly appreciate for the comment you have made on us at www.tripadvisor.com which drives us ahead to continue in hospitality trade.

We have also awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" from tripadvisor for year 2013.

While thanking you again, we do hope you will visit us in your next vacation, where we will be ready with more facilities and services to make your stay even more.

Management and Staff of
Elegant Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived really late at night but the hotel staff were super friendly when we arrived. ( past midnight ). Instead of simply sending us to our room, they took time to show us around and even served us welcome drink even though it was like 3 in the morning!

Breakfast was promptly served the next morning ( I had the suspicion that they were waiting for us to wake up)! Portions were generous and simply delicious! Would definitely stay here again in the future if I am to visit again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It is impossible to find anything to criticize with Elegant Hotel. Every detail is

attended to, there is absolutely no sign of delayed maintenance, meals were superb and the

service level exceptional. All of this due to the competence of the general manager. Hotel

is built making full use of the surroundungs, views and prominences. Spacious rooms with

marvelous view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is was a chance discovery - we hadn't booked a place in Kandy and, since it was off season, thought we'd figure it out as we went. A few quick searches and review-research later, we decided on "Hotel Elegant". It took us a while to find it since it's slightly outside the city and you have to go through some winding, hill roads to get there. Not too bad - but hard to find at night. However, that was the only non-extraordinary thing about this place. The owner, Uday, manages the property himself and was extremely sweet. The place itself is lovely and quaint, since it's a converted mansion. And of course, as others have highlighted already, the views are magnificent. Sunrise on one side and sunset on the other. Large balcony access from your room. Phenomenal experience - so glad we found it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Madam,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The view, the environment, the ambiance, the service, the meals...all were excellent to make it one of the best guesthouses that we have ever stayed. The hotel is a little bit far away from town, but the extraordinary view over mountains recompense all. The hotel owner is someone of extremely kind and attentive. The service is compatible with taht in 5star hotel.We received a big welcome fruit basket.The food is variable and suitable for the taste from different countries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdayaGelioya, Owner at Elegant Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is with great pleasure I would like to Thank You for the tripadvisor comment you have made on us. Thank you very much again for the interest you shown on us. Hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Management & Staff of Elegant Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elegant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Hotel

Address: No. 200/3 Sunflower Garden, Meewaladeniya Handessa, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a very quiet rural atmosphere about 12 Km from the Historical City of Kandy, Elegant Hotel promise to all its guests a renew, refresh and a revival stay with a unique personalized service level and pampers all its guests with a novel deluxe living.Your are most welcome to have a magnificent dining experiencing within its Main Restaurant or with a special arrangement on the Roof Top overlooking the Adams Peak or in the Garden overlooking the Mountains.The designing is done from the new world and with the touch of Kandyan Culture and Arts to its interiors.Location is unique with views of Adams Peak from one side and the Mountains from the other. Free transportation is provided from Kandy to Elegant Hotel (Both Pickup and Drop to Kandy). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Elegant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elegant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.