We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baramba House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baramba House
Save
You added Baramba House to your Saves list
No 22 Upul Mawatha | Primrose Hill, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 227 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights towards the end of our holiday in Sri Lanka. Without doubt, it was the best place we stayed during our holiday.

From the moment we contacted Barbara to book our rooms, we have been amazed at the quality of service. Barbara was so helpful with all our arrangements and accommodating when dates and number of people in our group needed to be changed. This level of hospitality continued when we actually arrived at Baramba.

Where should I start... The rooms are all beautiful, very spacious and comfortable with fans. The quality of food was excellent - breakfast was a feast and it is clear that Barbara and Sandun take great pride in their home and in looking after their guests. Lots of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juices, home made jams and marmalades, freshly baked bread and so on.

We were also lucky enough to sample home cooked dinner which again did not disappoint.

There is a lovely large lounge area, mini kitchen and a separate dining area in the downstairs of the house which made it feel like a home from home. The views are simply stunning and we were treated to the nightly parade of bats making their way from the Botanical Gardens and flying over the house.

It was an incredibly relaxing stay and we would definitely return to Baramba again. Value for money is exceptional and having visited a couple of the hotels in Kandy during our stay, I would not hesitate in choosing Baramba over any of these.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful guesthouse with only a few rooms. Has a very personal touch. The owners are really friendly and helpful and prepare a super breakfast.
It is a 10 minute tuk tuk ride outside of Kandy but this location is much better and prettier than staying in the city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely small B+B with stunning views over kandy. It's a little way out of town but it's not a problem as the owners will call you their regular tuk tuk driver who will have you in town in 5 mins. Our tuk tuk driver even came back to pick us up at an agreed time and didn't take any money off us until he picked us up later. The rooms are done to a very high specification and the owners are lovely and friendly and cook up a fabulous breakfast. Shame they don't do evening meals! Only suggestion would be to have a bell or intercom to call the owners when you need them. They live upstairs and we felt we were intruding by going upstairs into there private area when we wanted then to call us a tuk tuk, but thus is a very minor negative.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel in Kandy, this is the place to stay.
They only have three guest rooms but if you manage to book one of them you are in for a treat.

Barbara and her hubby are fantastic hosts, the rooms are clean & quiet with very comfortable beds, their breakfast is superb and their garden and the view on the mountains around Kandy provide plenty of photo opportunities.

One word of caution though: There is an agency which is trying to tap into the success/good ratings at tripadvisor for Baramba House. They have setup a very similar www-address which gives you the impression that you are on the real website for Baramba House. They even use real photos from Baramba and provide you with a booking engine. But you either don't get an answer from them or the response that Baramba House is fully booked (even though there are rooms available) and that they would like to organize a stay an alternative location for you.
We almost fell into this trap when we googled for Baramba House. You need to click on the "email hotel"-link or "Hotel website"-link on the trip advisor page to ensure that you are really in contact with the owners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

There doesn't seem to be much more that I can say about this spot that others haven't. Barabara & Sandun are marvelous hosts and take great pride in their place and their service. The view is gorgeous and the breakfasts sublime. Rooms are simple, clean & comfortable. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Barbara and Sandun are the wonderful hosts of this beautiful property. Without doubt, the best accommodation we found in terms of value, ambience and service during a recent trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is the place to stay in Kandy if you want quiet and beauty. The accommodations are exceptional and the hosts can not be better. The large room is the way to go if available although the "smaller" rooms are also extremely well appointed . The included breakfast was the best I had in Sri Lanka and the value for dollar can not be surpassed. I would stay there again in the blink of an eye. The location to Kandy is not an issue and the view is fantastic. I can not say enough nice things regarding this small boutique like accommodation. And definitely, eat at least one dinner there.......you will absolutely not be disappointed. Terrific place to go as a couple or with a small group. With only 3 rooms, the place is yours and you would not regret it. IF available, don't hesitate.
.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baramba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baramba House

Address: No 22 Upul Mawatha | Primrose Hill, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductively embraced by a magic hillside setting. The charming Mahaweli view house is waiting for you to fill it with life. Baramba House is home to three double rooms with spacious en-suite bathrooms. A separate dining/living area and a quiet pool complement your visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baramba House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.