We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality, customer service and a culinary delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amanda Hills to your Saves list
Hotel Amanda Hills
No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality, customer service and a culinary delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I cannot praise the hospitality of the staff at Amanda hills enough. As a well seasoned traveller through out asia, i have no hesitation in saying that the customer service which i received at amanda hills was unique and exceptional. Kandy was the first stop for my friend and I in Sri Lanka and The manager Jude went way above and beyond the call of duty in assisting us. Not only did he give us practical and sound advise in relation to travel in Sri Lanka but he also assisted us with booking our onward trip from kandy, making sure that we got to our next destination safely. He also drove us to the cultural triangle for the day. All in all he made us feel extremely welcome and very well looked after. Breakfast at amanda hills is a culinary delight. Several dishes are served and it includes samples of delicious authentic Sri lankan dishes. Dinner is equally abundant in taste and authenticity. The hotel location is both beautiful and convenient, as it overlooks the temple of the tooth and the lake. Both are a short walk away. All in all, my stay at Amanda hills was an excellent experience and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a fantastic place to stay in kandy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

As with other reviews, I have to say Amanda Hills was a great stay - matched the money we paid. Unfortunately, the prices of hotels in Sri Lanka are on the higher end, we have to pay up for even little bit of extra comfort we need. On the whole, Amanda Hills was quite good, personal attention (not many people staying at the time we went). Breakfast was very good, we really relished sri lankan food... Just try to get a good deal with the tuk tuk drivers, we got a driver who agreed to LKR 3000 per day but next day found another fellow offering 2000LKR for the entire day and similar itinerary :(
View was good, location great, try to eat at the kandy city centre rather than the hotel itself, you will be pleased to eat a variety of food and at great prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Kandy late at night without accommodation booked. We walked to Amanda Hills and they had a room available. The room was tidy with an attached bathroom. Breakfast was included which was great to eat on the rooftop restaurant. The price was rather steep at 5500LKR.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at Kandy was for three nights and every bit was worth it. The manager apart from being friendly and hospitable, went out of the way to prepare staple srilankan food as well as Indian food for us. Breathtaking view from the top and lovely ambience!
Overall I'd recommend it for tourists wanting to only overnight stays. Value for money. Totally.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

i stayed here one night with my girlfriend. although it is all the way on the hill (take a taxi or tuk tuk!), it has a gorgeous view over the temple of the tooth and perfect roof terrace. the rooms are clean, with a/c and balcony. they are pretty small, but large enough for two adults. the personel is very friendly and great breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I think everything was great . It was hard to find it in the beginning as it is hidden in between the curvy lanes up the hill, but we had a great time there. The rooms are new and clean, nice wooden furniture. The roof top restaurant had a beautiful lookout and the food was very good - from Sri Lankan food to pastas! We had some great conversations with the staff members who were very helpful. Great value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Location is good, by the lake and slightly away from the congested town. Hotel was nice, breakfast good etc. only one negative, the staff didn't think twice about arranging tuk tuks for obscene prices, and I would avoid paying for any additional excursions or transport through the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amanda Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.