We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gateway in Kandy - the ancient capital of Sri Lanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amanda Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amanda Hills to your Saves list
Hotel Amanda Hills
No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quiet gateway in Kandy - the ancient capital of Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel location was a little difficult to find for the driver who came with us from Colombo, but the location on the hill side was a welcome change. Small but cozy, Amanda Hills is more like a house converted into a hotel. There a couple of bed rooms and a living room on each floor, with a rooftop restaurant. The view from the roof or room balcony is brilliant and you can see the Tooth Temple at a distance. The room are very comfortable and clean. It a no frills experience but the price you pay is totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We didn't want to stay in Kandy, but the train we suppose to catch was overbooked (we've also learn that this word has way different meaning in Asia than in Europe - it wasn't possible to put anything inside). I found Amanda Hills on TA and booked it on line. The hosts were really friendly, even orders us a cab on the next day (and we traveled with it all the way down to Galle, around 500km). Unfortunately we didn't have hot water in the room (it was barely warm what wasn't problem for me but was a huge one for my girlfriend). The view form the terrace next tot the reception & cafeteria (restaurant?) was really nice (check my photos). That's the only hotel on our trip in Sri Lanka without swimming pool (because of the last minute booking we had no choice).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Dear Jude, thanks for all your hospitality, my family enjoyed every moment, the roof top dinner was unforgettable, it's a family like feeling. The breakfast was good and also he helped us to get the packed breakfast for next day early morning trip to polonnaruwa.

Room Tip: Always ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in January 2013. I am a single female traveller and felt very safe and welcome. The manager went out of his way to look after me (especially after a fall on the steps that allow this hotel its hillside vista's) and the food was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and private and the fact that it was slightly out of town was not an issue. The helpful staff would call a tuk tuk for me at any time of day and they were extremely friendly. I recommend this place as a great option in Kandy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I really do not understand why this hotel has got so good reviews on here.
We arrived exhausted at 10 pm after eight hour train ride from Matra (sp?).
We had no booking, but got a room for 7500 rupies. The owner/manager offered us to order dinner even though the kitchen was about to close, so we chose a couple of dishes from the menu before we took our backpacks and headed for the room.
A very good start indeed!
We offloaded our luggage and went back to the restaurant.
When the food arrived, so did the owner/manager. He was trying to sell us some tours for the next morning. Very bad timing since he must have seen how exhausted we were. The dinner was nothing special either, but we didn’t expect that since we arrived late.
We went to sleep immediately after dinner, and went into a coma until next morning.
The breakfast was below average. Eggs, sausages, jam and pineapple was what was on offer.
Good view from the restaurant though.
The room (203) was small, and the bathroom was very small. I would guess that a big bloke would have difficulties maneuvering to the toilet. The electric worked, and the room had tv/fridge. The balcony in our room had no view. Lots of stairs in this hotel since it is built up a hill. You need a tuk-tuk to get to the city center.
I liked Kandy very much, but I guess you can find better options when it comes to accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here as a first stop for a week long honeymoon. It could not have started off better than this. Firstly, at the cost of sounding repetitive, truly nice set of people manning this place. They are here to make a living but that does not stop them from being very warm and hospitable people. Secondly, location is average to good. It is a slight task on the return but the temple, lake and city center are all within walking distance. Thirdly, the food, oh, marvellous! True value for money.

Room Tip: I dont think any of the rooms were lacking in any manner. We checked in at an unearthly hour so we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice hotel in kandy near the lake, big room and separate room for kids, rooms are clean & tidy, helpful staff, good hill view from balcony, it was difficult to locate as our cab driver misunderstood as amaya hills, we reached here after few minutes of drive around Kandy, Mr jude was very helpful in getting vegetarian items (indian dosa) from another restaurant, even late at night. good place to stay recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandahillskandy, Manager at Hotel Amanda Hills, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for da recommendation, please spreed ur wordddddd as Amanda Hills Kandy who ever come to Sri Lanka

All da best

Amanda team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amanda Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amanda Hills

Address: No 65 Saranankara Road | Kandy, Kandy 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s just 5 minutes away from the city of Kandy,this newly built hotel offers apartment type accommodation with tastefully furnished air conditioned luxury rooms.You will be having a fully furnished living area specially for you.Enjoy the stunning and wonderful views of the Kandy lake,Udawattakele sanctuary and Temple of the tooth from the roof top restaurant. The friendly staff takes pride in preparing delicious Sri Lankan, Western or Chinese home-cooked meals.We provide all the facilities to make you a homely environment deviated from the concept of a hotel. It is ideal for families and travel groups.From this comfortable base you can explore number of world class attractions and experience number of exciting activities in and around Kandy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Amanda Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amanda Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.